We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor, both performance and rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Danica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Danica
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Horsens
Ruhr Area, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“poor, both performance and rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I don't plan to ever return.
When we arrived (on a Sunday evening), we had to ring the bell (reception was not staffed at that time), we heard someone pick up, but instead of greeting us through the intercom (we tried "Hello?" twice), only the automatic door was opened. This continued when we went into the lobby: no one to be seen, no welcome, all deserted...after looking around, we found some envelopes on the counter - one for each of our group. Of course, we also had to go discover for ourselves where our rooms could be. Reception opening times be as they may - a more professional and warm welcome would've been nice.
I had a room adjoining the staircase - and despite smoking being prohibited in the rooms, my room had the clear smell of old tobacco smoke (all my clothes smelled smoky when I unpacked them at home). The booklet of the hotel said that if someone smoked, it would incur a extra cleaning fee...well, I guess they had taken the fee from one of my predecessors, but I must say the extra cleaning afterwards had failed!
Speaking of cleaning: the bathrooms seemed either like the mortar between the tiles hadn't been properly cleaned off or there was already water residue settling heavily (not only in my room). Plus the whole bathroom was pretty much one basin, but the shower drain didn't work properly (also: not only in my room) - leading to flooding the whole room if you didn't turn off the water quickly.
The interior of the room was okay. The noise wasn't okay, at least one night - it sounded like they had a laundry drier running next to me - at midnight! Fortunately, I sleep pretty soundly (but didn't sleep well). The breakfast was alright.
To sum it up: I wouldn't return, service and rooms were not what you'd expect.

Room Tip: For sure don't take the rooms off the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingkudzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    24
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
9
35
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We spend 2 nights at the Danica Hotel and was very satisfied.

Nice clean rooms, not the biggest bathroom, but okay, lots of parking space just in front of the hotel and a restaurant with a very good breakfast buffet

Only minus - we asked for a room with a queensize bed, but got one with 2 single beds put together - a bit anoying when they start to move away from eachother :-)

Friendly staff and good atmosphere

All the best from us

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a frontside view - the backside view isn't that great :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_S_Jensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus - Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I sure expected a little more comfort and luxuriousity for the mony than we got at Danica Hotel in Horsens! Small room, cheep furniture, bare walls, no TV, and a view to the parkingplace - not what you expect from a hotel with a rating (****) of that kind. BUT the food was extraordinaire and a nice customers service at the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hentze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
'Nige
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

Receptionist was friendly and helpful at check-in. Room was small but clean.

Dinner in the hotel was good, but very expensive.

Good selection at breakfast

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IfitsMonday...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

The hotel is situated in the centrum of Horsens. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was superb. The food in the restaurant was excellent.
Our room was clean and 4-star standard. The standard of the hotel is above average.

  • Liked — The food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mp2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

My advice is don't even consider this hotel if you plan to stay in Horsens. I stayed there for 5 days and despite it being the busiest time of the year for them the management were on holidays. The left a skeleton staff to look after a fully booked hotel with disasterous results. Several days i had to ask to have the room made up as the 'cleaner' did not take the initiative to do this. I was told that servicing a room consisted of pulling up the sheets (but not changing them until you checked out) and emptying the bin. I'm not joking (and this is a 4 star hotel!!). The bathroom was never cleaned and on the last 2 days of the stay the smell on the first floor was so bad that I alsmost called the health department. I suspect that there is a sewage problem that needs to be addressed before it causes a serious health issue. Don't waste your money on this hotel (it not even a 2-star). You'd be better of sleeping in your car.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — Where do I start; read the review
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travellinglobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Horsens hotels

Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2005

I am writing this complaint at 1:30 in the morning from the Danica Best Western in Horsens, Denmark. The reason for this complaint is it is 1:30 in the morning and right below my room is a party. I came down at 11:00 p.m and 12:00 a.m. to complain, to no avail. At 11:00 p.m. i was told there was nothing they could do, but that they would make a note of it. I told the girl at the front desk who was wearing a "I only sleep with the best" shirt that i was pregnant and very tired. She said she would make a note of it.
I came down again at 12:00 and was told by another employee that if i had said something, they could have taken care of it. I expalined that I had. They said that they would take care of it, but here it is 1:30 and i am typing this email becuase the pounding on my floor fromm the music is keeping me awake.
Secondly, eventhough we put the "please clean the room sign" out, we did not get service today. We had used the towels for two days (we like to conserve). They brought us towels later.
I have stayed in many hotels around the world, and this is no 4 Star.
Third, i had to come down to ask for toilet paper.
Thanks, Best Western. I wish you could hear the sarcasm in my voice.

Helpful?
7 Thank nanaeito13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsens
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jorgensens Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Opus Horsens
Hotel Opus Horsens
#2 of 8 in Horsens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Korning Kro
Hotel Korning Kro
#3 of 8 in Horsens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Scandic Bygholm Park
Scandic Bygholm Park
#1 of 8 in Horsens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Teaterhotellet
Teaterhotellet
#5 of 8 in Horsens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Skanderborghus
Hotel Skanderborghus
#6 of 9 in Skanderborg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danica

Property: Hotel Danica
Address: Ove Jensens Alle 28, Horsens 8700, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Horsens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Horsens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Danica 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Danica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Horsens
Horsens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing