We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Boy - what an experience!”
Review of Le Village Suisse

Le Village Suisse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Oh Boy - what an experience!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had passed the 'Suisse' many times on our travels to Le Touquet and tried without success to eat and a couple of occasions. This time we managed to book a table.

What a treat. The food and wine we were served has to be in our top 5 for enjoyment, and I have eaten in many many restaurants. Its not the cheapest but what quality. Its not one of those pretentious places either where you get microscopic portions, real good quality food. Absolutely nothing to complain about at all and the setting was superb.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkySparky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    116
    39
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The food was delicious and cooked perfectly as requested. The appetisers before the starter and the pudding were just super. The trouble was making a selection as everything that passed looked delicious. Presentation was superb.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful alfresco dining”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Well positioned restaurant with option of inside or terrace dining. We enjoyed an excellent meal here. Expertly served by young professional French staff. The meal was exquisitely presented with amuse buche between courses. Cost about £40 per head with wine and sparkling water. very happy with our food experience here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“You will be in for a real treat here..!!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very worthy of its place in the top ten of Le Touquet. Do not be put off by the strange name in relation to what they do. Also do not be put off by the look of the building.
We had not booked and turned up on speck. First you have to climb the narrow small steps to the outside seating area which unfortunately was not open. Next into a small bar area inside, now at this point we were a little uneasy as it did not look like the fantastic experience we were hoping for. We need not have worried, when you go upstairs to the main restaurant it looks lovely with beautiful little touches.
We were seated by a very nice lady and handed menus. However being typical English we did struggle a little with the French only menu. We need not have worried as we were talked through the whole thing by our server. Although in this day and age and bearing in mind the whole place was full of English people you might expect at least one menu translated.
The food and tasters from the chef were amazing and we only ate from the €29 menu. Next time we might push the boat out and go for the €70 menu but I doubt it would be twice as good as the amazing food we had. I had salmon for starter which was sublime, followed by duck and strawberry sauce for main which again ticked all the boxes and to finish a quite amazing rhubarb tart (photo uploaded) the wines range from very reasonable to very expensive something for every pocket. I would not hesitate to recommend this gem to anyone. All in my party thought it was a fantastic evening

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Frumpsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Le Village Suisse a resounding ten out of ten.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

From the outside and looking up the steep stairs, the two ladies were concerned that the 2 men would be falling down them after a couple bottles of wine, but we persisted and went on up.

I believe the restaurant is usually well not for its terraced dining but as it was raining, so we went inside and we were glad that we did.

We were met with a very warm welcome and taken upstairs to the main dining room of the Restaurant is charming comfortable and well decorated in keeping with the building.

As none of the four of us are blessed with nothing more than GCE French the Maître d. translated the menu for us. There was a very good choice of Meat Folw and Fish.

The starter and main course were both without fault, as I am diabetic, so I had the cheese board to finish, the biggest cheese board that I have ever seen, my dining companions assured me that the rhubarb tart and creme brulee were excellent.

The service was excellent. The food was excellent the whole atmosphere and ambiance was excellent. We were not rushed at any point of the evening. The service was immaculate.

The price was in line with our expectations and give the Le Village Suisse a resounding ten out of ten.

To the management please introduce an English Menu, when we read the French only menu outside it almost put the ladies off going inside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidsmudgersmiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Village Suisse also viewed

Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Village Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing