We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We have stayed at this hotel two times in three years. Each time we enjoyed our stay. This hotel is small and family owned and operated. If you have any issues, need directions or just assistance with travel arrangements, the owner is usually at the front desk to assist you. The traditional Scandinavian Breakfast is served every morning. The rooms are small and quant but this is not a traditional hotel in the sense. This hotel was once a house. It was built by a sailor and he wanted a place to call home on land. This house was converted into a hotel so the rooms are small and there are only a few of them but if you want peace and quite in a perfect setting this is the place for you. It is more built for couples with no children as the rooms are so small. It is located with in walking distance from the Stena line ferry. If you want to bike around Frederikshavn they have some bikes on hand. We traveled all over Denmark during the day and returned each night and this was a perfect place to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley_20101031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2010

having spent hundreds of nights in various hotels around the world, we always look for boutique hotels with a special atmosphere and a personal touch. This is exactly what we found at PARK Hotel, owned and run by the extremely sweet Lis. This is a small hotel with 30 rooms, in very varying sizes, but no matter how small the room may be, it is clean and the beds are good. We were welcomed by a very sweet receptionist, who happily assisted us in finding restaurant and entertainment. Much to our surprise, the hotel even has LAN (DKK 50/24 hours). Breakfast is served with a personal and very friendly touch, and offers a good selection of quality produce.
All in all, a very personal and caring approach lends us to heartily recommend the Park hotel, especially if you are an experienced traveller, fed up with the chain hotels' standardized approach.
It should be noted however, that there are stairs in the hotel, which could be troublesome to behindered travellers

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdpdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Having Frederikshavn as our base, we visited Skagen, Aalborg and Hirtshals for our 3-days mini-holiday in the north part of Jutland. This was a very wise dicision, since all our destinations were within 30-40 mins drive from our hotel. Park Hotel turned out to be just what we were looking for: romantic, comfortable, classy and very good service. When we came back in the evening after our trips, we settled in the cognac bar with Irish Coffee and the one evening we had sun, we enjoyed a glass of rosewine on the terrace, while the sun was setting behind the art museum next door. The organic breakfast buffet was delicious and just what we needed to get started in the morning and our room was bright and clean with all modern comfort and still had that classic English style like the rest of the hotel. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Troja23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2007

This must be the most awful hotel ever. I stay in many hotels every year both for business and on holidays. But Park Hotel, Fredrikshavn, must be the the worst experience I have had in a very long time.

We called in advance and got the last room available and we arrived by train at midnight and found the hotel after some looking. Reception, restaurant and bar is indeed very cosy in decoration and atmosphere. Gastronomic certifics ordane the wall. Staff on the other should learn how to smile and show service.

The room we got was very, very small. We were 2 men and our luggage counted 2 suitcases and 2 small bags in total. The room was too small to accomdate all luggage. The bed was no longer than 30 cm over that of a single bed. Since we have no interest whatsoever lying as close or closer than married folks do, this was out of the question. For this room they had the guts to ask 1000 kr (about 150 USD). Asking how they could charge that much the answer was: "Well, you are 2 people".. We felt they strongly took advantage of the situation of 2 guests not being able to move to another hotel in the middle of the night.

We asked if they had anything else. We were directed to a room in the attic with 2 proper beds. The room was old (about mid 80's), air smelled of cigarettes, had no TV, no desk and there was a shared bathroom in the hallway (really a toilet room with a shower head mounted to the wall). On the other hand our luggage fitted inside. Being too tired to go anywhere else we accepted.

The price was not discounted even though the room was clearly lower in standard, though slighty bigger, and we had to leave too early to get the breakfast we had to pay for ("included")..

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Noytronet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Norway
13
Reviewed 15 July 2006

Beautiful hotel, top service, great atmosphere, execellet food!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jorann Elisabet... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisThomsen, Ejer at Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Birgit F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisThomsen, Ejer at Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederikshavn
0.2 mi away
Scandic The Reef
Scandic The Reef
#1 of 16 in Frederikshavn
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frederikshavn - Soemandshjemmet
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jutlandia
Hotel Jutlandia
#5 of 16 in Frederikshavn
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Ruths Hotel
Ruths Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skagen
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
#7 of 16 in Frederikshavn
137 reviews
11.5 mi away
Aalbaek Gl Kro
Aalbaek Gl Kro
#1 of 1 in Albaek
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: Jernbanegade 7, Frederikshavn 9900, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Frederikshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Price Range: £99 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Jutland/Frederikshavn, Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing