We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Kolding
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kolding
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I am a regular visitor for business. Location is good (close to restaurants and right across from station). Restauarant and bar not bad and reception staff friendly.

Rooms however pretty basic. No control over heating and cooling, uncomfortable beds and tired furnishings.

Fine for quick business trips, but dont come here on vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

Super central location, quiet rooms. They were nice. Clean, but not spotless clean.
Great breakfast, many choices.
The only negative thing was that air condition is being switched off at 11PM, so at night it became too warm to my and my collegues opinion.
Otherwise a great place to stay as for business trip. For families... it can be a bit impersonal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Located in walking distance of most places this hotel offeres a warm welcome for a stop over. Im not sure of the going rates of hotels in Denmark or Kolding but guess at 925 B&B and 95 overnight parking ! if its value its decent. The receptionest was very helpful , the room I stayed in was adaquet , clean and fresh with wifi included. The food and restaurant looked good but I didnt partisapate on this visit, the bar staff were friendly and all in all a decent place, if your budget stretches !!

Room Tip: Request an upgrade..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Terrible service – way too expensive.

I can unfortunately not at all recommend this hotel – very poor service. Staff didn’t know ANYTHING at all about simple questions regarding Kolding; this was both when arriving and departing. Not even advise if any restaurants were open, all they could inform was that the hotels own restaurant closed 6:30 pm due to no guests.

Newly build uncharming hotel. Terrible sleep due to lots of noise from the corridors at night.

Very basis rooms - dull and boring!

Booked a room for 2 adults and a child – paid it in advance, but when checking out we were charges an extra fee for the child. Dull terrible service yet again – no smile AT ALL, not even a simple “good morning” just “how do you want to pay for the extra bed”.

We did not bother to try the breakfast even thought we had paid for it.

"Double bed" is NOT a double bed, just two single beds put together!

No mini-bar or refrigerator!

Full price for our room stated DKK 1.795 or 1.995 (+ 200 for an extra bed), even thought we received a better rate by paying in advance this hotel sooo lacks or service and charm.

Never coming back that’s for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love-2-travel_2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

If your are planning to go to Kolding, and if it is your first time, and don't want to stay far from downtown, then I will suggest to go to first. It is in middle of the downtown, just opposite the railway station, so your commute will be easy. Rooms are very small, and facilities are not up to the mark, they have very less staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amit_singh_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Good location. Rooms are small but clean. I did complain twice about a previous guest spilled coffee or something on the carpet and in 5 data nobody came to clean it. What's up with the shower curtains? I hate those things since he shower is small it comes and sticks to you. Put a door or something. Staff was nice. Nothing special but would stay here again if needed. Breakfast buffet is good.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I spend one night at the First Hotel Kolding during a recent trip to Denmark.
The Hotel is perfectly located close to the Central Station, is easily accessible by car and several restaurants and shops in the city center are only a 5 minute walk away.
The building is quite modern, the service was friendly, breakfast was fine, the room was perfectly clean. The bed are a bit soft but very comfortable. Furthermore the hotel offers free wifi which was working reliable in my room and the public areas.
All in all great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcnicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolding hotels
3 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 8 in Kolding
1,162 reviews
2.8 mi away
Scandic Kolding
Scandic Kolding
#2 of 8 in Kolding
420 reviews
0 mi away
Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kolding Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Comwell Kolding
Comwell Kolding
#4 of 8 in Kolding
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zleep Hotel Kolding
Zleep Hotel Kolding
#6 of 8 in Kolding
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Kolding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Kolding

Address: Banegaardspladsen 7, Kolding 6000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Kolding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kolding
Price Range: £74 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Kolding 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Kolding is a wonderful and stylish hotel in Kolding. We offer 132 rooms and we take great pride in providing a relaxed, professional, and personal service. Just across First Hotel Kolding you will find the train and bus station. If you arrive by car, we offer our own locked car park. First Hotel Kolding is located by the banks of the Castle Lake within easy walking distance of the castle, Koldinghus. Visit the Trapholt Museum - the only museum in Denmark with modern art, applied art, design and furniture design - and the Kubeflex-summer house designed by Arne Jacobsen. And LEGOLAND(R) is located only 35 minutes away from the hotel. In many ways First Hotel Kolding is also the 'Literary hotel': That is, our neighbour is Kolding Library with whom we work closely together with. For example, we use he library when we arrange conferences, and here we also have our author venues, and other events. Our restaurant, Restaurant Berg, is named after 'the great son' of the city, Christen Berg, and all our rooms are in some way inspired by our passion for literature. As our guest we are happy to assist you with booking tee time at one of the golf courses close to us, provide you with information on what to ses while visiting our historical city. We also have special wellness offers for you to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your First Hotel Kolding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing