We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Lappee
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lappeenranta
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for one night, so can only review the absolute basics. The room was clean and quite spacious. The bathroom had a bath with shower.

The beds were comfortable enough, but we had problem sleeping because of the heat.. The room did not have air-conditioning (hence the 3 stars instead of 4)! So might wanna take that in consideration if staying here in the summer heat.

Breakfast on the other hand, was perfect for us. Something for everyone, a good spread of cold cuts and cheeses, but also cereals and warm breakfast. I liked especially the pancakes :)

Check-in and check-out was quick and efficient, and the staff we encountered were really nice.

Overall, a good basic hotel if you're passing through the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindalex85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lappee, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Customer,

thank you for telling about your experinces. Good that you liked i.e. the breakfast.

I am little surprised when you tell that we don't have air conditioning. We have it actually with the cooling system. Maybe there was problem with using it? Next time please let my staff to help you with it.

Sorry anyway!

Katja
hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed one night during Easter holiday. The location of the the hotel in great, and the convenient free parking is a nice bonus. When you walk out, you are in the centre, and the staff was very helpful in showing instructions.
We room was a bit small, but clean and cozy, and the bed was very confortable. The view was horrible though, only ongoing construction site with scuffoldings etc, but we didn't mind since we arrived late and left early.
Breakfast buffet was big and had loads of choises, and we ate well.
The staff was very friendly and we will be coming back whenever staying in Lappeenranta :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatjaJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lappee, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Katja, "my Kaima"

thank you very much for writing so nicely about us. It is always so nice to hear that everything was ok and Customer is satisfyed and willing to return some day :)!

You are welcome!

Katja
hotel manager

ps. summer time is perfect in Lappeenranta - try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was my first time to Lappeenranta and my friend and i decided to stay in Sokos Lappee. Before making any reservation i decided to check the reviews submitted by fellow travelers and, after seeing mostly positive reviews, decided to book it.
I even requested the hotel for a room with specific view to the street and, in less than 24 hours I got their feedback from the hotel's reception confirming such room. Great! Fast and client-oriented staff!
Upon arrival fast check-in, all required information was provided. The guy at the reception( a mature man) was really helpful when asking some directions.
We were given room 218. Simple spacious room, with minimum decor but cozy, and really clean.
For those needing ironing, there's all inside the closet, stocked minibar, flat tv and small but well equipped bathroom. Nothing to complain at.
Nice sleeping with comfortable beds and clean clean linen.
Great location- walking distance to all points : shops, restaurants, attractions, lake…
Breakfast was good: variety and freshness of product is something of importance and the hotel succeeded here. I would recommend some more fresh fruits, and that would be just perfect, as per the meat, sausages, dairy products, bread, and the rest it's good. Really good!
To take into account there's a swimming pool available, so don't forget to take the suits to chill out in the evenings.

Important: Lappeenranta is located in the border with Russia (Vyborg, Saint Petersburg) so most of the tourists in town, as well as in the hotel, will be Russian.

Enjoy your trip but remember- A successful holidays depends 90% on you.. Have a great day!!

Room Tip: room 218 is not a bad choice. you'd have view to the church tower and the park and square in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RARS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lappee, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Customer,

we are especially delighted by your writings. Thank You!
And I promise: we will do our best to keep this status also in the future.

Welcome again!

Katja
hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

location is OK, breakfast as in all SOKOS hotels, nothing special. My room was too small, so if you have luggage with you, you need to figure out where to put it. There are a lot of Russian in the city and in the Hotel, so do not surprise if you feel like been in Russia. not recommended to stay there more then 1 night, once again too small rooms

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zaza64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lappee, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Zaza,

we have few small rooms and then we have little bit bigger rooms... The building is old and we have different sized rooms. You must have been in the smallest one.

If you put a mention to the reservation "Please, room in 2nd / 3rd floor" you'll get a bigger one.

Have a nice day!

Katja
hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

In a good position of city, with everything we need in about 5 minutes by feet. Perfect service, good cleaning, good breakfast.
Everybody friendly and helped us for everything we asked (information, taxi, restaurants).

If you want to spend a good holiday in Lappe this is your hotel (they have free wifi, free sauna and free parking).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GiorgioS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markku M, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Giorgio,

me and my staff were SO pleased to hear this feedback.
Thank You and welcome again!


Katja Pellinen
hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I was there for one day in September 2013. Quite nice room, very friendly reception (help us to park our bicycles), nice swimming pool and sauna. Good location. Good choice of food on a breakfast buffet, but as usual in Finland no service - nobody meet you, nobody greet. you, nobody clean your table.
I see the review that coffee and tea in a room is not for free, we didn't see this information and didn't pay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eugenia_Danilikhina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markku M, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Customer,

thank you for your opinion about our hotel. It's nice that you liked many things.
At the breakfast unfortunately there might be some times too rush and waitress will not pick up dishes soon enough. We understand how important it is to communicate with customers also at the breakfast. Our own stafff is good at it I think. This time for some reason we did not succeed at it and I am sorry for it.

We try to get better - I promise! Welcome again anyway!

Best regards
Katja, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Location is great and the front desk very helpful.Stayed here for 8 nights and the linens were changed once!One day I took out the pillowcase so they can put a clean one and all I got was the I wrong side of the pillowcase!(I could have done that)Another 3 days they just replace the towels fix the bed like a kid and nothing else(dirty classes,pink soap on the sink and floors untouched!I complained to the front desk and they send complimentary drinks but the situation did not improve and did not bother complaining!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Pipitsa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markku M, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Lappee, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Pipitsa T.,

I am very sorry about what you have been through at my hotel. This is not the way our service should be. Please send me you contact information and I will recearch this case more closely. My email: katja.pellinen@sok.fi

Best regards
Katja, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lappeenranta
0.4 mi away
Scandic Patria
Scandic Patria
#1 of 6 in Lappeenranta
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cumulus Lappeenranta
Cumulus Lappeenranta
#5 of 6 in Lappeenranta
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lappeenranta Spa
Lappeenranta Spa
#3 of 6 in Lappeenranta
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Holiday Club Saimaa
Holiday Club Saimaa
#1 of 1 in Rauha
584 reviews
20.8 mi away
Imatran Kylpyla Spa
Imatran Kylpyla Spa
#1 of 4 in Imatra
445 reviews
20.9 mi away
Cumulus Resort Imatran Valtionhotelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Lappee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Lappee

Address: Brahenkatu 1, Lappeenranta 53100, Finland
Region: Finland > South Karelia > Lappeenranta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lappeenranta
Price Range: £93 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Lappee 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Lappee is situated in the heart of Lappeenranta, near shopping possibilities, restaurants and get-together places. It is also only a walk away from the harbour. The hotel comprises of 209 cosy rooms with air conditioning and cooling system. There are seven meeting rooms with AV equipment and Internet access. The hotel also boasts Italian type dining restaurant Casanova and a comfortable Bar Café Piccolo. In addition there are 5 saunas, a 14-meter pool and a little gym in the sauna department. Welcome to be served by us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Lappee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing