We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Kolding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Kolding
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked the hotel when we were in Kolding visiting a friend and visiting Kolding Castle. There was three of us in the room, my wife and I and our 11 yr old and still plenty of room. I was a little worried about parking, but there was a public over-night parking lot less than a minute walk from the hotel and a 15 minute parking lot directly in front of the hotel. While the hotel is showing its age a little, it was well worth it, coffee cake and tea when we arrived and great advice from the fron desk. It is only a very steps from Kolding Castle. The breakfast was quite large, more American style and European style, with a wide variety of foods--several eggs and meat options, many breads choices, cheeses, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingconroys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked for one night at the Saxildhus Hotel as we were visiting Koldinghus Castle for an exhibition on contemporary silversmithing. The hotel is located just a couple of hundred meters away very near the centre of Kolding. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the room was good value with a charming four poster bed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the castle side will be quieter but with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel is located just across the railway station.
Nice and welcoming atmosphere and staff when coming in. Free fruit
You notice that this is an old building, but the room was nice and clean. Comfortable bed, desk, two character and a table. Bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. Soap, but not any other bathroom product. Shampoo, toothpaste etc can be bought in the reception long with drinks and snacks.
The railway station is just across the street. Free wifi and nice breakfast.
All in all: basic, but still good Value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourist75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Even if a bit old style, the hotel got everything needed, the services that a business man may ask for are all available. Personally the only suggestion I would like to give would be to change the shower curtain into a more modern one.... I am pretty sure it should not be a huge investment and the bathroom image would dramatically benefit of it. Personnel extremely kind.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chemmi214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Saxildhus Hotel is an charming, old hotel that has kept it's grace through the years. With a bright and relaxing lobby, big rooms, soft beds and a wonderful breakfast, this hotel was exactly what we needed on our way through Denmark.

Saxildhus is centeraly located in near the railway station and shopping area. The location could not have been better, and we were able to enjoy the charming streets of Kolding with just a couple of minutes walking from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amansun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booket a 3 star hotel but really this feel like a 4 star one. We got a huge room with a view to the little square in front of the rail road station. The hotel is practically at the nice sweet lazy Kolding car free walking streets in it`s centre.
And service was up to task as well, with helpful staff that helped us with maps and a reasonable upgrade.
On the down side must be mentioned that our room was quite dusty and people with asthma might struggle a bit.
But we will return on the journey back to Norway.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Kolding as a city is a gem: small, historically interesting, clean, great shops, a great palace. This hotel is centrally located, close to train station, lake, historic palace, and shopping. Rooms ckean, spacious, comfortable. Great breakfast available. On premises restaurant has excellent food and service (although we didn't like paying 30 Kroner for tap water). Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Even though our room faced train station, we had almost no train noise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolding hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 9 in Kolding
1,142 reviews
0.0 mi away
First Hotel Kolding
First Hotel Kolding
#2 of 9 in Kolding
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zleep Hotel Kolding
Zleep Hotel Kolding
#7 of 9 in Kolding
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kolding Hotel Apartments
2.8 mi away
Scandic Kolding
Scandic Kolding
#3 of 9 in Kolding
402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comwell Kolding
Comwell Kolding
#5 of 9 in Kolding
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding

Address: Jernbanegade 39, Kolding 6000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Kolding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Kolding
Price Range: £88 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxildhus Hotel Kolding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing