We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Koldingfjord Seaside Hotel and restaurant.”

Restaurant Koldingfjord
Ranked #27 of 121 Restaurants in Kolding
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kolding Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Koldingfjord Seaside Hotel and restaurant.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was once a hospital for children with tuberkulosis, at that time certain death. Yoe can still se the semicircular area where they spent most of their time in beds outside, asd fresh air was the only known cure.
This has been converted to a fantastic restaurant/hotel with a spectacular view of Kolding Fjord, and the hotel's own pier. If you come by boat, you can have your dinner served aboard. Food is very good, frensh inspired, but with both feet solidly planted in local tradition and local products. During summer they offer "coffee", which should be read as more than 20 variants of coffee, same goes for tea, with a multitude of cakes and other bakery. Naturally served outside if weather permits, or inside if the tricky Danish weather shows its chilly side. Worth a detour. I have visited the place many times as I live close by, and quality is always on top whether You order full-size dinner, or a cup of coffee.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pkr6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    6
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
166 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings . . .”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I had really, really been looking forward to going to a lunch at Koldingfjord Hotel. It is a most beautiful building and the location is unbeatable - just stunning! However, after having been there I have mixed feelings about it. The location and service was great, but the food was of a somewhat mixed quality. The main problem was the main course. We were a group of people who had ordered in advance, and lucky for me I had a vegetarian which was excellent. However, most people had meat with well . . .meat. Quite frankly, these days very few people are charmed by the prospect of eating meat without any salads and hardly any greens. A bit of a shame, because everyone was complaining. Given that the vegetarian course was great (so they do know how to cook vegetables), and that the starters and desserts were fine (not outstanding, but perfectly fine) it was a very mixed experience. Added to that the drinks (sodas) were rather expensive. Another complaint is that the inside of our dining room was cheap and very conference-like, not charming at all. Luckily we had a great view! With a few changes it could be a great place, but for now I think I'd just recommend it for a place to get a coffee while going for a walk in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indiaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
721 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“not good as the first time”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Ate here and had the 4 course menu with wine. I was very impressed when I came here in July, but this time something was missing. The staff was efficient, but not enthusiastic. Witht eh prices charged for the food it would seem that the standard should be higher.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cafe was no good”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a review of the hotels cafe! We could not dine the in restaurant as it was fully booked on the night of our stay.

We had the burger and a steak. The burger bun was very dry and the burger had weird tasting spices added to it. The steak was low quality meat dispite beeing priced at around 60 USD. The server was very inexperienced and kept making awkward mistakes such as serving us the wrong things and putting a bottle cap back on a beer that he had opened by mistake while saying "dont worry - we dont usually do like this".

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RolfT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food at a high price”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Had dinner with family. Lots of local produce and good ingredients, but served cold and missing sauce (in the case of the steak). Wine - don't look for anything below 375kr ($70). The view from the restaurant is superb if you get a table at the window or on the terrace.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedersl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Koldingfjord also viewed

 
Kolding, South Jutland
Kolding, South Jutland
 

Been to Restaurant Koldingfjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing