We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delecios food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Vaegteren - CLOSED

Restaurant Vaegteren
Cuisines: European, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delecios food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Delicious and very tasty homemade food. Very good service and kind people. An interesting and complet winecard.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KajOJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Landvetter
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

The food and atmosphere was a nice surprise. We ate a Danish frokostplatte inspired by Spanish tapas, it was very delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
270 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
“Cozy and comforting, but pedestrian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a nice little place that serves up Danish comfort food in a warm and homey atmosphere. The Tuesday buffet was excellent, much better than the fairly limited number of choices available on other nights. Service was friendly and timely. Wine choices were excellent. The dining experience suffers a little bit from the odd shape of the room and its two exterior entrances, one at each end. This means visitors and draughts come at the 10 or so tables from two ways, not just one. Surely, that is not an asset.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice people; decent food; funny smell”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I ate at Vaegteren one evening of my week-long visit to Frederikshavn. (The name, by the way, does NOT mean "Vegetarian", as I falsely assumed at one point, but "Scales" as in 'thing that weighs'.) My reception as a single diner was very cordial, and they were quite "eager to please" all the way through. The food was good, though not outstanding, but I can only speak to the one dish I had. It may be that others were better or more interesting. I do have to say, though that I detected a bit of a butcher-shop smell when I came through the door, which would have turned me off if it hadn't been late and most other places closed. Once I had been there a little while I didn't smell it any more, and it was a perfectly good meal, though not inexpensive, so it's worth giving a try.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Perrydigm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederikshavn, Nordjylland, Denmark
2 reviews
“Top class!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

One of the best restaurants in the city!!

If you want quality AND quantity this is the place to go.. You wont get too much a la carte, the portions are good, but you still get the nice decorated plates! Nothing is never too much for the staff/kitchen and they love to pamper you, so you feel special amongst the many people sitting in the restaurant.

They go very far with quality of the food - No expence spared!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Girly_Kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Vaegteren also viewed

Bindslev, Frederikshavn
Frederikshavn, North Jutland
 
Strandby, Frederikshavn
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing