We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the sea front but very cosy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Castel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Castel Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Close to the sea front but very cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is a very friendly and nicely run property. The staff are good, location excellent for both the sea front and restaurants. Room sizes are ok but the cosy option really means cosy. If you choose their cosy option it is just somewhere to put your head at night. For 10 euro more you get a much bigger room. A big plus is the shower. All are new and provide both a rainshower or hand held douche option. Perfect after a long walk or day at the beach.

Room Tip: Did see every room but the property is in a quiet street so you shouldn't go too wrong with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    190
    53
    18
    6
See reviews for
38
273
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Excellent short break, made to feel very welcome, the room was cosy as described very clean, as was the whole hotel, staff were very helpful, breakfast very good, can only recommend that you stay and find out for yourselves - we will be going back so hopefully that speaks volumes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Have to agree with the other reviewers. We also stayed in a Cosy Room. We did stay four nights, and I would go for a larger room, or one with a terrace, next time. The rooms are 3m by 3m, including the en suite.
The staff are the friendliest in France. Very nice people. We stayed during their busiest period and they were very attentive and helpful. They booked tables at restaurants for us, and pointed out the best beaches and days out.
The hotel is situated in a quiet side street, 2 minutes walk from the beach and town centre. There is no allocated parking, but we always managed to find a parking spot within 50 metres. Tip: pay for you parking. Some Brits risk it, but you could get towed away. It cost me €17 for four days.
All things considered, a very pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chimbonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night in August 2012. We decided to make a last-minute trip to northern France and booked this hotel on the day of arrival, after reading the good reviews on TripAdvisor. The reviews were spot on! The hotel is clean, comfortable and located a few minutes' walk from the seafront and shops of Le Touquet.

We stayed in a "cosy" room.

Pros:
- The staff gave us possibly the most friendly welcome I've ever experienced in a hotel; they spoke excellent English and also had a go at understanding my not-so-excellent French.
- The hotel was very clean and the beds were incredibly comfortable.
- The location is perfect; not at all noisy, but within easy reach of the beach and shops.
- We had no trouble finding somewhere to park on the street and it wasn't particularly expensive (€9 for two days)
- The bathroom was clean and the shower was good.

Cons:
- The "cosy" room really is cosy, certainly the smallest double room I've ever stayed in. We weren't bothered by this as we were out most of the time, but if you were spending more than one or two nights, you should consider a larger room.
- The walls are very thin. We had quiet neighbours and were considerate ourselves, however if you're a light sleeper or you want to make some noise yourself, stay elsewhere.

Overall, perfect for what we wanted - inexpensive, clean and well-located.

Room Tip: "Cosy" rooms contain a bed, a wardrobe, a desk and a WC/shower crammed into a very small s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Devon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We bracketed a week in Holland with stays at the Victoria one week apart. The Cosy Rooms were perfectly adequate and, as the staff pointed out, recommended for one night stops only. More than that and the compact dimensions might start to take their toll. But it is well done and is very convenient for the town. Air con would be a bonus and some resident noise can intrude but overall this is a good stop. We were there in late July and parking nearby on the road simply not possible so we parked on the front, in the main car park. Free after 7 and before 9 and given the squads of dour police reassuringly in evidence, perfectly safe.

Room Tip: A Cosy Room is what is says on the tin. They all have a massive bed in a small room but they do hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dicvarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We agree with other reviews that the location of this hotel is very good being just back from the sea front and very near to the bars and restaurants but in a quiet street. The rooms are designed to be the most economical with space that they can be, we had one of the bigger ones but it still felt on the small side. However the bedding and beds were of a very good quality and the room was very clean. The main hotel (staircase/ reception area) was quirky but not very welcoming if you wanted somewhere to sit out of your room. OK for an overnight stay but would not stay there for any longer and we also thought at around £90 a night, a little overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithandDeb h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

A mixed experience at Castel Victoria. The location is great. One road back from the beach front, and just down from the best shops and restaurants. If it is a mixture of cuisine and fresh air that you are after then you would probably find this place suits you well.
The hotel is also clean and the staff seem to be genuinely trying to be helpful. They were able to recommend and book nice restaurants too.

A few words of warning however:
1. The "Cosy rooms" are exactly that. Cosy. The toilet was less than one metre from the bed in our room and separated by a flimsy piece of wood. Manageable if you are husband and wife or best friends only!
2. We were told when booking in that "the parking is free for English cars" - odd I thought, but I was assured by a member of staff that he was sure this was correct. We returned to our car the next day with a parking ticket on it. Upon taking the ticket to reception I was simply told "But you don't have to pay it because they can't trace you..." This largely misses the point don't you think? It also made the price of the stay more expensive than the couple of pounds extra we would have paid for parking!
3. The breakfast is below par. Continental style but very limited choice. We had ham and cheese, and very little else.

Room Tip: Do not under any circumstances get on of the "Cosy" rooms! These are converted broom cupbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l1ttlem1ssf1nch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#1 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#2 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#10 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
#15 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#3 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castel Victoria

Property: Hotel Castel Victoria
Address: 11 rue de Paris, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a place where all the ingredients for a unique and different stay are there to please you.We created different atmospheres to suit all of your tastes and needs throughout the day.The Castel Victoria Hotel is out of the ordinary: prepare to experience France's first lounge hotel. Here, you will be welcomed in our discreet "Churchill" library lounge front desk, enhanced by a timeless "Chesterfield" sofa and cozy club armchairs. Welcome ladies & gentlemen to your "new world"!Your nights devoted to the perfect Zen moment25 rooms carefully embellished in a modern and design yet cocooning style, with sand, brick-red, ocean blue, khaki or chocolate tones.Influenced by the trend of conceptual hotels in New York, London or Berlin, bathrooms spaces have been cleverly integrated into the room, with a view to create a wellness and comfort area. If you need a space to relax, you can either sit in our library, enjoy our terrace or the Zen garden. If you feel like it, you can also hit the pool room or the Mood's Bar for a cup of tea, a glass of wine or champagne... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HRS and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hotel Castel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing