We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspired use of technology”

Chateau Guillaume le Conquerant
Book In Advance
More Info
US$568.48*
and up
Private Tour Rouen Bayeux and Falaise Day Trip from Rouen
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Falaise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The birthplace of William the Conqueror in 1027. free access to the baileyadmission to the keeps :adult : 7,5 eurochild (between 6 and 16): 3,5 eurofamily pass (18 euro) : 2 adults and one child full prices provide you free entrances for all others childrenExhibition "Anglonorman castles, Conquerors and Builders" from May the 14th to october the 16th 20111066 is the beginning of an epic for the Normans and the most famous of them all, William, born in Falaise.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Inspired use of technology”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

When I last visited Falaise 25 years ago the castle was a crumbling ruin. It has now been done up, given a roof and has allegedly authentic reconstructions added in a rather unattractive concrete. Entry is through an attractive new visitor centre with a bust of William who for some reason has ben given a large moustache. The keep now has a roof and inside are displays - at the moment telling fairy stories with amusing little tableaux. There is plenty to explore inside and out but the two highlights are the stunning views over the town to be had from the top of the tower and the imaginative use of technology in tablets and 'augmented reality binoculars' which show you how the castle looked in medieval times. Very clever and very helpful it is to. Children would probably love exploring this place but don't omit to go round the outside to get more fantastic views of it perched on a rock. The shop is ok but unlike other French castles has few decent books. They also need to make a path from the gate as the grass will get very muddy and slippy. Definitely worth the detour to see.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    177
    36
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Clever use of technology”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have to tell you firstly that if like me you have difficulty with stairs, you will not get full use of the chateau. Hubby tells me however that the view from the ramparts is spectacular, particularly some mediaeval ruins of the ancient chateau that avoided damage in WW2(Falaise was badly damaged badly in the war as it was defended, to the last, by Hitler Youth)
That said, I really enjoyed the chateau experience
The chateau has been sympathetically maintained/ restored and you get a really good feel for how the household lived.
The use of technology bit is via an ipad mini, how they depict life in the household in that era. Each area has a digital film show that envelopes you, gives you the atmosphere of the room at the time, so that the minimal furnishings are brought to life.
The main hall has its floor replaced by wonderful glass tiles: youd think that it would detract from the chateau, but the dimmed lighting and digital film show depicting how the whole household would move from place to place managing the estates, with trunks full of clothing silverware and furnishings, (and servants)
There is quite a big gift shop with lots of memorabilia, and a big carpark
The place is easy to find and Falaise is a nice town with some good restaurants and looovely chocolate shops

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North, VA
Level Contributor
286 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

On this self guided tour you use an iPad mini they lend you to see how the rooms were originally furnished. I wasn't sure how hooky they use of technology would be and almost did bother with the tour, but I was pleasantly surprised at how interesting it made it. Make sure you have comfortable walking shoes on, there a number of steep stairways and really no alternatives for the handicapped. We figured we'd be there about 2 hours, but spent close to half the day. Make sure you find the ancient castle bathroom - it's not really well marked, so poke you head into open rooms that don't appear to be marked as part of the tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TIC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
384 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Interesting Castle, plan on spending at least 2 hours.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

It is a shame that so much of the castle was damaged during World War II, but they did a nice job restoring a good portion of it. Plan on spending at least two hours there. We did not realize that Falaise was the birthplace of William the Conqueror.

If you have a problem with heights, be aware that when you enter the castle the flooring is primarily a glass floor where you can see into the floor below you. I am not afraid of heights, considering I used to skydive over 30 years ago, but the seeing the floor below was a bit intimidating.

The view from the top of the castle is quite beautiful. The 11th century "bathroom" was quite interesting.

The city of Falaise is very pretty. It is worthwhile taking a stroll through the old city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A surprise at every turn...”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We visited the Chateau on a soggy morning as it offered something different - and dry! What a nice surprise it was too - a nice town, with the venue easy to find and park near. A friendly welcome was followed by a well presented visit which utilised tablets and augmented reality, mixed with animations and information to provide an innovative and intriguing experience.

The renovated Chateau has been thoughtfully laid out with a variety of media and we had a really enjoyable visit. Even better, it had stopped raining by the time we left! Thoroughly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZakZapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau Guillaume le Conquerant also viewed

 

Been to Chateau Guillaume le Conquerant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing