We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for our stay... even with a few issues” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Hotel Kolding

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
First Hotel Kolding
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kolding
Boras, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect for our stay... even with a few issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

It's probably the best chain in Scandinavia and the hotel was modern, fresh, and felt very comfortable. The rooms were cleanish (I found some old socks from a previous guest, and the vacuum doesn't always reach the corners), but bright and cherry. It has the expected Scandinavian feel. The children loved the rooms.

I was surprised that not even the "superior" rooms had a Sofa. We had hoped we could have a room where we could sit as a couple while the children slept... but that was not to be.

Breakfast had outstanding quality ingredients, even if the staff looked as though they wished they were somewhere else. And the one day the breakfast room had someone who seemed like she enjoyed her work (and did know what she was doing), she certainly didn't care about her guests.

One receptionist shouldn't have even been employed by a service business (come on Mr Manager... surely you know that)... but then the other receptionist was just wonderful and made all the other issues disappear.

I'd definitely stay again... I liked it overall... but I did feel let down by the staff.

Location was great... we had two days in legoland, and there was plenty to do in Kolding for a family as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqTravUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    184
    123
    51
    28
See reviews for
82
205
18
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
233 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

Nice design hotel, good beds and for Scandinavian standards big rooms. The breakfast was impressive with fresh bread, fresh fruits and nice selection of cheese and meat. Downside however was that the room was very hot and didn't have a fan or airconditioning. As we slept on the street side (lots of noise) we couldn't sleep with the windows open. Therefor: ask for a garden view room!!

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The room temperature
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moramare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolding hotels

Chch, NZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2007

I stayed one night at the First Hotel in Kolding. This was my second stay in this hotel this year and I have enjoyed it both times. While they had no record of our Expedia booking they honoured the booking and sorted things out quickly. This hotel is new and in a very good location in the centre of the city. The rooms are good size by Scandanavian standards and the bathrooms are very good. While the hotel is across from the bus station, it has good sound proofing although it does have windows that open - something I like. The breakfast is very good. We paid around E80 which is very good value compared to what we have paid when staying down the road in Billund.

  • Liked — Bright, clean and new
  • Disliked — No iron in room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ChchCantab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2007

On a motorcycle trip from UK to Norway through mid Europe to France and back to the UK, Kolding was a convenient stop off point. The hotel has little idea how to deal with bikes and bikers. In particular the full rate for parking was expensive even though there was space for three or four bikes as against one car. It is quite a noisy hotel and if you like privacy in your bedroom, ceiling to wall glass without net curtains means either living in a goldfish bowl or having the curtains drawn. Having said that, it served its purpose, was very clean and perfectly acceptable. It just lacks the warmth and welcomeness of other hotels I've stayed in on the trip.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling-biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2007

Very small rooms, no extractor in bathroom, no a/c despite high temperatures. \maid service did not include clearing cups or t bags. lots of noise from corridors at night

Kolding is lovely town with lots to see & a lake in the middle of the town. Museum also well worth visit

Helpful?
Thank flowerpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2007

I am a semi regular business visitor to Denmark and Sweden and started using First Hotels last year. This new property in Kolding is very good with a location that can not be faulted directly across from the train station. The rooms are very clean and modern, the staff friendly and efficient, and the hotel is a cut above other properties in Kolding City. The rates are very reasonable for Scandinavia, but I'm sure this will change as its popularity grows!

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolding hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 10 in Kolding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saxildhus Hotel, Milling Hotels
0.4 mi away
Kolding Hotel Apartments
Kolding Hotel Apartments
#6 of 10 in Kolding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zleep Hotel Kolding
Zleep Hotel Kolding
#7 of 10 in Kolding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comwell Kolding
Comwell Kolding
#3 of 10 in Kolding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.8 mi away
Scandic Kolding
Scandic Kolding
#5 of 10 in Kolding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Kolding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Kolding

Property: First Hotel Kolding
Address: Banegaardspladsen 7, Kolding 6000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Kolding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kolding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Kolding 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Kolding is a wonderful and stylish hotel in Kolding. We offer 132 rooms and we take great pride in providing a relaxed, professional, and personal service. Just across First Hotel Kolding you will find the train and bus station. If you arrive by car, we offer our own locked car park. First Hotel Kolding is located by the banks of the Castle Lake within easy walking distance of the castle, Koldinghus. Visit the Trapholt Museum - the only museum in Denmark with modern art, applied art, design and furniture design - and the Kubeflex-summer house designed by Arne Jacobsen. And LEGOLAND(R) is located only 35 minutes away from the hotel. In many ways First Hotel Kolding is also the 'Literary hotel': That is, our neighbour is Kolding Library with whom we work closely together with. For example, we use he library when we arrange conferences, and here we also have our author venues, and other events. Our restaurant, Restaurant Berg, is named after 'the great son' of the city, Christen Berg, and all our rooms are in some way inspired by our passion for literature. As our guest we are happy to assist you with booking tee time at one of the golf courses close to us, provide you with information on what to ses while visiting our historical city. We also have special wellness offers for you to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your First Hotel Kolding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing