We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and fun ”
Review of Scandic The Reef

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic The Reef
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip to this place, and it was as nice as the first one.
To get right to the point: What's special about the hotel is that it is also a water park.
Once you're checked in to your room, you take the lift back down past the reception floor and get directly to the water park area. It is situated in the middle of the hotel, so you see it both from some of the windows, and from the corridors.
Also, the pool area hosts a bar/restaurant with some foods and drinks.
The visitors are a mix of kids families, couples and young adults, with the same mix among the many different pools or attractions.
There is also a more formal restaurant, a lounge and a sun deck.
You can easily spend a whole day here bathing, reading in the sun, eating and drinking, and starting over, until the facilities close at 10 pm.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank belami42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed two times at the Reef within the space of four days. Rooms are terrible, definitely not up to par with normal Scandic standard. It is evident that the hotel makes money out of luring visitors to the adventure bath (which in fact is quite nice) but leaving the rooms heavily overpriced without any value. First room we got had a window with rotten wood around it. The other room was heavily stained, probably by pool water from guests visiting the pool area and returning to their rooms. (Are wooden floors really a good option on such a hotel..?). The bathroom is seriously below any normal standard.

The restaurant is really nice though, high quality buffet. Definitely recommended. Nice furniture and overall pleasant place.

The bar is another story though. The furniture are so torn up and stained that it is a sorry sight for any guest.

Luckily, the children liked the place apart from the rooms which even they found lacking quality. I guess happy children is the reason the hotel doesn't raise the quality level. They don't have to. Almost no one is complaining I guess, although all of us guests will find the hotel below standard, no doubt.

Stayed at another Scandic hotel the same week, in Vejle. At the same price rate we got a room that was without a doubt 10 times the quality of the Reef. It's sad, because the children loved the adventure bath, but as parents we are very hesitant to returning to this hotel. Room was so extremely humid and hot that it was almost unbearable to stay there. The hotel even put a small portable fan in every room because they are so aware of this fact. Yet, nothing as far as normal modern air-condition is made to conquer this....

Another sorry thing was when we reached the hotel on our second stay and parked the car only to get checked in and buy a parking ticket from the reception. It took around 15 minutes for this to be completed and we were greater with a 650 DKK fine for a missing parking ticket. Went in to the staff at the reception and was told that this was all my own fault. For what? Having to wait until it was my turn to check in and get a parking ticket? Asked if there was any way of solving this, but got a negative answer. No chance that I would ever get this ticket cancelled.

Well, sent an e-mail to the parking company telling the story about the "nice understanding staff" at the Reef, and they immediately cancelled the ticket... Thanks for nothing Scandic.

I am a frequent guest of Scandic at work. If you ever plan a work trip to Fredrikshavn - stay well clear of this hotel. Not because of the food, but because of most everything else. Could have been great if standard was sorted and if staff could be so kind and ask "Do you arrive with a car? Would you like to purchase a parking ticket?"

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at this hotel. Unless you like extreme humidity and heat, as well as a defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johan_K99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Lets say this is not a four star hotel but in saying that this hotel does have some good points. Location is close to the ferry terminals that go from Denmark to Sweden and we used it as a one night stay for that reason. The hotel is set up for families with a indoor water slide which goes into a indoor and outdoor pool. Pool hours stop right on 9.00 pm each night which is good for guests who wish to have an early night. The hotel has a nice restaurant and the included breakfast is good. If you want to eat out there is a full range of places to eat close to the hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. On the down side the rooms are very average. the room we were given was small and uninteresting the bed was comfortable but pillows small. For a one night stay this hotel was OK.

Room Tip: This is a large hotel ask if you can have a look at the room first they may not all be of a low stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank murarrielen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a nice weekend get-away with our kids. Breakfast buffet was great and our room was okay. Our kids enjoyed the extensive indoor waterpark, with a lot of variations. I liked the animated thunder and moonsun rain :)

Room Tip: Nice local restaurant, Jerry's Restaurant & Bryghus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lajlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just arrived at the scandic reef at it stinks, bathroom floor is dirty, no floor towel, doesnot have any facilities to put ice in I was given a plastic bag not quite sure were to put it.Very noisy wooden floors.I have stayed in lots of hotels around the world this is one of the worse

Room Tip: Dont come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARMODY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Rooms are functional and clean but are small with dated decor. Great pool area. Good choice of breakfast. Don,t stay here if you want a quiet hotel. we were awoken by screaming children running up and down the corridors. Also there is poor sound isolation between rooms.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, General Manager at Scandic The Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hej Morten H

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Reef, a feedback like this is very valuable for us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay her at The Reef.
We have notished your comments regarding the room beeing somewhat dated. We are awar of this issue, and are working on a solution.
Thanks againg for taking time to give us this feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you to The Reef at another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We visited the hotel with our two year old son and were very pleased with the hotel's water park. There were opportunities to swim both outdoors and indoors and several saunas. The water park was also very child friendly with a children's section.

Breakfast was excellent, with a good selection of both hot and cold dishes. There were also a small playroom adjacent to the breakfast room.

The room was functional and simply furnished with two twin beds and two bunk beds. The room was somewhat dated and ventilation system worked badly. This resulted in hot and stale air in the room.

The staff was friendly and we got to check in at 7:30 a.m at arrival, although check in normally start at 3:00 p.m.

This is a good hotel for families as we would like to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederikshavn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jutlandia
Hotel Jutlandia
#5 of 16 in Frederikshavn
200 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Viking Aqua Spa & Wellness
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
#7 of 16 in Frederikshavn
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BB-Hotel Frederikshavn / Turisthotellet
BB-Hotel Frederikshavn / Turisth...
#13 of 16 in Frederikshavn
31 reviews
19.7 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#1 of 4 in Skagen
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Frederikshavn
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic The Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic The Reef

Address: Tordenskjoldsgade 14, Frederikshavn 9900, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Frederikshavn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Price Range: £114 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic The Reef 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic The Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Stena Line Frederikshavn Hotel Frederikshavn
Scandic Stena Line Hotel Frederikshavn
Scandic The Reef Jutland/Frederikshavn, Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing