We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotell in that area. ”
Review of Hotel Koldingfjord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Koldingfjord
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kolding
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

One of our favorit hotel in DK. Nice clean hotel, beautiful outdoor area. Nice resturant, with outdoor table. Nice view from resturant over the fjord. Extremly nice personell. Clean and big room. Beautiful buildings. Indoor spa/pool. I recomend this for everyone.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Alf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear AlfR
Thank you for your fine review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it and we thank you for choosing to stay with us when you are in Denmark. If you would like to visit one of the historical and beautiful towns of Denmark we can recommend you to visit Christiansfeld the next time you are in the area. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards Louise S. Nielsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel buildings and settings are undoubtedly beautiful but they lead you to expect a high quality of rooms and service which we have not benefited from, in spite of a rather pricey room rate. We booked a family room which turned out to be in none of the historical and charming buildings presented on the website but rather a conventional, dull conference centre type hotel block set apart from the main hotel and with none of the glorious views promised. Furthermore, given the purported high class hotel that it is, the service at reception was less than friendly or professional and the restaurant was understaffed in high season leading to long waits to order, for cutlery and finally for food. All in all, a genuine disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear NK
Thank you for your review of your stay. We would like to inform you that none of our family- or double rooms are facing Kolding Fjord. It is also noted under the description of our different room types. We have noted your comments about your experience in the front office and restaurant and have informed the managers. If you are planning to visit us again, we would like to inform you that we have 2 queen size rooms with connecting doors with view to the Fjord. This can be booked as a family room if you can stay 2 persons in one queen size bed. We hope to bid you welcome again soon. Best regards Louise S. Nielsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The main part of the hotel is beautiful and the views are amazing.
Unfortunately our room was in the annexe, set away from the main building and overlooking the access road - so a little disappointing. The room itself was large and clean, there was also free wifi throughout the hotel.
Breakfast was very nice and we were able to sit outside with lovely views over the fjord

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank LizK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear LizK
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are very pleased that you in general enjoyed your stay. We would like to take the opportunity to inform you that none of our family- or double rooms are facing Kolding Fjord. However if you are planning to visit us again, we would like to inform you that we have 2 queen size rooms with connecting doors with view to the Fjord. This can be booked as a family room if you can stay 2 persons in one queen size bed. We hope to bid you welcome again soon. Best regards Louise S. Nielsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous setting on a fjord at the edge of a small forest. Junior suite with a large balcony on the second floor facing the fjord was fabulous except for the lack of air conditioning and mediocre bathroom. But note that it was a single large room, and not a suite. Breakfast buffet was large and quite good. This is not even close to a 5-star hotel, but we still loved it.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Swampscotian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Swampscotian
Thank you for your review of your stay. Just for your kind information the Hotel Koldingfjord is a 4 star hotel and the room type Junior Suite indicates that it is one room instead of two interconnected rooms like a standard suite. Nevertheless we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to bid you welcome another time. Best regards Louise S. Nielsen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Beautiful buildings and views. Quiet and peacful surroundings. I needed a second night when the hotel was full. They contacted me as soon as a reservation was cancelled, so I was able to re-plan my trip in plenty of time. A short drive from Billund, so when flying in there, this is a good place to overnight. Very clean, and a great staff. Rooms vary from smallish to gigantic, but the small rooms were very comfortable for my wife and I. It's a ways from town, but there is a good dining room and cafe there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DClarkPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear DClarkPE
thank you very much for taking time to write this fine review of your stay. We are very pleased that you enjoy our sorrundings, rooms and staff. It sounds like you have been here many times and tried our different kind of room types. If you need any new suggestions for entertainment or small trips in the area you are always welcome to ask the receptionist who would be glad to help you get the most out of your stay in Kolding. We hope to bid you welcome again soon.
Best regards Louise Nielsen and the front office staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel Kolding Fjord used to be a sanatorium forchildren suffering of tuberculosis. But no worries - the hotel neither looks nor feels like a hospital. Instead it almost looks like a castle placed right on the fjord-banks with a stunning view across. Especially breakfast and lunch buffets are excellent. Rooms could be bigger though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrAnkerstjerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear ChrAnkerstjerne
thank you for taking your time to write this review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you found our builing and surroundings satisfactory. If you appreciate large rooms we can advice you to book one of our junior suits the next time you are planning a trip. Have a nice day.
Best regards Louise Nielsen and the front office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a hotel for those that appreciates a calm place in very nice environment. It is at the end of the road a bit outside of the center with no walking distance to other restaurants. But the in-house restaurant is good so you will survive. There is a minor forest behind the hotel and the see in front. Thumbs up for very good breakfast and free wifi.
On the down side is a very slow elevator and credit cards are charged extra, but I can live with that and this will be my first choice also next time in Kolding.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selutfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise N, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Koldingfjord, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Selutfn
Thank you for your review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the calm surroundings and your stay in general. We hope that you had the chance to take a nice walk in the forest by the hotel. Otherwise you might consider it if you are planning to visit the hotel again. You might also mention that you prefer to stay in the main building or in one of our 2 mansions if you want to avoid the elevator. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards
Louise S. Nielsen and the front office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolding
13 mi away
Comwell Kellers Park & Spa
13.3 mi away
Munkebjerg Hotel
Munkebjerg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Vejle
357 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hindsgavl Slot
Hindsgavl Slot
#1 of 10 in Middelfart
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Haraldskaer
3 mi away
First Hotel Kolding
First Hotel Kolding
#3 of 8 in Kolding
672 reviews
4 mi away
Scandic Kolding
Scandic Kolding
#2 of 8 in Kolding
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koldingfjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koldingfjord

Address: Fjordvej 154, Kolding 6000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Kolding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kolding
Price Range: £107 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Koldingfjord 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are only few places where scenery, architecture and atmosphere come together to create a perfect experience. Hotel Koldingfjord is one of those rare places. Our charming buildings used to be a sanatorium. Placed in the forest, with a magnificent view over the water, it was a vitalising and inspiring place to gain strength. Today, Hotel Koldingfjord is not only a place to gain strength. It's also a place to gather strength. Hotel Koldingfjord has 132 rooms, international conference facilities with room for up to 300 persons, as well as room for parties and events for up to 375 guests. Hotel Koldingfjord further includes a wine cellar, cafe, bar, pool and sauna, a large sun terrace, outdoor serving on a terrace, marked trails along the fjord and in the forest, as well as a unique view over Kolding Fjord. Regardless, whether you want to pay us a visit via work for courses/meetings or as a private guest for a stay or a party - we promise you that we will do our upmost to give you an once-in-a-lifetime experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Koldingfjord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kolding
Koldingfjord Hotel Kolding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing