We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - def. not 4* standard”
Review of Comwell Sonderborg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comwell Sonderborg
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Soenderborg
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing - def. not 4* standard”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed at the Comwell for 5 nights and were extremely disappointed. Under no circumstances does this hotel deserve it's 4-star rating!!

Firstly, some of the rooms (including) mine are in 2 level cellar and I actually thought I was heading for the linen storeroom or maintenance area when searching for my room. The rooms 118 to 133 are down 2 flights of stairs and on a dark and dingy corridor with visible water pipes etc. On a positive note, the room itself was a decent size with an LCD TV and tea and coffee making facilities (although you only get 2 teabags and 2 coffee sachets per day) and the bed was very comfortable.
Now the long list of negatives: The bathroom was dated and there is no shower mat, meaning you end up using a handtowel for this purpose or stand on cold floor tiles. Unfortunately there is no bathtub and it is not possible to adjust the height of the shower head. The internet connection was WiFi but rather slow.

GYM / POOL
I was looking forward to using these but was sorely disappointed!!! The pool was so small that it was more like a large bathtub. The fitness studio was one treadmill, one bike and one cross-trainer. There were no exercise mats for doing stretching or yoga. There were no free weights or even towels available. There was a water cooler but no cups or glasses. The changing room was an utter disgrace - there was 1 shower, which had no hot water and which was extremely dirty and even had mould in it! The sauna was old and dingy - the only good thing being that there were separate saunas for men and women (but obviously not an advantage if you want to go as a couple). Unfortunately there were no relaxation beds to lie down after the sauna - only some wicker chairs next to the pool.

Breakfast
There was a good selection of teas, both teabags and loose tea. I was also pleased to find low-fat milk and yoghurt. But thís is where the positive points end . . . . . now the criticism . . . . there was absolutely no variety! Every morning there were exactly the same things on offer - 2 types of ham, 1 pate, Brie, 1 hard cheese, the same breads etc. Each day there was scrambled eggs and crispy bacon and grilled tomatoes. There was even no variation to the fruit salad - just apple, pineapple and melon in it!! They really didn't make much effort.

Staff
I found the staff to be friendly, efficient and helpful so no criticism there.

Summary
I would not want to stay at this hotel again. It does have a lovely location with only a 5 min walk into the town but that does not make up for the disadvantages.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms 118 - 133 - these in second cellar level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pickyjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    71
    62
    23
    8
See reviews for
18
74
3
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
BANGALORE
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel. The landscape around the hotel was wonderful, and gave a very good feel. The hotel was generally good, except that the breakfast did not have great variety for a vegetarian like me.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I've stayed at the Comwell a number of times for business. Let me start with the positives: the best thing about the hotel is the location, by the sea. The breakfast is pretty good, although there is little in the way of fresh fruit and cold milk. And (unless there is a wedding party or conference) it's fairly quiet. Unfortunately it goes downhill from there...

Rooms - mostly fine, but in need of updating. Bathrooms in particular are not good - no bathmats to put on the floor (I constantly had to use a handtowel on the floor and even after many days, this was not replaced), no baths, draughty and cracked tiles, bad shower.

Any kind of extra here costs money - I requested a room with a view, and that cost extra. A late checkout of even an hour, costs extra. You can take some bread and cheese from the breakfast for your lunch, but that costs extra too. The internet is at least free, but it's slow, and should your computer or phone go to sleep or snooze mode, you then need to log in again.

Restaurant - not bad, but it's overpriced, it shuts very early, and is incredibly slow. An order for a steak (with only a few other tables occupied) took 40 minutes, which is not acceptable.

Gym - a disgrace. Situated in an old, smelly basement room with no airflow or towels, dirty, old machines covered in sweat. No hygiene - i.e. paper towel and disinfectant spray that you find in most gyms nowadays.

But the main problem with this hotel is the attitude of some of its front desk staff. There was one lady working at the front desk most mornings, who was as sour as could be, never smiled, and never said good morning. Everything was a problem for her. Another one, staffing the desk late at night, told us we could not eat food in the foyer, despite the foyer being deserted and the kitchen and bar areas all being closed, because it was the 'rules'. We reminded him that it was a four star hotel (where the kitchen should anyway be open late) rather than a school, but this did not work.

So the overall feeling you get from the Comwell as that you as a guest are not welcome, but that you should feel privileged and honoured to stay in such an (average) place.

There is not much choice in Sønderborg, but you're sure to have a better time in a small, family-run place.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room, and don't let them charge you for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesJames1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Soenderborg hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I have been there several times for business. Some of the rooms (with the view to the sea) are nice, but most of them are very oldies. In all rooms, bathrooms are really old fashion, small and coarse towels, no bath carpet, ceramic like in publict bath.
No elevator for the rooms in the basement, dirty carpets...
Some rooms are very noise because of the elevaltor to higher levels or some heating device.

Breakfast is nice but pretty light. On week-ends, if you come after 8:30,(it is supposed to be open until 10:00.) almost nothing’s left, everything is messy and dirty, no one fill up missing food.

Also, a big disadvantage: I believe that today, in every hotel, all the more (for a 4 star hotel), WIFI should be free in the rooms. In Comwell, wifi is supposed to be free only in the lobby, and you get a password only for 3 days. This was really annoying for a business trip and does match standard expectations.
The only advantage of this hotel is the location, close to nice restaurants and to the harbor. But Sonderborg is a very small town so in 5 mn you drive to everywhere.
One more plus is the kettle in the room.

Room Tip: ask for rooms in higher level with a view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kerry, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Great location near the town but the hotel it self needs to be refurbished.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

we had a room over looking the court yard. It wasnt the sea side but still it was very nice.
The swimming pool was small but good, and they also had saunas.
In the room they had a kettle and the bathroom was pretty spacious.
The bed was the best. Mattress and the comforter was so nice! I could sleep there for hours!
Breakfast was really good with fast and good service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hinakogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The hotel lies close to the beach with a nice view from the rooms. The city center and the Sønderborg Museum are also in walking distance.
It is supposed to be a 4-star hotel, but it looks quite old and dated. Some renovation would definetely help! The rooms are small, especially when using the sleeper couch. The morning buffet was quite OK, but again quite average.
If you are used to international standards and expect a 4-star hotel, this hotel will be quite provincial and Danish. On the other hand, the location is excellent and the service friendly. It has some good prices during the weekends.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soenderborg
1.8 mi away
Scandic Soenderborg
Scandic Soenderborg
#2 of 10 in Soenderborg
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel 6400
Hotel 6400
#7 of 10 in Soenderborg
7 reviews
9.5 mi away
Benniksgaard Hotel
Benniksgaard Hotel
#1 of 10 in Soenderborg
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Italia
Bella Italia
#6 of 10 in Soenderborg
27 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Des Nordens
10.2 mi away
Dyvig Badehotel
Dyvig Badehotel
#3 of 10 in Soenderborg
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comwell Sonderborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comwell Sonderborg

Property: Comwell Sonderborg
Address: Rosengade 2, Soenderborg 6400, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Soenderborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Soenderborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Comwell Sonderborg 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HRS, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comwell Sonderborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comwell Sonderborg Denmark/Jutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing