We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel L'Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel L'Avenue
Ranked #3 of 4 Chantilly B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Nice outside area to eat, friendly staff who let us persist in slaughtering their language while ordering even though they spoke english. Far too many people switch immediately to english nowadays especially around Paris, thanks for letting us practice our French!

Food was good if a little pricey for what we got. Steaks were cooked as we had ordered, they even carbonisé-ed mine without getting snooty about it.

Service was reasonably quick. Chantilly is a nice area, only 25 mins from cdg, a must visit for the equine lover. The palace and gardens are forest are stunning.

Hotel L'avenue is a nice spot to stop for decent food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Rooms were clean,modern and comfortable but there was no hotel reception - we just had to go to the restaurant bar so were not really made to feel very welcome as it was very busy. Breakfast was fine on the first day - what you would expect for the price but on the second morning it was a bit of a shambles - they ran out of tea bags and so 2 or our party asked for hot chocolate instead and when it came it was luke warm milk with a few chocolate granules floating on the top!! Also there were no croissants - just bread and a few sad looking pastries. On the whole it seemed that they had not bothered much with us. Not the usual warm welcome we have experienced in other french hotels so on the whole would not recommend anyone to stay there and would not go back there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissiehodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

As previous review the rooms are modern and clean but if you are on the front it is very noisy due to the Hotel being situated on a very busy road.The free parking was a bonus and the situation is good,the restaurant food was very good.
How ever this is a restaurant with rooms not a hotel,there is no dedicated reception and paying the bill was at a squashed position at the bar.Breakfast is cheap and rightly so it was a challenge to get more than 1 cup of coffee and tea was served with tepid water one day and no English tea bags the next the whole experience was unsatisfactory and not worth it.

Room Tip: At the back if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife stayed one night as a convenient base to access CDG. Free parking is provided behind the hotel. The hotel is situated in a very busy area of Chantilly and with a room facing the street so it tended to be quite noisy. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant - there was not a seat vacant so it is very popular. The rooms are basic but very clean. Accessing the Wifi is a bit complicated as you have to register with the provider, but not pay. I give it 4-star rating primarily because of the very good meal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boffin111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Located on a busy street, the hotel isn't particularly quiet, but it is well looked-after and the staff, warm and friendly. The room is bland, but has the basics for a comfortable stay. It is a 15 minute walk to the chateau, which is well worth visiting although Les Tres Riches Heures are no longer on display.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaronVonCount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our hotel recommended this as the best place to dine in Chantilly for perfect French gastronomy.

The starters were fine. Not memorable. Just OK. For main course I had ordered duck with sauce. The meat was well-cooked from what I could tell, however sauce was poured over the meat slices instead of placing some to the side of the plate or in a separate dish. I normally love sauces, but there was so much of this over the meat, and it tasted so strongly of peppercorn, that I could not tell whether I was eating duck, chicken or turkey - it was a white meat drowned in pepper sauce. The sauce did not taste like anything created with care by a chef; it felt very much like someone in the kitchen had heated a ready-made bottle of pepper sauce.

My dining partner had ordered a well-done rib-eye steak. A small portion of it was cooked, the rest was seared on the outside and bright red on the inside. We tried several times to attract the attention of a waitress to have it rectified, but the staff seemed to be constantly serving drinks and food and seemed oblivious to us. Eventually, one definitely noticed me with my hand in the air, from the opposite end of the restaurant, however neither she nor any other staff came in our direction to see what we wanted. We gave up hope so he ate his chips and the part of the meat which had been cooked.
When a waitress finally appeared to retrieve our plates, she glanced at the amount of steak left on the plate and didn't have the courtesy to ask whether everything was all right though she did ask if we wanted dessert - or possibly she was astute enough to realise why so much food had been left. We declined dessert and asked for the bill. We waited at the table for some time but the bill didn't arrive; we then spent another few minutes at the door waiting for attention there.
I honestly wish we had gotten a take-away pizza from a wee place near where we had parked our car. It couldn't possibly have been worse than this experience. Wonderful French gastronomy? Not in our opinion. L'Avenue was a terrible disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Maximus099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in late May. The room was good with opening windows facing the main street (probably a falling hazard for children). It was clean and the bed comfortable. The decor was a bit dated and access is up a steep stair (no lift).
There is a good restuarant on the ground floor with a terrace onto the pavement. We ate there on two nights and the food and drink was excellent. The continental breakfast was very adequate!The staff are very helpful and some English is spoken.
The hotel has private off street car parking behind the hotel which is accessed via a key pad.
The hotel is within walking distance (20 mins) of the famous chateau and stables which are worth a visit. The railway station is also within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chantilly
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Du Parc
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chantilly
Hotel Le Chantilly
#3 of 7 in Chantilly
16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auberge du Jeu de Paume
Auberge du Jeu de Paume
#1 of 7 in Chantilly
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Campanile Chantilly
Campanile Chantilly
#6 of 7 in Chantilly
207 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Montvillargenne
0.7 mi away
Kyriad Chantilly
Kyriad Chantilly
#7 of 7 in Chantilly
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Avenue

Address: 3 avenue du Marechal Joffre, 60500 Chantilly, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Oise > Chantilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chantilly
Price Range: £66 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Avenue 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel L'Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing