We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Eder

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Eder
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Maria Alm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Hotel has a great atmosphere, with the warm feeling of wood everywhere. The food ain't bad either. The only complaint i have is the music. A bit loud for the restaurant and not local, killing the atmosphere created by the building.

Room Tip: The hotel is next to the church, with big bells ringing on the hour and sometimes the half as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airvertise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our stay at hotel Eder surpassed all expectations. Joseph and his family went out of their way to take care of our smallest needs. Very personalised service and awesome food even for vegetarians!! They organised a private tour for us also!!
The hotel itself is very tastefully decorated and rooms are modern and very nice. Spa too has all that you need and a special kids area to occupy them when you want to relax.
Maria Alm is a pretty village and a good base to cover the surrounding mountain region . Zell am see kaprun and saabach in neighbourhood ans an hour away from Salzburg .
A great hotel thank you Joseph for looking after us.
Madhavi

Room Tip: There deluxe rooms are big and spacious and have infra rays cabin in them too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhavi062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The stay was so enjoyable that we extended our stay! This is one of the best family run hotels I have been to! The staff and the owners are so friendly and helpful! Everything is personalised and the service outstanding. Must try the food here....it is the best in this part of the world.
Joseph, owner of Eder ensures that the guests are being looked after and helped us tremendously in organising the activities and sorted out our itinerary.
If you are in this part of Austria then must make it here even if it is just for dinner and a few drinks. Highly recommended it. It is the most lively, picturesque hotel in this region. Quaint and has the charm of Austria embedded in it.

Enough said....now you discover this Gem!

Room Tip: Get the room with the infra red cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParitoshSinghee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Superior service, very friendly staff. Stylish but relaxing. Great meals. Everything top notch at this establishment. A must do. Everything perfect. We were welcomed anytime of the day. Could just drop in for a coffee to take a break from sking and received the most sincere and attentive service.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Although the hotel looked great on their website, we all know that sometimes reality doesn't always match that! However, the Eder is truly a lovely hotel, blending traditional Austrian décor with a modern twist, stylish, comfortable and warm. We really enjoyed the view from our room of the church and graveyard with the mountains beyond, the bed was comfortable, the shower probably the best ever, enough coathangers in the wardrobe and a good sized couch for lounging on. The Eder has thought of everything one might need, except the normally unusued little sewing kit which I found for once I did indeed need! It would have been good to have been supplied with cotton buds and cottonwool pads. The food was great - varied, tasty and healthy and breakfast was sumptuous. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful - each one an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlossomKnysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Such a nice hotel. Very modern with great use of old wood for antique look. Great location in the centre of the village with the skibus stop just outside the hotel. There is a carport available which is great for keeping the car snowfree! Breakfast is good with options for omelette etc. the staff are very friendly and we had no problem getting a late checkout to fit in with our half day skiing. Overall a very nice ski hotel. Would definitely come back again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank az72az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Visited recently with family and friends. Hotel was really great, recently refurbished, beautifully decorated in wooden style. Family suite was nice, clean and spacious with a beautiful view of the old church.
All these nice impressions were ruined by the experience in the hotel restaurant. The food was really tasteless. We were under the impression that the chef was trying to show off by making fancy meals but without real cooking knowledge. The kid's menu was really poor, mainly chicken or pork meat (hard to chew and overcooked) with french fries. We asked for olive oil and acceto balsamico, and they had neither ?!? We had to pay for the tap water, and overall the waitress Angelika was very unfriendly! After we complained, the other staff was really nice and friendly, especially Eva, and food quality improved.
By chance we found out that we were entitled to free ski depot at Intersport, but nobody informed us upon our arrival.
Overall we had nice stay, and we would like to come again, hopefully with no remarks to the staff and restaurant.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank 69stilavima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maria Alm
0 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Maria Alm
0.2 mi away
Alpenland Sporthotel
Alpenland Sporthotel
#2 of 7 in Maria Alm
207 reviews
3.3 mi away
Urslauerhof Berg & Spa
Urslauerhof Berg & Spa
#4 of 7 in Maria Alm
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Thalerhof
Hotel Thalerhof
#7 of 7 in Maria Alm
43 reviews
17.1 mi away
Travel Charme Bergresort Werfenweng
2.8 mi away
Hotel Ritzenhof
Hotel Ritzenhof
#2 of 4 in Saalfelden am Steinernen Meer
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eder

Address: Am Dorfplatz 5, Maria Alm 5761, Austria (Formerly Gasthof Eder)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Maria Alm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Maria Alm
Price Range: £115 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eder 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eder, 4 star - 50 years of hospitality! "The Eder" has been spoiling its guests for 50 years, first as a guesthouse, and now has a four star hotel. Now, just as then, hospitality, good food, and a special atmosphere are the main pillars of the business. Being so close to the Hochkönig, your holiday in the 4 star Hotel Eder will be relaxing and full of experiences, looked after by a hotelier family, who genuinely enjoy looking after their guests. That's what makes a holiday in Maria Alm unforgettable. Hotel Eder: Love at first sight! Pure alpine Lifestyle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eder Maria Alm, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing