We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic pool”
Review of Scandic The Reef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic The Reef
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic pool”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is the place to go wether you want to stay for a night or are just in Frederikshavn for a boattrip. Fantastic pool in exotic surroundings with waves, shifting coloring lights and even simulating rainstorm with thunder. Very much fun for the children with slide with rings and both inside and outside pool, and pirate"boats" where they can shoot water at the people swimming. A great bar will give you also whatever you need of drinks and food. The reception is very effective and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medusathegodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    242
    146
    48
    21
See reviews for
401
64
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larvik, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The hotel is only a place to go with your children for a day or 2. Reception is very quick and effective. We stayed in the "Pirate rooms". These rooms are the extra touch of furnishings, From the Pirate "skull and crossbones" above the beds, Pirate History on the walls and topped up with Skull and Crossbones Bedding. The kids love it.
It is a Children,s resort, so the restaurant was noisy however the Breakfast was very good. Both warm and cold foods.(We ate lunch and dinner outside the Hotel, just to rest our ears).
The Reef is built loosely around an Island Paradise. There are Pirate Caves, diving for Gold coins(hand them in and you get a free Ice cream. There were great weather sound effects as well as Film.There was even "Rain" above the Pool to accompany the waves. The children loved the long slide which is partly darkened(watch out for this part, it can be scary for the small ones). All in all. A great day out !

Room Tip: "The Pirate rooms" include Pirate teemed bedding, curtains and "Welcoming Pirate gift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highlander666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is a family style hotel based around an mostly indoor water land.
Since the re-launch/renovation of this water world hotel with the new "caribian" style i actully think the water land/world is OK , but the main part of the hotel lack refurbishing and could need some serious renovation.
The rooms are small and old they are just "piffed" with some "caribian style items" and really need a renovation.
But all in all.. My Kids LOVED the waterland and didnt care about the old style of the room.
I guess i will go back just because the kids loved it.
Worth the money?.. Hmm.. hard to say.
PS: skip the "buffe" on the evening its not worth the money.. go out side get something else to eat.

Room Tip: 308 was good , but seems to be no AC so it was HOT ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karloskar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This pool looks so amazingly from the inside. It follows the whole pirate carribean island style with palm treas, nice lights, pirate boats and everyhing. The slides there are really really awesome and you can also go outside and go to a jacuzzi or sauna. Very nice place where you can enjoy yourself for many hours.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Tiny rooms, really tiny, the family room has pull out bunk beds for the kids, once you pull them out you can't move anymore. No minibar, no AC, one kind of soap in bathroom. Tiny hall with sofas elbow to elbow with the next guest. Yes, it has one water slide. And it's really expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zinoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for business.

Very central to the town and transport links. 45 mins from Aalborg and the Ferries running in and out of Denmark.

Expect standard Denmark room. Ie two single beds. My room had no shower but that is no concern to me but may be for others. Also lacked a fridge and kettle.

TV had a good variety of English speaking programs.

Breakfast was standard Danish fare and was plentiful.

Buffet in the evening was similar. Did eat a couple of times at the restaurant around the back. Was expensive, but everything is in Denmark.

Laundry had to be taken to reception and personally by myself from reception. Which I have not seen anywhere else before.

Staff were always kind and willing to help.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, General Manager at Scandic The Reef, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for you comments - and wish you a nice summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederikshavn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jutlandia
Hotel Jutlandia
#5 of 16 in Frederikshavn
182 reviews
19.7 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#2 of 4 in Skagen
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Frederikshavn - Soemandshjemmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Viking Aqua Spa & Wellness Resort
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
#7 of 16 in Frederikshavn
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Frederikshavn
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic The Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic The Reef

Property: Scandic The Reef
Address: Tordenskjoldsgade 14, Frederikshavn 9900, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Frederikshavn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic The Reef 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic The Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Stena Line Frederikshavn Hotel Frederikshavn
Scandic Stena Line Hotel Frederikshavn
Scandic The Reef Jutland/Frederikshavn, Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing