We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right opposite Railway Station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Kolding
belgaum india
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Right opposite Railway Station”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The best part of the hotel is it is right opposite the railway station. We just had to drag our luggage to the hotel. The hotel is old but quite well maintained. The reception staff was very helpful. There was a small confusion with regard to our reservation but was sorted out without much fuss. The breakfast was quite good with lot to hot variety. The rooms were small but well maintained. The floor creeks because of wooden floor but well carpeted. The best part was the free snacks and coffee/tea in the lobby. Overall a nice hotel and recommended.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the front side where you get view of the railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashokraonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    73
    49
    15
    9
See reviews for
30
39
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

There are plenty of parking spaces outside the hotel and the hotel is also directly opposite the railway station, so taxis are always available. You can buy a parking voucher at the hotel reception.
We were greeted at Reception by a very nice woman who gave us lots of information about Kolding and the history of the hotel. Our room was very spacious and comfortable.
The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the main shopping area and there is a very nice lake to walk around close by too. We were only in Kolding for an overnight stopover but I would recommend this hotel and would use it again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the station side of the hotel as thats where any night time noise will c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Słupsk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I found a very good deal on booking.com and decided to spend a night at this hotel on way from Legoland to Copenhagen. Hotel (building) is old but personel very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast - very good in restaurant located in basement. Dinner Restaurant is placed in next door building but it closes at 22.00.There was no carpet in the room (typical scandinavian), very old and tired bathroom and furniture, comfortable mattrases. Wifi slow. Hotel is located in front of railway station so it is a little bit noisy at the morning. Parking on the street, payed extra 08.00-18.00.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

First of all: the location oppsite the railway station and the 5 minute walk to reach the pedestrian street are the biggest asset together with the very friendly and helpfull staff at all levels; receptionists, the attendants at the breakfast, the cleaning staff etc.
You can easily see the hotel is old, and renovation is becoming more evident, but the atmosphere, the nice lobby and the caring for the quests overcomes the small shortcommings, like TV set with Polish menus, lack of a plate or two in the breakfast room.
So if I were to visit again this hotel would on the top of the list. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesper_Copenhagen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Gorgeous old place, firm beds, opening windows, creaking floor. No sound of the trains over the square. We had room 226 and were so tired that the noisy heater (that was set on 3.5 and could not be turned off) bothered us for only 5 mins before we slept! Reception was smiling and cheerful. Offered directions to free parking so we could move the car. History in photographs along many halls. Breakfast buffet served on level lower than serviced by lift. Shower had bizarre control / tap system mounted on ball joint!

Room Tip: Sunrises over train station (summer 5.30 a.m.) Maybe choose another aspect or close curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
261 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Saxildhus in Kolding is an old hotel opposite the train station.
It is in the proces of being renovated, but I got an old room on the top floor , which was the same as 5 years ago. The staff are helful, but when you have to park , please ask for correct instructions, because the the meter at the parking just round the corner is only in danish.
The room and bathroom was clean and warm ,the place of the tv was a bit strange, just round the corner, so you couldn't wath it very well from then bed. In the morning I could smell the breakfast in my room.
Value for money, I don't know, I paid a corporate rate which wasn't cheap.
For good food go to Tapas restaurant Over Aaen , next to the river.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acdourlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed at Saxildhus for a couple of nights on a business trip. It is an old-school hotel with heavy furniture, thick carpets and heavy metal keys ;o). Quite the opposite of the usual efficient business hotel style. Lots of historic pictures on the walls from the 50's and 60's where the hotel was a well known bakery / café.

Location is good and the staff were kind and friendly.

I enjoyed my stay there - value for money is good and it was a welcome break to experience the old historic building compared to a new glitzy airconditioned hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolding hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 10 in Kolding
954 reviews
0.0 mi away
First Hotel Kolding
First Hotel Kolding
#2 of 10 in Kolding
566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kolding Hotel Apartments
Kolding Hotel Apartments
#6 of 10 in Kolding
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zleep Hotel Kolding
Zleep Hotel Kolding
#7 of 10 in Kolding
57 reviews
2.8 mi away
Scandic Kolding
Scandic Kolding
#3 of 10 in Kolding
320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comwell Kolding
Comwell Kolding
#5 of 10 in Kolding
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding

Property: Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding
Address: Jernbanegade 39, Kolding 6000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Kolding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Kolding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxildhus Hotel Kolding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing