We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location..but hotel needs modernising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Brilliant location..but hotel needs modernising”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel has, in my opinion, one of the best views in the world: over looking the wide and unspoilt sandy beach of Paris Plage. When the tide is out the sand stretches way into the distance, at high tide it can almost come up to your balcony. And it is because of this brilliant location that I keep coming back here and have scored the hotel so highly. The staff are friendly, the food is very good and the bar and room prices arn't bad but the hotel is really starting to feel old: Dark corridors, artexed walls, threadbare carpets and I don't think the furniture has been changed in years. You get free use of the indoor salt water swimming pool next door and there's free WIFI but in many ways this hotel feels stuck in the 70s. If you want posh go to the more expensive Novotel next door, but if you want a brilliant view at an acceptable price but quite an old feeling hotel stay here. I will certainly keep returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank politicsandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    365
    296
    163
    53
See reviews for
181
564
50
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as a last minute thing for one night only. We paid €128 for the night. It was very old fashioned and nothing like the usual ibis standard. The room had no air conditioning, and the TV was a tiny 4:3 old model.

Wifi was free but you had to enter name and email to use. This happens every time you turn a mobile device on or off and becomes very annoying.

The hotel sits right on the beach, which I guess offers a great location but made little difference to us,

The room did the job but as we were on the ground floor we had a door rather than a window, so could not leave it open all night. With no air conditioning the room was very stuffy and uncomfortable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jasoninlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The room was adequate and clean. To be fair we really enjoyed our stay here despite the obscurred seaview and no aircon.

The food was good but spirits would not be served after 11pm - beers and wine only!! Overall, a pleasant and relaxing few days on the beach with spa and pampering as well, thanks.

Room Tip: We booked the seaview room which was meant to overlook the beach, i think room 207/8, however becaus...
See more room tips
Green Features: they do make an effort on minimizing towel and gowns, we needed to ask twice for spa gowns
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you are visiting the Thalasso, you'll want to stay here (or at the Novotel on the opposite side.) I found the hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful. Really, just super nice people. The hotel is not glamorous, but it does the job. There's plenty of parking.

There are a couple of things to be aware of: in a heat wave, you'll wish you had some air-conditioning. We were there in 30+ degrees and it was a little stifling during the day, but it seems to cool down at night, so then you just have to keep the curtains drawn during the day.

The building is beginning to show wear on the sea side. I suppose the salt air makes it a never-ending challenge. Same with sand. The staff seemed to be constantly clearing away sand tracked in by guests from the adjacent beach.

If you are not going to the spa or spending a lot of time at the beach, stay somewhere else in Le Touquet. It's a long walk from the spa hotels to the center of town. If you're not fit, you'll probably even have to drive if you want to go have dinner there.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated at the end of the boardwalk. Rooms 423-428 (as I recall) do not have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JedJ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great location, shame about the room. This place is need of a makeover. The view is great but the service a bit weird. My French is not brilliant but I do try and I hate the fact that one waitress wandered off and sent her colleague to take our order because she's failed to understand what I wanted.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cb054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#11 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,674 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
705 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#3 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
597 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Jardins de la Cote d'Opale
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les ...
#8 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa

Property: Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Address: Avenue Louison Bobet | Front de Mer BP214, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely non smoking, the Ibis Thalassa Le Touquet hotel is on Le Touquet beach, 6 km from the railway station and 4 km from the airport. Facing the Opal Coast and with direct access to the Ibis Thalassa Le Touquet Thalassotherapy Center, the hotel has 91 rooms with ocean views, including 2 rooms for guests with limited mobility. Restaurant, bar, 24hr snack service, saltwater swimming pool, fitness room, WiFi Internet and free parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Le Touquet
Accor Le Touquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing