We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for overnight if flying off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van der Valk Brussels Airport
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Diegem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I chose this hotel for its proximity to Brussels Airport, as I was driving and had an early-morning flight. Instead of parking at the airport I wish I had not pre-booked anything, as it seems there is plenty of unrestricted free parking on the road outside the hotel, which is where I parked overnight in preference to the hotels 15€/day car-park. The reception desk staff were pleasant and helpful, printing out a boarding pass for free. In the room, there were some complimentary soft-drinks in the mini-bar and a hospitality tray. The free wifi was appreciated too. I wanted to have dinner in the restaurant but decided against it - the prices were just too high - and settled for a sandwich and beer at the pleasant bar, as there's nowhere else at all in the area of the hotel. I skipped breakfast too - at 21€ just too expensive..

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John_Lance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel is comfortable and clean. The food is above average for the hotel's category. The rooms are comfortable but not over the top, as one might expect from hotels that cater mainly to business travelers. The location is convenient to the airport and the Diegem business parks, but the place is dead at night. This is not where you want to stay if you are coming to visit Brussels as a tourist!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank GalileoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We enjoyed a short break here whilst visiting Brussels for the flower carpet in the Grand Place and it is ideally situated. It may be next to the airport but the sound insulation is amazing - we heard nothing despite regular take offs and landings. It is about 20 minutes into the centre of Brussels and has all you need for a short break, indeed for a coach tour destination, it is very impressive.

Room Tip: At least pay a visit to the top floor, especially after dark - the views are amazing if not beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hollyfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have booked this hotel to be able to reach Airport on time without any hassles. But Hotel has limited sitting in their shuttle and they were not cooperative at all to arrange something for me to drop me Airport. Later they arranged a Taxi for me but said i need to pay 12 Euros from my pocket for the same. This was not good.
Also When i took the taxi to Airport, Taxi-Driver deliberately took longer route to the airport and he charged 18 Euros to us.

I am really disappointed with the hotel and i travel frequently to Brussels but will never stay to this hotel again. I will strongly not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mihir0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Diane & I stayed 2 nights on a weekend coach tour to Brussels (Flower Carpet) & Bruges, we were greatly impressed at this well-appointed, comfortable hotel. We had a room on the sixth floor with quality fixtures & fittings and a great view from our floor-to-ceiling window. Breakfast buffet was entirely adequate and food overall was good quality if eye-wateringly expensive (tip - take your own food!). Only downside was bar staff's total inability to cope with the volume of trade in the evening as the hotel is on an Industrial Estate by the Airport and there's nowhere to go nearby.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Besides being a bit out of the way, the hotel gives a good return for the price.
The gym is modern (but small), rooms are well sized and comfortable, and front desk service was outstanding.
Breakfast for groups is better than average, bicycles are available for trips around the area, and the overall hospitality was very good.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

OK I have read the reviews and I am staggered that people would find it only "OK". This is a classy, calm and relaxing hotel with a superb cosy bar and out of its world restaurant for breaskfast. I got served immediately every time I went to bar and it was even bought down to me. Staff floated about taking orders all evening. I ate in the bar and it was perfect, limited yes but still plenty. The rooms are 4+ standard and there is a free mini bar even in there. You do not need anything more. Now for the plus side...a 4 to 5 min walk pleasently leads you to the train station that takes you directly into brussels.

If I am to be critical of one thing...and this is to the manager of the hotel. I understand the day I was departing was 15th Aug a national holiday in Belgium. But this should not warrant the shuttle bus to the airport off duty. That is a big 'no' and I was forced to pay a taxi to the airport. Your policy states that shuttle bus is on request....but nothing about no service on any particular day. Please change this and you have 100% support from me!

Well done still though....

Room Tip: None they are all nice. Mine looked onto the outside garden terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kcotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diegem
0.3 mi away
NH Brussels Airport
NH Brussels Airport
#2 of 12 in Diegem
936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brussels Airport
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Brussels Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Parker Hotel Brussels Airport
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels Airport
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Brussels Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Brussels Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Brussels Airport

Address: Culliganlaan 4B, Diegem 1831, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Diegem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Diegem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diegem
#2 Family Hotel in Diegem
#3 Business Hotel in Diegem
Price Range: £71 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Brussels Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Van der Valk Hotel Brussels Airport. At a mere five minutes distance from Brussels Airport and 20 minutes distance from the vibrant center of Brussels you will find the New Van der Valk Hotel Brussels Airport. With 224 luxurious rooms, 13 modern and multifunctional meeting rooms, cozy restaurant and contemporary bar and lounge we are the ideal place for businessmen and leisure guests alike. We offer a free shuttle service to and from the airport. If you would like to visit the city, the station is only a 5 minute walk away from our hotel and in 15 minutes you will find yourself in the middle of everything. Take advantage of our spacious garage, the perfect place to leave your car while on vacation. In fact don’t take our word for it, come and have a look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Van der Valk Brussels Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Brussels Airport Hotel Diegem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing