We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, very comfortable bed, and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Van der Valk Brussels Airport
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Diegem
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Clean, very comfortable bed, and helpful staff”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was an overnight stay on my way home from Africa to the US. They were very accommodating and I thought the 'superior room' was very large and the bed was excellent. It has that typical European 'minimalist' look, which I find inviting actually. I had problems with some luggage that Brussels airline lost temporarily, which had my iPhone cable and charger. The front desk staff rummaged through a huge box of cables until they found one for me to use. Too bad that other folks have had some challenges, but my experience was good!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel P, Sales Coördinator at Van der Valk Brussels Airport, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.

It is with great pleasure that I have passed on your positive comments to our team. I hope that everything turned out ok concerning your lost luggage and that you were able to continue your trip home.

Kind regards,
Lionel Paret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    539
    183
    78
    36
See reviews for
240
427
65
486
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Level of service is really low given the hotel rates.
I asked for a room service and the food arrive cold.
The room services prices were prohibitive given the food size and quality.

I asked to stay one more night in the morning, they said there was room for me but they called me back in the afternoon while in a business meeting to inform me that there was no room eventually for me to add an extra night.

They told me it was not an option for me to stay while the same morning they tild me exactly the opposite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel P, Sales Coördinator at Van der Valk Brussels Airport, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your feedback concerning your stay.

I am sorry to hear that not everything went as it should be during your stay with us. It is of course not acceptable that your room service order arrived cold. please be assured that I have passed on this remark to our F&B team and they will undertake the necessary actions to avoid this in the future.

Concerning the confusing situation about your room, I am sorry that we could not accomodate you for the extra night.

I would like to apologise for the issues you faced in our hotel as they are not a reflection of our 4* standards.

I do hope welcoming you back in the future in our property! Should you have any further remarks, please feel free to contact me on l.paret@brussels.valk.com.

Kind regards,
Lionel Paret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I quite often flight from Brussels airport and that is not easy to find a good hotel around. In addition the prices vary from 1 to 5 depending on the day, vacation, week end... Not a lot of respect for the frequent travelers.

The reception, bar and restaurant areas of the Van der Valk are nice, attractive and clean. The reception staff is diligent and smiling, even if they don't know very well the facilities of the rooms (I got a room with a bath only after three tentative), the airport shuttle seems well organized even during the rush hours.

But the rooms are on the cheap side. Carpets were not clean. Bath had some spots. The "new" building with upgraded rooms had a strong unpleasant odor. The TV has only 2 French channels. Also visibly only a few rooms have a bath and are more expensive.

Not the worst hotel in the Brussels airport area, but just an average property in terms of quality/price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenriNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerkrade, Limburg, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Lovely hotel we booked a sleep park fly arrangement as we had an early flight from Zaventem airport, room very nice, we ate in the resturant the evening before, we have stayed in VAn de valk hotels all over holland, and always found the resturant very reasonable, the food here was very over priced would not eat there again, and as the resturant was empty I don't think many people do, had a wake up call and arrived in the lobby to be told that the shuttle bus to the airport only started at six o'clock in the morning ( it was 4 o'clock) and that we would have to take a taxi, I asked about a voucher and we were told we would have to pay for ourselves about 15 euros, we were supplied with coffee while we waited, the taxi cost us 25 euros as it was in the middle of the night, on arriving home we had a 5 hour delay once again the shuttle bus was not runnning ( stops at 23.00) had to take another taxi 17 euros. All in all was an expensive stay, all the other hotels we have stayed in and around airports have always supplied taxi vouchers if there shuttle buses are not running so it was a very disapoiinting stay we would not use them again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol En Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel P, Sales Coördinator at Van der Valk Brussels Airport, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Carol & Jan,

Thank you for the review you wrote on Tripadvisor and your honest feedback.
I am sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay with us due to the transport to/from the airport and your flight that was delayed. During weekdays, our shuttle operates from 6am-11pm to/from the airport, in the weekend it starts at 5am. At the moment, if guests need transportation outside these hours, a taxi is indeed the best alternative. We are currently investigating the options to offer an all in one price for guests that need transportation outside the shuttle time table. Therefore, I would like to thank you for pointing out this issue as it enables us to find constructive solutions. I do hope you will give us another chance so that we can welcome you back again in our hotel!

Kind regards,
Lionel Paret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed here 03/10 on our way home on a Leger tour. It`s a typical large Airport hotel, a bit impersonal. Rooms good size & comfortable with tea & coffee making facilities. Buffet breakfast was good although a bit spread out in different areas, so you tended to be going back & forth. Didn`t have dinner as ate on the way, was advised it was rather expensive, 25 euros per person for a buffet. Did the job as an overnight stop.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeBeeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My first impression of this hotel as I arrived at about 22:55 today was not a good one. By the time I got checked in it was 23:01. I asked if they did room service as I needed a meal after a long day. They said the kitchens closed at 23:00 ! When pressed, the guy on the desk said he would check with the kitchen for me - 2 minutes later I got a flat NO.

So here I am with no food until breakfast tomorrow and given the hour a takeaway is probably not feasible.

For me the measure of a good hotel is not just what they can do for their customers under normal circumstances, but what they do under extraordinary circumstances. This hotel fails that test. I do not think I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

So- I check into the hotel for my stay during a 5 day business trip. I ask the front desk if someone can help me with my luggage and take it to my room. Note that I am clearly 6 months pregnant. The guy at the front desk tells me- we don't have anyone to carry your luggage. You can drag your luggage to your room on the 5th floor-- really?!?!?! you are telling a pregnant women to carry her 50 lb bag herself + her laptop bag herself!??!?!?!? He repeated the same thing even after I tell him that I cant do that since I am pregnant. Anyways- I go ahead and carry my own bag . I enter my room-- how on earth am I supposed to lift that bag and put it on the luggage stand?? I then call the front desk again and the guy decides to come up and help me-- thank you very much- Had he shown this consideration before, I wouldn't be writing this review.
Hopefully my impression changes in the next few days I am staying here.
However, first impression is the last impression for me. Sorry- but I am going to some other hotel for my next business trip to Brussels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devyanigupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diegem
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brussels Airport
0.3 mi away
NH Brussels Airport
NH Brussels Airport
#2 of 12 in Diegem
907 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Brussels Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels Airport
0.7 mi away
Parker Hotel Brussels Airport
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brussels Airport
Ibis Brussels Airport
#8 of 12 in Diegem
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Brussels Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Brussels Airport

Property: Van der Valk Brussels Airport
Address: Culliganlaan 4B, Diegem 1831, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Diegem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Diegem
#2 Family Hotel in Diegem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diegem
#3 Business Hotel in Diegem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Brussels Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Van der Valk Hotel Brussels Airport. At a mere five minutes distance from Brussels Airport and 20 minutes distance from the vibrant center of Brussels you will find the New Van der Valk Hotel Brussels Airport. With 224 luxurious rooms, 13 modern and multifunctional meeting rooms, cozy restaurant and contemporary bar and lounge we are the ideal place for businessmen and leisure guests alike. We offer a free shuttle service to and from the airport. If you would like to visit the city, the station is only a 5 minute walk away from our hotel and in 15 minutes you will find yourself in the middle of everything. Take advantage of our spacious garage, the perfect place to leave your car while on vacation. In fact don’t take our word for it, come and have a look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Van der Valk Brussels Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Brussels Airport Hotel Diegem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing