We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domaine de Cyclone
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Le prieure(Ermenonville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Senlis(Senlis)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
5
9
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
9
2
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I chose this B&B based on trip advisor and warned my wife that it might be a little "different". It was a little hard to find and further from Chantilly than I thought, but we were going from Chateau Chantilly to CDG airport so the location was still perfect. First the positives: lovely home on a working horse boarding and training facility, the room was huge and nicely decorated. Mme Petitot was very nice and made a great breakfast in the country kitchen with a wood fire. It was nice to eat with several employees who were very personable and spoke good english (better than my limited French). The building has sections that date back to Joan of Arc, who is said to have stayed in the tower. I loved looking out the windows in the morning and seeing the horses and ducks walking around in the paddocks. The less than great: the house is just too full of stuff and kind of creepy. There is musty smell throughout. I understand that Mme Petitot's husband is very ill and the horse boarding, training and the huge house is just too much for one person. I would go back, as I found the place relaxing and restful. My wife, however, would not.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Racer042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

In the past 4 years we've spend several short holidays at domaine de cyclone. We fell in love with the place. But last spring/summer, we were disappointed. Everyone will notice the lack of serious care for this beautiful place. Look at the childrens playgrounds: everything is old, ugly, broken and unsafe. If we would have had kids, we won't allow them to play with this items. There was electricity on our lavatory tap. The kitchen is extremely dirty. Mme Petitot is - as always - very friendly, but seems tired. Such a pity! She needs a better cleaning lady and better help to keep her garden and parc. At this moment, we don't think the rooms are worth the price. We are sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eline14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

This place is amazing! The house is made up of three parts - the old ruined tower, where Joan of Arc is said to have slept, the middle part of the house dating from the 17th century and the end wing which was added in the 18th century (assuming I understood Mme correctly!) The house is a treasure trove, with collections of everything possible - from back issues of horse racing magazines, old dolls, all kinds of racing memorabilia, sauce boats, old postcards of the village and the chateau..... etc, etc. The guest rooms are delightful, light and airy with huge windows overlooking the grounds. All designed and decorated by Madame herself, with an obvious eye for colour and detail. All rooms except the green room are in the central wing of the house, the green room is in the end wing and is accessed via the breakfast room. We stayed in the green room, and didn´t hear anything at all from the rest of the house, perfect peace and quiet. Beautifully decorated with heavy french furniture, all very authentic. Good powerful shower and plenty of hot water, the bathroom is the size of your average living room.
In the centre wing, the beige and orange rooms are to the left and right of the main entrance, at the top of the stairs; the blue and yellow rooms are next to each other, accessed by a corridor running along the rear of the house. All rooms are on the first floor and look out over the front entrance onto the meadows where the horses are kept.
We stayed here in June, and every morning at breakfast there was a fire burning in the grate, to take the chill off, which made a lovely cozy atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious, with fresh orange juice, fresh fruit and yoghurt, cheese and ham, eggs if wanted, a vast array of jams and marmalades and various sorts of french bread and croissants, on some days brioche, on others pain au chocolat. And every day, a different set of crockery, sometimes matching, sometimes not, some old and hand-painted, a variety of teapots and eggcups. Doubtless none of which are suitable for the dishwasher, we found it all delightful.
We were lucky with the weather, and consequently spent every evening outside in the garden with cold white wine or cider, french bread and cheese - paradise!
Not to mention the fifty-odd horses on the property, scattered over various paddocks and in stables, my teenage daughter was enchanted!
Our hostess was perfectly lovely, and her English is certainly adequate for most situations. One evening she shared with us a bottle of champagne, pate de fois gras and her company - what more could one ask?
And yet, I agree it´s maybe not for everyone. Another person might describe the house as gloomy, cluttered - it´s a big house, the lights struggle to light up all the dark corners; what one person finds fascinating, another may find untidy. We, certainly, would love to return here another time.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
5  Thank tagarete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

The review by M. Gavzzzi is dead on. This is a very special place, but most definitely not for everyone. It is a miracle that it exists a mere 25 miles from CDG. Spoiled tourists need not apply--but those who love la France profonde will not want to leave. You need a good bit of French, although Mme. P has some English. We are very torn about even writing a review. We would like Mme to get some business, but we don't want the place to be over-run. May the ghost of Jeanne d'Arc, who slept in the domaine's tower, haunt anyone who attempts to tart it up.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akamother55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2006

The Domaine de Cyclone is a horse centre/chateau-mansion/B&B which on our recent July stay was for us one of the most authentic places we have ever encountered on our travels. Firstly, it is run single-handedly by Madame Petitot, a quiet spoken, enthusiastic woman who absolutely loves her home which she has been restoring for decades. (It was badly damaged both in WWI and WWII.) Secondly, it is old - right down to the 15th century tower, the ancient staircase with tiled steps, and the uneven wooden floors in the bedrooms. There is a cluttered and run-down feel to areas of the house, yet the bedrooms are prettily decorated, very clean, have up-to-date bathrooms, and look out at a paddock with majestic thoroughbred horses. Horses and horse racing are what this place is all about as the jockey jackets and caps and other race memorabilia which decorate the walls will attest. The location is in the small town of Baron, quite near Senlis and Chantilly, also not far from Charles-de-Gaulle International Airport.

This is first and foremost a working horse centre that happens to have five B&B rooms available. There is a relaxed and casual feel to the place, and we felt like welcome visitors to a thriving and purposeful community, where dogs greeted us, horses either watched us warily or stolled over to see if we had anything to offer them to eat. We came down to breakfast to find that the owner had made a small fire in the open hearth “to make the place gay” and breakfast itself was excellent - with freshly squeezed orange juice which was clearly an extra effort since our hostess had her forearm in a cast due to a riding accident. Our chats with Mme Petitot were in French, so we cannot say if English is spoken and/or understood, but surely people do manage to communicate somehow - we generally find.

Yes, the gardens could certainly be more neatly trimmed, but as we sat at dusk with our glasses of cider as night fell over this historic building, we felt that we were in quite a magical place. I am a little uncertain about posting a review about this B&B accommodation because while we loved it, it is possibly not for everyone. If you want fussy or elegant or everything “just so”, this is not for you. If you enjoy feeling as if you are glimpsing back in time, then perhaps you will enjoy this out-of-way B&B.

11  Thank gavazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews