We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
M Hotel - Different Hotels
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Genk
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Old hotel, nice location”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

the hotel is located in the citycentre Genk. It's across a shoppingcentre and a park with a beautiful lake. From the outside the hotel looks old and dusty, inside it's quite modern. The rooms are large and clean. Good beds! When you book from saturday to sunday, you can check-out late. The breakfast was good. I think the hotel needs an update.

Room Tip: ask a room with view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    129
    45
    28
    8
See reviews for
44
113
9
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Stayed here for three nights in April, 2011. Clean, quiet rooms in a location that's walking convenient to shopping and restaurants in Genk. The best thing about this hotel is its location on a tranquil lake. It's soothing. A great spot for running, plus there are exercise stations and public art (all having to do with sundials and time) set up all the way around the lake. There are also some lovely lakefront houses to wander past.

One negative about this hotel is that they charge a steep fee for wireless internet access, and it doesn't work very well. To charge for internet access in 2011 is like charging guests to turn on the water or electricity.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Went with EDWARDS of South Wales. Despite being 4 star, only one choice (and that was served cold) at dinner and the poor serving staff were under pressure.

Lake was quite attractive and the room was comfortable. Shame about the attitude of the Management to large parties.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank govilongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This hotel was a very welcome change from the old, low service and over priced hotels in the belgian capital: Brussels.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfried17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We spent one night in the NH, which is conveniently located for the race circuit in Zolder. The hotel seems a few years old but is well kept. It is nicely located between a lake and a shopping centre with a few restaurants to choose from. The room was clean and spacious. The beds are rather soft, so I am happy we did not stay more nights. The room rate was okay (€53) and we booked via the NH website. Parking was free (by accident?) but breakfast buffet cost a whopping €16. Whilst we were staying a number of tour groups used the hotel as well. All in all the hotel is okay for a night but I would not recommend it for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2008

Second time we stayed in this hotel. We booked through the site of the hotel and found out that we paid more than other guests. We complained about it and received a free drink as compensation. Great restaurant although very cold and dark inside.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Baldisbeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2007

My partner and I stayed in this hotel in December 2007 and thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay.
The stay was part of a coaching holiday visiting the Christmas markets in Aachen and Valkenberg, and trips to Lille and Brussels.
The hotel is situated on the edge of the town overlooking a lake to the rear. To the front is a car park, and over the road, a shopping centre.
Our room was immaculately clean, together with the shower room and separate toilet, and although it was overlooking the road and shopping centre, it was really quiet.
The beds (twin room) were really comfy and there was plenty of lighting around the room.
The hairdryer is wall-fitted in the bathroom and not that good, so I would recommend, if wanting to dry your hair seated in the bedroom area, to take your own.
The welcome tray was OK but I always take extra coffee and creamer anyway. The television caters for many languages and we were able to tune into BBC One and Two.
The hotel has a swimming pool but I cannot comment on this as I didn't use this facility.
We ate in the hotel the first night, and, although only offered the choice of one starter and one main course, both were excellent. The lack of choice on the menue may have something to do with the fact we were part of a 36-strong coach party because, on the Monday, the menu (stuck on the lift wall) offered more choice than on the Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings. There is a snack menu that can be eaten in the lounge, and a varied room service menu.
The breakfast was fine with bacon, scrambled egg, cold meats, cheeses, croissaints and rolls on offer.
The hotel is close to the town centre where there are plenty of places to eat and drink.
In all, we had a great stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The clean, quiet and comfortable room
  • Disliked — Being penalised in the restaurant for evening meal because we were with a tour party
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Chairgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genk
0.4 mi away
Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantis - Different Hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel ECU - Different Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Stiemerheide
Hotel Stiemerheide
#3 of 11 in Genk
275 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Mardaga
Hotel Mardaga
#1 of 2 in As
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Hert
Hotel 't Hert
#6 of 11 in Genk
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Hotel - Different Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Hotel - Different Hotels

Property: M Hotel - Different Hotels
Address: Albert Remansstraat 1, Genk 3600, Belgium (Formerly NH Molenvijver Genk)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Genk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Genk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — M Hotel - Different Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M Hotel: M Hotel is located between the beautiful Molenvijverpark and the newly renovated shopping center (2014). Sleep: The M Hotel has 83 rooms renovated in 2014, all equipped with free wireless internet. Business guests can work as if they're in their office and relax as if they're at home. Meeting: The hotel has five meeting rooms for meetings of up to 250 people. All of these rooms are on the ground floor and have natural daylight, air conditioning and wireless internet. Some of these rooms also have a pond view. Brasserie Royal: In the restaurant you can dine out, enjoy a business lunch or have a small snack. After that you can move to our sun terrace, with a view of the Molenvijver, or you can go to the bar. Relax: The Carbon Sense team of our colleagues at hotel Carbon will gladly welcome you in their wellness centre. Here you can relax in the sauna facilities or you can enjoy a soothing treatment. Carbon Sense is a five minute walk from M Hotel. carbonsense.be. Genk & area: Thanks to the unique location of the M Hotel in Genk and Limburg and the fact that everything is within reach will make it easy for you to fill your spare time! Jogging or exploring the different parks behind the hotel, shopping in Genk, Maastricht, Hasselt or Maasmechelen Village or visiting Bokrijk, the outdoor Museum and the C-mine expedition. It's all possible. The hotel is also perfectly suited for bicycle and hiking holidays. One of the entrances to the Nationaal Park Hoge Kempen, the biggest national park of Flanders (600ha) is right around the corner! Practical information: For only €10 per night you can park your car in the hotel's private parking. The central station is within walking distance. For more information, route description and reservations, check m-hotel.be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your M Hotel - Different Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Genk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing