We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Interesting”

Chateau Guillaume le Conquerant
Book In Advance
More Info
US$569.10*
and up
Private Tour Rouen Bayeux and Falaise Day Trip from Rouen
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Falaise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The birthplace of William the Conqueror in 1027. free access to the baileyadmission to the keeps :adult : 7,5 eurochild (between 6 and 16): 3,5 eurofamily pass (18 euro) : 2 adults and one child full prices provide you free entrances for all others childrenExhibition "Anglonorman castles, Conquerors and Builders" from May the 14th to october the 16th 20111066 is the beginning of an epic for the Normans and the most famous of them all, William, born in Falaise.
North, VA
Level Contributor
286 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

On this self guided tour you use an iPad mini they lend you to see how the rooms were originally furnished. I wasn't sure how hooky they use of technology would be and almost did bother with the tour, but I was pleasantly surprised at how interesting it made it. Make sure you have comfortable walking shoes on, there a number of steep stairways and really no alternatives for the handicapped. We figured we'd be there about 2 hours, but spent close to half the day. Make sure you find the ancient castle bathroom - it's not really well marked, so poke you head into open rooms that don't appear to be marked as part of the tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TIC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    175
    35
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
377 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Interesting Castle, plan on spending at least 2 hours.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

It is a shame that so much of the castle was damaged during World War II, but they did a nice job restoring a good portion of it. Plan on spending at least two hours there. We did not realize that Falaise was the birthplace of William the Conqueror.

If you have a problem with heights, be aware that when you enter the castle the flooring is primarily a glass floor where you can see into the floor below you. I am not afraid of heights, considering I used to skydive over 30 years ago, but the seeing the floor below was a bit intimidating.

The view from the top of the castle is quite beautiful. The 11th century "bathroom" was quite interesting.

The city of Falaise is very pretty. It is worthwhile taking a stroll through the old city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A surprise at every turn...”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We visited the Chateau on a soggy morning as it offered something different - and dry! What a nice surprise it was too - a nice town, with the venue easy to find and park near. A friendly welcome was followed by a well presented visit which utilised tablets and augmented reality, mixed with animations and information to provide an innovative and intriguing experience.

The renovated Chateau has been thoughtfully laid out with a variety of media and we had a really enjoyable visit. Even better, it had stopped raining by the time we left! Thoroughly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZakZapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dedicate a full half day at least”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We arrived at lunch time and were please with the free parking around the walls of the castle. First things first lunch. Now Failiase has one of the best boulangerie/pastisseries I have ever been in. The assortment is sooooo tempting. The food of the highest quality.

To the castle. Very inexpensive to get in and the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful and also tolerant of my bad, school-boy French. We were given a mini-tablet each (note not to share but one each) and these devices when aimed at time targets presented how each room might have looked decorated in the manner of the day. The "war-machine" models and tablet animations were a real bonus.

On t he way around in various rooms actors were beamed onto the walls.These actors were playing various characters from the period. What was really cool was that their presentations gave one an idea of the back-biting, politics and stupidity that comes with power sometimes - makes you think somethings just have not changed.

Anyway back to the plot. We eventually found our way to the top of the tower and enjoyed the view over the rooftops of Falaise. Lovely to see the old roof tops. On the way out we found the complete story of Guillaume's prep, planning and subsequent invasion, this was presented on very high quality story boards.

Don't leave your visit for a rainy day as the grassy area inside the outer wall (does that make sense - hope so) is a very pleasant place to be to eat your lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arny_Sacknusem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinus Iridium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Allow several hours for this”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Fantastic use of free ipad type tablets help you to visualise this how it would have been when in use. The tablet senses your orientation so moves the picture round as you turn, lining up with what you face.
There is a huge amount to see, all in fantastic condition, great views from the top. You'll need a good half day to see this properly, and could stretch out to a whole day.
The castle is a credit to Falaise, and if you are English and Falaise is a stop-off prior to returning by Ferry, consider booking 2 nights at this interesting town, to properly accomodate the castle.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EgoRonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau Guillaume le Conquerant also viewed

Tourlaville, Cherbourg-Octeville
 

Been to Chateau Guillaume le Conquerant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing