We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny and SUPER noisy but new”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tiny and SUPER noisy but new”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The rooms are not very well isolated. You can pretty much hear everything that goes on next door and in the hall and in the street (truck deliveries at 5-6 am).
On the pro side the rooms are new and fairly clean.
The rooms are small and the bathroom is tiny. You almost have to back in to use the toilet :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    50
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
23
64
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here overnight in order to catch the Oslo ferry in the morning. I didn't like the website which insisted you pay fully in advance, but it was overall OK. The receptionist when we arrived was a middle aged male (different to some of the other reviews); he was perfectly friendly and helpful. Location is good, althrough there's not a lot in Frederickshavn to do late on a Wednesday night, there are a number of restaurants easy walking distance from the hotel but all of them are set up to cope with large groups, rather than smaller & nicer. Our 2 rooms were both fine, no smells, WiFi was fine, breakfast was good. No complaints

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the car park; quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveller1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altea, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I have not been this humiliated and embarrassed ever in a hotel. I had booked the hotel and pre-paid through Mr. Jet web site. When we were going to check out the woman at the desk claimed that the room was not paid. In front of other guests she made me look like I was trying to get away without paying. I had the receipt with me and wanted to show it, but she had no interest in it. I was made to pay for the hotel again. Now I have to go through the pain of getting reimbursed by somebody..........This woman should now work in a service profession, she would be better off in a vault or an archive where she would not have to encounter people at all.

It is recession in the rest of Europe, but in Denmark it is obviously not a time when customers need to be cared for.

Congratulations to this hotel that has so much business that they can treat guests like dirt!

The same woman wanted to put me and my partner in separate rooms when we checked in. I am sure that she would never do that to a straight couple!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ulf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frederikshavn hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This hotel is just off the main shopping street but is far enough away not to be bothered by any noise. We arrived early on Saturday afternoon to find the shops still open and just a few people milling around. If you have come here to shop, you need to get here before 2.00pm on Saturdays as this is when the shops close (supermarkets stay open longer). They do open on Sundays for a few hours only. The hotel itself is well presented in reception with free coffee for guests. The room itself was well presented, relatively modern and clean. The tv had some channels in english (although the programmes were from the 80's). My only problem with the room is that the bathroom is too small. It is a wet room in effect with a shower, toilet and tiny sink. The sink is too close to the toilet, so anyone of any size will find it difficult to sit on the toilet and to wedge themselves into the gap before the sink interrupts your space. Anyone wishing to use the mirror needs to do so before anyone takes a shower as it steams up and the extractor is worthless unless you keep the bathroom door open. The breakfast was good, as it was buffet style with a selection of beverages, rolls, cereals, yoghurts, cold meats etc. The disappointing experience of this hotel is the rude manner in which the older receptionist dealt with our checking out of the room. Although we had paid for the room in advance, she insisted on scanning our bank card again!!! When we questioned why she needed to do this she said they needed to ensure the room was paid for. When we said we had already paid and what would happen if we were double charged, she said we would have to ask for a refund??? Surely this is not our responsibility and put a dampener on the end of our trip especially as she was so rude in front of other guests who were also waiting to check out. Upon arriving home, we have been charged twice for the room and will now need to be making a formal complaint in order to get our money back!!!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The best I can say about the hotel is that its location isn't bad, the rooms are attractively modern in their design, though small, and they are kept reasonably clean.

My wife and daughter and I were in Frederikshavn for a week (so my daughter could compete in the local soccer tournament), and stayed in the Herman Bang based on Tripadvisor reviews for the whole week, so we got an in-depth perspective.


First the smells: We are non-smokers so of course if you smoke this issue may not apply to you, but we asked for a non-smoking room and were given one on the non-smoking floor. The hitch is, the rooms are over-heated (according to several of my daughter's team-mates, as well as our own experience), so the only way to not feel like you're in a Sauna (or a Steam-bath if anyone has used the room's shower recently) is to open the windows. That would be fine, except that our first room was directly over the back-door of the hotel, where everyone downstairs goes out to smoke. Also, we were a few windows over from the fire-escape where all the staff on the "non-smoking" floors go to take their smoke-breaks, so one way or another, there was an almost constant stream of smoke coming in our window. To top it off, once during our stay, somebody dropped a lit cigarette into the disposal-bin over by the fire-escape break area, setting all the accumulated butts into a rancid, smoldering fire with a cloud thick enough to make a SWAT-team happy. Since we really dislike cigarette smoke, these circumstances meant we were constantly struggling to keep from being sweated or smoked out whenever we were in the room. 
We held-off asking to move, but after we'd been there a few days, we realized that the constantly open window and smoke were obscuring the faint but distinct smell of sewage, which built up into our room whenever the window was closed for any length of time. Again, checking with other tournament-goers, we found we were not alone in detecting this, but others only had it in the bathroom while in our room it seemed to be strongest near the bed! When we asked, the manager did move us promptly, and though our new room was still hot, and was over the busy shopping street with all the noise and passing smokers there, compared to where we had been, it was a great relief, especially in that it had a fan which covered a lot of the noise and reduced the need to open the window besides.
Unfortunately, not everybody was as helpful as the manager. To be clear, the majority of the people working there were very nice and did there best to help whenever they could, but the younger woman on the desk-staff had an incredibly snide, impatient and officious manner, giving the impression of barely managing to tolerate intrusions by guests on her time. The older woman on the front desk was lovely, and the man was nice, but the younger woman gave unhelpful, condescending (and often inaccurate!) replies to practically every question asked of her. 
Just two examples:
When I asked for help catching a bus to the soccer fields on our first day there, she actually laughed in my face saying that they were quite close by and that I shouldn't want a bus. In fact, they were four kilometers and a good 45 minute walk from the hotel for someone in the best of shape, not to mention it was raining much of the time and my wife had a sore ankle. Even when I persisted, the advice she eventually provided was still next to worthless since she seemed to know practically nothing about the tournament, which is a pretty major event in that it doubles the town's population for a week every time it happens. Another time, after my wife tried to gently remind a pack of children running and screaming in the halls at 23:30 at night that others might be trying to sleep, and mentioned at the desk the next morning that no-one had answered the phone when she tried to call down when the children didn't stop, she was scolded like a child herself, by the same younger-woman desk-manager, for not leaving it entirely to the management. She may be very efficient, but she did not make a positive impression on us. 


  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perrydigm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed over before taking the boat from Hirtshals, which is a 40-minute drive. The hotel is situated off the main street, however still it is quiet enough for our taste.
The breakfast was very good with freshly baked rolls, and there was also lot of fresh fruit.
The room itself had enough room for our staying one night, but for longer stays the bathroom would have been too small for our use, it was extremely well planned.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed one night at this Best Western hotel. Nothing really memorable. Small clean rooms, fair interior, spartan bathroom, boring hallways. For the price, it is reasonable, but to give it a five star rating is probably over the edge. Decent breakfas buffet. Having said that, a hotel like this in the Frederikshavn city is an excellent money saver and starting point to take day trips to the wonderfull Skagen at the top of Denmark. Best Western Herman Bang is just 8 mins. walk from the Frederikshavn train station from where a beautiful 35 min train ride takes you to Skagen (rent bicycles there to get around), trains runs from early morning to late evening. The hotel prices in Skagen may be double that of those in Frederikshavn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordic_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederikshavn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frederikshavn - Soemandshjemmet
0.1 mi away
Scandic The Reef
Scandic The Reef
#1 of 16 in Frederikshavn
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jutlandia
Hotel Jutlandia
#5 of 16 in Frederikshavn
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Frederikshavn
72 reviews
19.6 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#2 of 4 in Skagen
269 reviews
11.6 mi away
Aalbaek Gl Kro
Aalbaek Gl Kro
#1 of 1 in Albaek
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Herman Bang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Herman Bang

Property: Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Address: Tordenskjoldsgade 3, Frederikshavn 9900, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Frederikshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Herman Bang 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang is the oldest hotel in the city of Frederikshavn. The hotel has 53 renovated and refurbished rooms in different categories. THe hotel is situated in the heart of the city close to shopping, restaurants, harbour and the train station. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Herman Bang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Herman Bang Jutland/Frederikshavn, Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing