We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, clean and modern hotel, basic rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Kolding

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandic Kolding
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Kolding
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service, clean and modern hotel, basic rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed for a few days at this Scandic in July on business and on the whole I was pleased with my stay. Service was excellent and the hotel generally is a nice modern one catering more for families rather than businesses. Food/drink was good and surprising value for Denmark as well.

Only downside is the rooms, particularly the bathroom was basic at best. Not the best beds but not bad by any stretch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank getheurban_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Front Office Manager at Scandic Kolding, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Hi Getherurban_Traveller,

Thank you very much for your review here at TripAdvisor, I really appreciate that you have taken your time to comment on your stay here at Scandic Kolding.

I have read your comment, and during the month of July, we have a small a la carte menu, because we have a large summer buffet. Mostly because of the a large number of families visiting the hotel. The rest of the year the menu card is more for business people.
Thank you for the nice comment about the staff and the service, we are working hard to keep this
level.

One again thank you for the time you have taken to write this review.

Sincerely,

Maria Forsberg/ Front Desk Manager
Scandic Kolding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    117
    73
    22
    9
See reviews for
84
50
14
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed for 3nights on our Danish trip. The room was nice and the really good airconditioing made the nights really pleasant.

There was alot for the kids a playroom downstairs and outside and a welcoming present. The location is excellent for Legoland, and the hotel sells the tickets.Takes about 30minutes to drive to Billund. Also not far from the city of Kolding and shopping at the storcenter. Parking is free and plenty of space.

Ate at the restaurant once. Food was good and lot to choose from. A separete childrens buffet also. Breakfast had alot to choose from but really basic hotel breakfast. The sauna is turned on if you wish to use it and got to use it all by myself after a long day of legolanding

Would defintely stay again and recommend for familys. Pleasantly surprised by this Scandic

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antsa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Front Office Manager at Scandic Kolding, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Hi Antsa123,

Thank you very much for your review here at TripAdvisor, I really appreciate that you have taken your time to comment on your stay here at Scandic Kolding.

We have a lot of families visiting our hotel during the summer, and we try our best to become children friendly. We are glad to hear that you have noticed the small extra things we are during for our youngest guest.

Thank you for the recommendation, we hope to welcome you back other time.

Sincerely,

Maria Forsberg/ Front Desk Manger
Scandic Kolding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our family stayed here for one night. We had a superior room. The room was big and airy. Very clean and beds comfortable. Quet room. Air conditioning made the room good to sleap white outside was very warm. The reception workes well and staff was friendly. It is childfriendly: there is welcome present to child, the child bed is good, there is also at the reception a chair that the child can see to the reception and playarea.

We also choose to eat here from the buffet and it was good value for money. Also out child liked it!
The breakfast was good. Not so special, but we had all we needed here to start the day.

All together a pleasant stay. We recommed this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minttiFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Front Office Manager at Scandic Kolding, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hi MinttiFinland,

Thank you very much for your review here at TripAdvisor,
We have a lot of family’s visiting our hotel during the summer, and we try our best to become children friendly. We are glad to hear that you noticed the small extra things we are during for our youngest guests.

Thank you for the recommendation, we hope to welcome you back another time.

Sincerly,

Maria Forsberg/ Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stopped by this hotel to spend the night during a long roadtrip from germany to sweden, the hotel was very nice, clean, and modern. there was a big play area for children at the basement, a really fast internet connection and specious rooms! the breakfast had a little variety but of a good selection!

Room Tip: If you have children id reccomend you to take those rooms with two wall beds, children will enjoy sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MishyMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Front Office Manager at Scandic Kolding, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi MishyMu,

Thank you for the time you have spend on this review, eventhought you just had one night here at the hotel.

I hope we can welcome you back, on the way back from your vacation.

Sincerely,

Maria Forsberg/ Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We arrived late met by friendly staff and a nice clean reception area. The minute we stepped off our elevator we realized we had made a mistake. The smells coming from the carpet were awful. We thought things must get better in our room.Wrong. Our room was worn and dirty. Our bath towels had an odd odor and we had to clean our feet after walking across the floor to get into bed. JUST OUT OF THE SHOWER.
The bed was comfortable once we got used to the odd odor.
The breakfast buffet was adequate. The coffee was (better left unsaid)
If you are looking for a nights sleep that will cost you around 1400sek and don't mind odd smells this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimilouwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Front Office Manager at Scandic Kolding, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Mr. Mimilouwho,

First of all, thank you for the comment here at TripAdvisor and for the nice compliment about the friendly staff.

I am truly sorry to read that you have had a bad stay here at our hotel with smells in the hallway and in our room. I wish you had contacted the Front Desk, so they could have done something about it or moved you to anther floor.

Regarding the coffee maker, I have had our F&B manager, contact the supplier for the coffeemaker. It’s important for us, that our guest leave Scandic Kolding with a nice impression.
Please contact me at maria.forsberg@scandichotels.com , I have some more question to you about your stay. I hope to hear from your soon.

Sincerely,
Maria Forsberg/ Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolding hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
436 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Scandic Kolding is situated in the outskirts of Kolding, the access from the highway is very easy and the location is just in the middle of the industrial area. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, from the moment you step in, you feel at home and the sweet, friendly and very service minded girls in the reception make you feel very welcomed. The rooms are nice and new and the restaurant serves very tasty food, the value for money is great and I hope that I will have a possibility to visit your hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Front Office Manager at Scandic Kolding, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi JeLundgren,

Thank you very much for your review here at Trip Advisor, I really appreciate that you have taken your time to comment on your stay.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Scandic Kolding, and to hear about your appreciation for our newly renovated interior and the location of the hotel.

Once again thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay, your good review is passed on to the relevant staff, and we all hope to welcome you back next time you get the chance of visiting us here at Scandic Kolding.

Sincerely,
Maria Forsberg/ Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linköping
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Me, my husband and his 2 kids we were 2 nights in the hotel. One day for spending the whole day in Legoland, whisch took us ap. 30 min by car to get from this hotel. The price is good, comparing the other hotels close to Legoland. The rooms were though pretty small, cuz when you put 2 extra beds, the room was full. The breakfast buffe was really tasty and good, you could choose from sweat (pankakes with nutella) to bread, cereals, tea/coffee, everything you wish for. And of course pulver-scrambled egg, which is not my favourite, but always you get full in your belly after eating breakfast.
I want to thank the ppl who work there - cleaning lady and the stuff from reception, cus i lost my watch in the room, pretty expensive, and after calling them, they sent me back the watch back to my home. Thats really honest and great!
I recomend this hotel, cus of the prise and close location to Legoland. Minus for size of the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Front Office Manager at Scandic Kolding, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi XX,
Thank you very much for your review here at Trip Advisor, I really appreciate that you have taken your time to comment on your stay.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our location in connection with your trip to Legoland.

I understand your concerns about the room size. For your next stay I would recommend you to book one of our superior rooms with bunk beds which leaves more floor space. If you still have your concerns I would really appreciate if you send me an e-mail, about what we could have done better for your family back in July. In this way I could make some changes for next summer. My e-mail address is maria.forsberg@scandichotels.com

Once again, thank you very much for your review and recommendation of the hotel, and thank you for staying at Scandic Kolding during your visit to Denmark.

Sincerely,
Maria Forsberg/ Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolding hotels
4.0 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 10 in Kolding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
2.8 mi away
First Hotel Kolding
First Hotel Kolding
#2 of 10 in Kolding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kolding Hotel Apartments
Kolding Hotel Apartments
#6 of 10 in Kolding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Saxildhus Hotel, Milling Hotels
2.4 mi away
Comwell Kolding
Comwell Kolding
#3 of 10 in Kolding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.6 mi away
Zleep Hotel Kolding
Zleep Hotel Kolding
#7 of 10 in Kolding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Kolding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Kolding

Property: Scandic Kolding
Address: Kokholm 2, Kolding 6000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Kolding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Kolding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Kolding 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Kolding Hotel Scandic Kolding has an ideal location on Jutland near the city Vejle, only a 30 minute drive from Billund Airport.The Scandic Kolding hotel is easy to find by turning off at exit 63 from the highway. When you stay at the hotel, you have easy access to Kolding's popular sights, such as Trapholt art museum. Don't miss a visit to LEGOLAND, located 35 km from the Scandic Kolding hotel. Facility Hotel Scandic Kolding is a comfortable choice for both business and leisure travellers. When you stay with us, you can work out in the gym or relax in our hotel sauna. Enjoy a delicious dinner in our on-site restaurant, Gefion, and get a good night's sleep in our comfortable hotel rooms. We have a large car park where all hotel guests park for free and we offer wireless internet throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Scandic Kolding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Kolding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing