We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!!!”

Moby Dick Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 121 Restaurants in Frederikshavn
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Frederikshavn, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super!!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Went with a friend, and got the most delicious 3 course dinner I've had for a long time :-)
Super nice food, nice service minded waiters who told us what each course was, and great service. And not expensive either.
Can recommend this to all!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ViviAnnSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    39
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Had higher hopes”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This resturant had high grades from Tripadvicer so our hopes were set high. The first expression is that this is a really nice place. But when sitting down you notice that its a mix och a really nice place but the interior is IKEA. The staff is friendly but something is missing. Good food and the price is a bit high for what you get......

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stefan_reser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

moby dick doesn't look very impressive from the outside. In fact, looks a bit like a shady pub or bodega. But step inside and you are entering a very cozy restaurant with excellent and friendly service. We were a party of three Chinese plus an infant (also Vhinese) and we needed a quick meal before catching the ferry. The waiter was absolutely friendly and accommodating and made sure that would get three very good courses in time. All in all, Moby Dick is a very good restaurant

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hulubulu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“My strongest three dots I gave on Tripadvisor.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

House wine, white was excellent and red very good.

We were twice for dinner. The first time everything was perfect. The second time (Monday) one of us asked to get biff roasted medium. He got it well done. After few minutes the waiter came with new dish with biff roasted medium. Vegetarian dish was very good the first time.

Conclusions: Second time some were not satisfied. That is definitely good restaurant and I will gladly go back but not on Monday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krzysztof F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husavik
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Big surprise in a small town”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I was recently traveling through Frederikshavn in Danemark. This a ferry town. The centrum is lovely and by accident I went into this restaurant. And I got the best seafood that I have had in years. On the menu :
Fyldt rødspætte
Kr.229,- DKR
Med rejer, asparges, små nye kartofler samt hummersauce. Or in english: flounder with prawns, asparges, new cooked potatoes and lobster souce.
If the fish is as good every day as I experienced then this restaurant s worth visiting. And the portion was more than expected.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigurjon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moby Dick Restaurant also viewed

Frederikshavn, North Jutland
Frederikshavn, North Jutland
 
Frederikshavn, North Jutland
Frederikshavn, North Jutland
 

Been to Moby Dick Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing