We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Kolding
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“charming and affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel has a wonderful staff and is a charming older hotel. It's location close to the train station makes it ideal as a stopover. The breakfast is the best we have found in our many trips abroad! Excellent choice and we would definitely go back! I would suggest to the hotel that the duvets in summer is a poor idea but most of Europe seems to have gone to them year round!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabby48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    70
    48
    16
    8
See reviews for
29
37
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen
Level Contributor
375 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is located just opposite the train station in the center of the town. It is the oldest hotel in Kolding, but well maintained. The lobby makes a modern impression but when you go to the rooms or breakfast area, you can see it is an old hotel. Still it has a fresh impression. The rooms were well equipped, maintained and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The only disadvantage I could find is that you could hear people walking through the alleyways.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normandic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

On our way from Holland to Copenhagen we stopped at this hotel having booked by internet. What a great place this turned out to be. Very very friendly staff and clean spacious comfortable accommodation. The hotel is in Central Kolding and there is parking nearby. The train station is quite close too.

We arrived early evening and left early morning but from what we saw of the city it appears to be quite a clean quite place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny-G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Kolding isn't much of a destination city; it's a weigh station, a place to gather oneself before continuing on one's journey. It's nice that the charming Saxildhus Hotel is there to provide relief for weary travelers. The grounds have an air of early 20th century, jet-setter (or the closest thing to a jet-setter that Denmark had in the 1920s) relaxation. If The Overlook Hotel from Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining" were smaller, ghost-free, and in Denmark, I'm sure it would look just like the Saxildhus Hotel. I stayed here for two non-consecutive nights in August. Despite the fact that we were in the dog days of the Scandinavian summer, the evenings were pleasant and no air conditioner was needed (as has been suggested here). The staff were very friendly and informative, and the free breakfast was more than enough. For those who use public transportation, the proximity to Kolding Station (right across from the hotel) will be a plus. The only drawback to the hotel that I can think of is the large disparity between the two rooms that I stayed in. While both were clean, the first room in which I stayed (on the first floor) had rather tired decor with a tired carpet, while the second night's room (on the second floor) had parquet floors and was much more nicely equipped. For the second room's quality, this hotel deserves four stars; for the first room it deserves two. So, a score of 3 out of 5 seems fair.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms, and try to get a room which overlooks the street and not the back alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akkrum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We (family of 4 with two kids ages 9 and 10) stayed in this hotel for two days after being relocated by AirBNB. We had a family room on the forth floor, which was very nice. Clean and cosy, with the old beams of the roof visible and view on the train station.

The service level is excellent for this type of hotels, and they are extremely child friendly. There is free tea and coffee, free fruits, two playing rooms for (smaller) kids, coupons for free snacks for the kids, free cakes to go with your afternoon tea, very nice breakfast buffet, and the personnel at the front desk will do virtually everything for you. The hotel is opposite to the train station and to the town centre, which has a lot of restaurants (do NOT go to the restaurant that is attached (but not part) to the hotel : the food is awful).

If you want a good, clean and child friendly family hotel, this is your pick!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hzzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was a cute hotel with a great location, but it was way to hot not to have an air conditioner or a fan. The bathroom was a bit small. Otherwise the hotel was good. The rooms were pretty and the proximity to the train station was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Do not expect the room is renovated and modern facilities. But the hotel is clean, the crew is polite and the breakfast is good. In addition, we have access to PCs that we could use, coffee and tea all day and cakes and fruit. This additional service makes the stay extra good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolding hotels
0.0 mi away
First Hotel Kolding
First Hotel Kolding
#2 of 10 in Kolding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 10 in Kolding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kolding Hotel Apartments
Kolding Hotel Apartments
#6 of 10 in Kolding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zleep Hotel Kolding
Zleep Hotel Kolding
#7 of 10 in Kolding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comwell Kolding
Comwell Kolding
#3 of 10 in Kolding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.8 mi away
Scandic Kolding
Scandic Kolding
#5 of 10 in Kolding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding

Property: Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding
Address: Jernbanegade 39, Kolding 6000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Kolding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Kolding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxildhus Hotel Kolding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing