We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent indoor winter fun”
Review of Scandic The Reef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic The Reef
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
277 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent indoor winter fun”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We visited the reef during the day without staying over at the hotel. It was a christmas gift to my kids.
We arrived with the ferry and the reef is only a short walk from the ferries.
The indoor reef was really impressive at first sight. The chaning rooms and showers are nice and clean as well. Lot's of hot tubs around the place.
The kids had a blast at first but became a bit bored after a couple of hours. Maybe it's better suited for younger kids since the place is not really big and only has one slide.

The adults enjoyed the saunas, both the steam sauna and the regular one situated on the sun deck. The latter offers a good view of the outside pool which is handy if you need to check on the kids.

There is a snack bar but the service was really poor, If your not registered at the hotel you can only pay cash. If you don't carry cash there is supposedely an ATM in the hotel lobby but who wants to go out in the lobby in a bathingsuit... We decided to refrain from eating instead.

It was a nice experience but I'm not sure that we will go back, once is enough, The kids preferred Lalandia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Christin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    219
    131
    42
    19
See reviews for
353
56
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jever, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a Hotel…. The 4 of us had a family room (my kids 10 and 8, my wife and myself) the room was a typical Scandic Hotel style and quite compact, 2 of the 4 beds where wall mounted, which the kids loved.

I have to say however that I was glad that I am the only one in the family who has a serious challenge to maintain perfect figure, or just any figure other than whale I would be happy with.., a fat family of 4 would had to engage into some serious blubber management to be able to maneuver within the room.

That being said, you will not spend a lot of time in the room anyway.
The pool is the reason to come to The Reef… I have seen a few themed hotels, but mainly in the US and on a grand scale, but the amount of hot tubs, pools and slides that have been successfully packed into this relatively small space is amazing and it still feels spacious.

It does get busy, you sit in a hot tub relaxing and suddenly there is, what I can only describe as a avalanche of human flesh hurling toward you, and within seconds, the once relaxing experience turns into a feeling of having a ordinary bath with a bunch of strangers…
Also the wave pool, great fun, but when you hit a busy period is resembles the scene from the sinking of the Titanic.
The good thing there is a nice bar and I have found that I handle these situations much better with a steady beer buzz.

Breakfast buffet has plenty of choices, if you pace yourself and follow the simple rule of protein first and then carbohydrates… your personal gorging can take you through well past lunch and straight to beer time… win win!!

It is a family hotel and that is why we came, but my children tolerance level where put through a severe test! So if you are a couple and looking for a relaxing weekend escape… you’d probably rather sit in a 100 km traffic jam on a hot summer’s day. On the other hand childless couples that love watching stressed and fed-up parents, this is your place..

And finally… the kids as well as us had a great time, it is a great place!!! We will definitely return…

Room Tip: If the entire family has a substantially inflated BMI… shell out for 2 rooms or a suite….
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jochen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We arrived early morning (08.00) from Stena Line, Oslo-Fredrikshavn.Its about 10-15 minutes walk from the boat to the hotel. We knew check-in was at 16.00, but we asked if our room was ready, and it was! Aftes a quick trip into town (Føtex) and having breakfast, we were rady for bathing.
Im used to go naked from the lockerroom to the showers. I almost did that, but quickly shut the door when i saw men outside! Ups!! On with the bathingsuit and then i went to the showers wich is separate. Its only the way to the showers that men and women share, phu! The swimminghall is very nice. Lots of different places, jacuzis and a steamroom. The children ( 7 and 12 years old) was wery pleased and happy. Its also a bar were you can order drinks and snacks.
The hotel is nice and ok. We had room on 5th floor and the room was ok sized an good beds. A bit worn, specially the floor. The breakfast is also nice. Everything you want, good juice and a separate place for the children with pancakes ( wich mine didnt like).
Check-out was very crowdy, but after 2 min standing in line, the reseptionist separeted check-ins from check-outs, and things went faster.

All in all it a nice place and we would difinitely go back if the children want, which they do :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
335 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is an average hotel and the main reason to stay here is the excellent pool area called "The Reef". The entrance is included in your room price but you are also
able to purchase tickets and enter without staying at the hotel. It's an excellent pool area for kids in all ages. There's a kid pool, slide, wave-pool, several jacuzzis, an outdoor pool and jacuzzi etc.

The hotel itself is, as mentioned, average. The staff is OK, they aren't really doing anything more than they need to but they are still doing their job. The rooms are OK except for the bathrooms which are really worn out.

In the evening ( at least during weekends) they have a Caribbean buffé with some entertainment for the kids which offers a nice ending to a hectic day.

This is a place which is worth a visit but you shouldn't expect too much from the hotel-part.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joky80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Located in the centre of Fredrikshavn with plenty of restaurants nearby, the major shopping street is just a two minute walk away. Very good, although all little shops and the cafés close early. The hotel has a nice swimming-pool area with several jacuzzis, outside there is one pool with a small lazy river, unfortunately this pool and river are very cold, even during a warm day in July we had to change to the bigger pool inside. Water slide, which is nice although our daughter fell of the rubbertire and hurt her head. The rooms are of average size, we had a family room on the fourth floor, two single beds pushed together and two bunk beds, one desk. The shower-room was also of average size. Quite warm as there was no A/C and we could not keep the window open due to some waterworks which the hotel staff had forgotten to switch off. We called reception and asked them if they could fix it, but the staff that could do this had gone home, so it took some hours for them to find out how to work this. Comfy beds, good breakfast. Would only stay here again if the kids wanted to, without kids I would find a cheaper and probably much better place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
276 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I visited the shipyard at Frederikshavn and the yard booked the hotel for one night. Plain Danish style room furnishings with room amenities similar to a Premier Inn/Travelodge in the UK. The rooms were rather scuffed in places and have obviously seen many visitors. The beds were comfortable and I slept well although noise transmission from the corridors was significant. A colleague in another room complained of noise from a TV in the next room. For one night the hotel was perfectly acceptable.

In the centre of the hotel is a large water feature based on a pirate theme. There are bikes outside reception if you wish to go on a bike ride around the town. I would envisage that children would like the water feature.

Breakfast was good with a range of hot and cold food. I did not sample the restaurant for dinner or the bar.

The only staff I met were at reception. They were polite and helpful.

Good for a one night stay or perhaps longer if you have children.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antarctic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is the place to go wether you want to stay for a night or are just in Frederikshavn for a boattrip. Fantastic pool in exotic surroundings with waves, shifting coloring lights and even simulating rainstorm with thunder. Very much fun for the children with slide with rings and both inside and outside pool, and pirate"boats" where they can shoot water at the people swimming. A great bar will give you also whatever you need of drinks and food. The reception is very effective and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medusathegodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederikshavn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jutlandia
Hotel Jutlandia
#5 of 15 in Frederikshavn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Viking Aqua Spa & Wellness Resort
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
#6 of 15 in Frederikshavn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#2 of 4 in Skagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Frederikshavn - Soemandshjemmet
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 15 in Frederikshavn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic The Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic The Reef

Property: Scandic The Reef
Address: Tordenskjoldsgade 14, Frederikshavn 9900, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Frederikshavn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic The Reef 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic The Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Stena Line Frederikshavn Hotel Frederikshavn
Scandic Stena Line Hotel Frederikshavn
Scandic The Reef Jutland/Frederikshavn, Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing