We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day for children”
Review of Bokrijk

Bokrijk
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Genk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Bokrijk is the biggest open air museum in Belgium, located in a beautiful and natural environment. The place for a nice day out with lots of activities for individuals, families, schools and groups.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Ayrshire Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great day for children”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We went with our granddaughters aged 5 and 7 on Sunday to the open air museum. We all had a great day. There was plenty to occupy the children, but there was a lot to keep the adults entertained as well.

The girls had a wonderful time, some of the activities they tried were making a clay pot, eating pancake that had been cooked over an open fire, grinding flour, walking on stilts (so did the adults), playing old fashioned indoor games, going to a lesson in the school. All the staff were great with the girls, they took time to talk to them and involve them, and were very patient. When they realised that we (the grndparents) only spoke English, they were happy to talk to us in English.

We would certainly take them back. The entry fee for the children was excellent at 1 euro each, and that is if you are under 26!

As we left, the 7 year old said, that when we got there she had thought it would be boring, but she had had a wonderful time - what better recommendationation.

Possibly April was a good time to go, as everything was open, but it was not too busy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank wildew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomeinBokrijk, Guest Relations Manager at Bokrijk, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear,

thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read you and your granddaughters enjoyed your trip to Bokrijk!

See you soon at Domein Bokrijk!

Kind regards,
The Bokrijk-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    182
    38
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Adding to the various previous reviews there is the option for visiting the Open Air Museum which is pricey for just two hours however check when there are events on for when there are re-enactments which are a good laugh and keep you there a lot longer. You can bypass the museum and visit the extensive park grounds (5 euros for unlimited parking) which has a variety of different themed gardens, arboretum, deer park, various lakes as well as a fantastic kids playground with a snack bar, a self-service restaurant (which is fine especially for the kids) and a cafe on the side of the main residence - caution though gets very busy when the weather is nice - only cost for the grounds is the parking but you can park outside of the park and walk in along great woodland paths -just consult a map to see local road network!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bililo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomeinBokrijk, Guest Relations Manager at Bokrijk, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear,

thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It's nice to read you enjoyed your visit to Bokrijk!

See you soon!

Kind regards,
Domein Bokrijk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun family attraction”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This is a fun open air museum showing life in the past in Belgium. There are lots of hands on activities for kids (and adults). We ate lunch at one of the cafes on sight and the food and service were very good. The grounds could be maintained a little bit better and it is a little expensive. Overall it was a great experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomeinBokrijk, Guest Relations Manager at Bokrijk, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Laura,

Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read you had a great experience!

See you soon!

Kind regards,
Domein Bokrijk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Bokrijk is a historic open air museum composed of a selec tion off old houses, churches and bars from the past centuries. It shows claerly and realisticly how people used to live and work in these dark ages.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomeinBokrijk, Guest Relations Manager at Bokrijk, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Google Translation
Dear,

Thanks for posting your review on Domein Bokrijk. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your visit.

See you soon!

Kind regards,
Domein Bokrijk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luyksgestel, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A window into the past of Flanders”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We first discovered open-air museums more than 40 years ago in Arnhem. Since then we have visited many others 3 come to mind: Belgium, Norway & Malaysia. My absolute favourite is Bokrijk accessible from the Leuven - Aachen motorway just north of Hasselt. I have been there at least 5 times over the years. Many historic buildings have been moved " brick by brick" to this beautiful site. There are many old farmhouses, wind/watermills even a whole section of old town housing from Antwerp. There are many buildings that are manned by craftspeople demonstrating old traditional trades. As befits Belgium ( and Flanders in particular) there are many options to sample the great beers for which the region is justly famous. Not to be missed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luyksgestelkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bokrijk also viewed

Genk, Limburg Province
 
Hasselt, Limburg Province
 

Been to Bokrijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing