We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the best japanese restaurant in Europe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karma Sushi Frederikshavn

Karma Sushi Frederikshavn
Reserve with
Karma Sushi Frederikshavn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 114 Restaurants in Frederikshavn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Karma Sushi is a chain of sushi restaurants in Denmark with high quality fusion sushi. Karma Sushi is located in Copenhagen, Aarhus, Aalborg and Frederikshavn.
Nord
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just the best japanese restaurant in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is just the best japanese restaurant I have ever been, and I have been to a lot in different european countries... the meals were amazing, and you can choose between many different kind of sushi and fancy japanese starters, presented on a very design menu with pictures. The presentation and the plates were artistic, the fish was simply outstanding and even if you are really used to japanese food you will make nice discovery. I was with my japan-addict boyfriend and he totally shares my enthusiasm. The decoration in the restaurant is really nice, real "japanese" style, not fake asian-style. The service was extremely good, nice waiter, fast and helpful with the menu. Even the choice of beverages is really good.This place itself worth the trip to Frederikshavn.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CeriseDuNord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cooma
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sushi, Snail speed service :-(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Geez, I've never been so irritated by a restaurant like this before. I've been to many places around the world and have dined in many restaurants before including ones in Japan (a million times), but this restaurant's performance is so exceptionally poor and good. The food was excellent, the crunchy avocado rolls were super delicious and original, yet the speed of service was so ridiculously slow that it really drove me mad. It took them a good 30 mins to bring us our drinks, and another 20 mins for the entree to arrive (50 mins after order), then there was a 40 min wait until they finally brought the really well presented food to our table (1.5 hrs!) ...but guess what, they forgot the ginger and wasabi and so we had to wait for another 5 mins for them to arrive. At one point, I just wanted to throw my empty entree dishes on the floor to let the anger out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ai b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
“Superb sushi creations at a high price with indifferent service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

There is no doubt the sushi at Karma is superb. There is quality and originality and presentation to spare. But the price is too high and the service during my visit was uneven to the point of being comic. It appeared that the restaurant is chronically understaffed. Moreover, the space was far too large and dark and the sushi chef worked behind a bar out of the sight line of most of the diners. For the prices charged, Karma has to do better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arhus
1 review
“Best sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Sushi that taste different. Quite expensive - but comparing to the quality, all worth it. My wife and I, were satisfied with the omakase menu and a bottle of whitewine. Went there on a saturday night and no wonder it was difficult to get a table for 2. We were seated for 2,5 hours because of the menu. Excellent experience!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jens Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great sushi, but at a price !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Superb sushi and great service, but the most expensive sushi restaurant I have ever been to.
If you are after a little snack, perhaps not so bad but a filling meal will cost 1000kr if you have a decent appetite.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skyline-lm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karma Sushi Frederikshavn also viewed

Frederikshavn, North Jutland
Frederikshavn, North Jutland
 
Frederikshavn, North Jutland
Frederikshavn, North Jutland
 
Frederikshavn, North Jutland
Frederikshavn, North Jutland
 

Been to Karma Sushi Frederikshavn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing