We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but needs some additional touches”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Opus Horsens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Opus Horsens
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Horsens
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice but needs some additional touches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Room excellent, with everything you need apart from some complimentary water! Small things but mean a lot. Free WiFi- yes! Gym was great. Atmosphere was quiet but this time of year, probably to be expected. Restaurant when I stayed was buffet only and when your travelling you need to resist too much indulgence. I wanted to sit in the bar area and just get a light meal but could not. I had to order room service. However - it was good food, just a shame to eat in my room. Breakfast buffet was good and reception staff very friendly. Will stay again but look to eat out - probably.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank achatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    104
    22
    15
    6
See reviews for
49
104
11
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

It's a relative new hotel, very clean with spacious rooms (for Denmark).

The sleep quality was average. Beds were 2 single put together although I ordered a King. There is some traffic noise, but this can most likely be avoided by getting another room. There is a small minibar in the room.

Breakfast was slightly below average. Especially the scrambled eggs and "bake-off" bread and Danish pastry should be avoided.

The check-in and - out was very fast.

The Hotel is approx. 2-3 km out of the city centre. It is most likely one of the better hotels in and around Horsens, and you will be able to survive for up to 3 working days (not weekends).

Room Tip: Improve your sleep quality by asking for a room away form the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VonLindegaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

when you first see it, it looks , and is, a very nice looking hotel. the lobby looks clean and modern, spacious.. the rooms big.

However, soon the facade slips away and you find you are sleeping on a really cheap mattress, which is really the only thing that matters in the room.)

The appearance also faded away when I walked in to the front desk and the receptionists make you feel like you are disturbing "their peace" when you check in; they give you no information. They basically handed me a key. I had to ask all the questions which were very relevant. i basically felt like I was bothering them for asking them what time and where the breakfast was served.
Then they over charged me. False charges. The receptionist would not even take it off.. I had to get a manager.
Then they would not give a refund at the end for a night I was not even in the country that they tried to bill me for.
Then, above all things, I received an electronic email bill for a few thousand crowns. The message said they discovered that I left the hotel without paying for the room I was in.
I told them I had never even slept there on the dates they billed me. Then i received a letter, not an apology, but a letter, with an excuse of why they made a mistake and that it was okay.. " i did not need to pay it"... that lost a lot of respect and told me the mindset of the hotel. The other thing they told me is they just send that email to all names on a bulk generated list to make sure they cover more than fewer customers. ( well , this is how you lose customers like me who will never come back)

some good things? the breakfast bread selection was good.. the marmelade cheap, the eggs powdered, and the pastries were actually delicious. if you are a bread person for breakfast you will like it.

too far away from anythign to walk to .. so car is always needed. the place seems really empty.. so maybe that is why they want so much money from you.. ( prices are ridiculous in the restaurant).
the hotel is very overpriced... I used it for convenience to the Forum, but would not recommend it to anyone else for the price. even on Hotels.com they have a no refund / no cancellation policy which to me is ridiculous.
the "fitness package" is basically 3 cardio machines in a small room. the connection to the swimming pool down the street.. well, they can sell you tickets.. and they make money! :-( cheaper just to go to the swimming pool yourself.

Room Tip: go downtown..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappyinhorsens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed 3 nights here on a business trip and it was an excellent stay. The rooms are spacious, room service was fast and tasty, the bed was comfortable and breakfast was plentiful and great. I didn't get to venture out because it was very cold while I was there and I was quite busy, but if you have to be stuck in a hotel, you want to be in one like this!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel is on the outskirts of Horsens so best accessed by car or taxi from the railway station. The hotel is very modern and attractive, set up for conferences with many meeting areas and good views out the front and rear of the building of the countryside. We arrived early and were able to check in at 1pm. We had a spacious room with an excellent bathroom. There is a good restaurant for dinner and breakfast. The staff were professional and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Very nice hotel in the middle of nowhere. Horsens is rather small city, but being a seat of Danish EU presidency it gave me the opportunity to enjoy in full greenness of Danish country side.
Hotel is very good, clean, there is a ironing kit, free WiFi, very helpful staff. You can take free bikes for the city tour in front of the hotel, which is not to much to see, but if you have a luck to be there during the day when everyone is out you can enjoy danish spirit on the streets.
There are few lakes nearby which unfortunately I didn't have opportunity to visit, but you can jog there and ride bikes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bozbozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Excellent rooms with nice and friendly reception staff.

But the sudden change in the restaurant menu from the first evening with an excellent an reasonable prices to the second evening with a very different and reduce selection causes me to wonder what they are playing at.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triwbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsens
1.1 mi away
Scandic Bygholm Park
Scandic Bygholm Park
#1 of 8 in Horsens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Jorgensens Hotel
5.9 mi away
Hotel Korning Kro
Hotel Korning Kro
#3 of 8 in Horsens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Comwell Kellers Park & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Danica
Hotel Danica
#6 of 8 in Horsens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
15.8 mi away
Munkebjerg Hotel
Munkebjerg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Vejle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opus Horsens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opus Horsens

Property: Hotel Opus Horsens
Address: Egebjergvej 1, Horsens 8700, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Horsens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Horsens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Opus Horsens 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Opus Horsens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing