We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Kolding
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kolding
KRS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Modern hotel with an excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had two nights at this hotel on our summer vacation trip. The hotel and its rooms are fairly new and the hospitality is superb. Location is also very good if you are planning to visit the attractions nearby, like Legoland or Givskud Zoo.

The only thing I'd say is a bit of a downside, is the relatively simple breakfast - not the best of selections.

All in all a very nice hotel which we would definately use again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BO_krs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    186
    125
    51
    28
See reviews for
82
205
19
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We did not stay here but I want to commend the front desk person who provided extraordinary hospitality for us on July 9, 2013. We had a long layover between trains and assumed there would be lockers to store our bags. There was no storage so my wife asked the front desk person at the hotel across the street from the train station. She helped us solve our problem for which we are very grateful. We were able to walk about the city unencumbered Unfortunately our plans did not include an overnight stay in Kolding at the First Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was my third stay at First Hotel Kolding and it is a very good business type hotel with helpful staff. Last week, I was very grateful to one of the waiters, Frederik Trondhjem, who brought my bag that I had inadvertently left in the restaurant to me as I was returning to my room. This is the sort of excellent customer service that guests appreciate i.e. going beyond the call of duty. Thank you Frederik!

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank World_City_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

In May 2013, my boyfriend and I (in our late twenties) stayed at First Hotel Kolding for two nights. We were quite satisfied with our stay. Our room (202 – Superior Room) was spacious and clean with a modern design while the bathroom was functional. The view was less spectacular though with the room facing a roof top - and as there was only was one set of curtains, we had to close the blackout curtains as soon as we wanted some privacy. Also, the ventilation in our room did not seem to work and it got quite warm at night which was rather uncomfortable.

The hotel is located opposite the railway station, not far away from the city center. There might be some free parking nearby; however, we chose to use the parking garage at 105 DKK/night for safety reasons and there were plenty of available spaces. Internet at the hotel was free; however, it was quite confusing to make it work and we gave up after a while.

The staff was friendly and breakfast was decent.

First Hotel Kolding is convenient for a business stay or if you need a nice place to sleep. However, if you are looking for a more special experience, we would probably recommend something else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_us_worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Nice hotel in the centre of Kolding, where you will find nice service, simple and clean rooms and a prime location at the train station. An average hotel for travellers and business people but not recommendable as an experience in itself.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just back from a short break n Kolding and Billund (LEGOLAND). I have to say , we got a brilliant deal for this hole through Travelrepublic.com (£65 a night for a double room with breakfast for 2 adults). First impression of the hotel was excellent as it is directly opposite the train/bus station, there was a friendly receoptionist, cold fresh water and glasses at reception (it was a hot day) , a hand sanitiser machine and a basket of complimentary handcreams/bodylotions at reception. Our room was basic with 2 single beds, a desk , kettle, shower (no bath), again there was a complimentary bag of lotions/bath fizz which was a nice touch and lots of teas/hot chocolates also. If I had known the weather was going to be so good I would have asked for a room with a balcony and paid extra! Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of warm and cold choices and delicious coffee. I would recommened this hotel and we got great value for money. I did see the room rates are normally 1995kr a night which I think is very expensive and I would not pay that to stay here. We stayed in the zzz sleep hotel at billund airport the last night so we could spend theday in LEGOLAND before an early flight, this cost nearly twice as much and didn't even have a kettle in the room!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelMulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed there for two nights for a business trip in February . Staff are friendly and room was clean. The shower is basic but functional. Breakfast was fine given things are very expensive there. The best is location - right opposite the train station where yo can catch a train to Copenhagen or other areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolding hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 10 in Kolding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milling Hotel Saxildhus, Kolding
0.4 mi away
Kolding Hotel Apartments
Kolding Hotel Apartments
#6 of 10 in Kolding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zleep Hotel Kolding
Zleep Hotel Kolding
#7 of 10 in Kolding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comwell Kolding
Comwell Kolding
#3 of 10 in Kolding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.8 mi away
Scandic Kolding
Scandic Kolding
#5 of 10 in Kolding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Kolding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Kolding

Property: First Hotel Kolding
Address: Banegaardspladsen 7, Kolding 6000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Kolding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kolding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Kolding 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Kolding is a wonderful and stylish hotel in Kolding. We offer 132 rooms and we take great pride in providing a relaxed, professional, and personal service. Just across First Hotel Kolding you will find the train and bus station. If you arrive by car, we offer our own locked car park. First Hotel Kolding is located by the banks of the Castle Lake within easy walking distance of the castle, Koldinghus. Visit the Trapholt Museum - the only museum in Denmark with modern art, applied art, design and furniture design - and the Kubeflex-summer house designed by Arne Jacobsen. And LEGOLAND(R) is located only 35 minutes away from the hotel. In many ways First Hotel Kolding is also the 'Literary hotel': That is, our neighbour is Kolding Library with whom we work closely together with. For example, we use he library when we arrange conferences, and here we also have our author venues, and other events. Our restaurant, Restaurant Berg, is named after 'the great son' of the city, Christen Berg, and all our rooms are in some way inspired by our passion for literature. As our guest we are happy to assist you with booking tee time at one of the golf courses close to us, provide you with information on what to ses while visiting our historical city. We also have special wellness offers for you to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Kolding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing