We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated and a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dated and a bit tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

We've stayed at this hotel a few times over the last 10 years but it's now a bit run down. It's only a two star hotel but it seems stuck in the 90's and could do with updating. On arrival there was some distorted music playing through some very tiny speakers in the bar/restuarant area/reception area and this set the tone for the whole place. In the room our metal wardrobe door had dents in it and, although the bathroom was perfectly clean, there were no tissues supplied.
In summary, it's in a fantastic position on the edge of a stunning beach, but fails to live up to it. It could be so much better.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickyscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    352
    277
    156
    47
See reviews for
170
541
49
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

We try to get to a thalassa resort at least once a year having been to carnac and quiberon thalassas before this year it was the turn of Le Touquet. We were doing our holiday this year as much on the cheap as possible (recession and all!), ok firstly if u are checking into the Ibis side of the resort u need to approach with Ibis levels in mind, which we did, and we were very pleasantly surprised. We did it so much on the cheap that we were in one of the half a dozen rooms without a sea view, still the room was enormous for an Ibis, it had a couch sitting area (no Ibis we were ever at had that) a balcony (with 2 chairs), and probably the biggest bonus for me a bath, ok a short bath, but a bath is a bath, greast bonus again for an Ibis. Ok the corridor is long, and I think management should think about putting a guest entrance on the far side which would solve this and not make this a problem in any way.
I dont know was it because we were having treatments but we certainly didnt need to pay for robes or swim hats. Speaking of the pool, it has to be one of the best indoor pools in the universe! With its sea water heated to just the right level, but the large floor to ceiling window literally has sand swept up on it its that close to the beach, the views and feeling of tranquility whilst swimming there are incredible.
The views, the setting, and the well above normal Ibis room all led this to be possibly the best Ibis we have ever stayed at, we have stayed at a lot of them, in fact it was on a higher standard than a lot of Mercures we have stayed at.
One bad thing, and this is the only bad thing I can think of, although the positioning of the tv was perfect if u were sitting on the couch it was absolutley useless when in the bed, luckily cos we were so busy exploring Le Touquet and having fun at the resort, we barely had the tv on.
Le Touquet is a beautiful, affluent town with very good bars, clubs and restaurants, the shopping is fashionable but the frequent markets should suit the bargain hunters too. It is all a place we will visit again soon and we will stay again at the Ibis.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

Driving around Le Touquet looking for a room we found this Ibis fronting onto the beach.

Fabulous balcony views but the room was at beach level and smelt awful - we only stayed one night.

  • Liked — Beach views
  • Disliked — the smell in the room and the room being at beach level - i.e. security.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Heaths_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

The Ibis is right on the beach - and what a beach!! Miles of golden sand!

The hotel rooms are pretty basic and could do with being refurbished. The bar and breakfast area is really modern and look out onto the lovely beach. I think all the rooms are facing that way too which is nice.

Breakfast was nice - cold buffet style - typical french breakfast - cereal, toast, fruit, cold meats etc.

The hotel has a spa there which we didnt know and were suprised to see people wandering around in dressing gowns!

Location - its a good 20 minute walk into the heart of Le Touquet which is fine if you dont mind that. Plenty of parking at the hotel too.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — Bit far out of town
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2007

We took a "booze cruise" (for those who don't know the expression: a one-night trip to stock up on Champagne etc at prices well below those prevailing in the UK). It was a mid -December weekend and almost all the hotels in Le Touquet - a very pleasant town 50 miles or so south of Calais - were full. Somewhat doubtfully I booked the IBIS (though Expedia). (The only other option was a dull looking place in the centre of town but some way from the sea, and where I knew parking might be a problem.) Normally we stay at slightly more up-market places, but I knew from experience that IBIS would be OK but likely to be basic. There was a real gale blowing as we arrived, after dark. Pouring rain and very strong winds. We found the hotel after taking a couple of wrong turns. We were grateful for the free car parking right by the door and, going inside, were pleasantly surprised! (Sorry to read of the New Yorker's poor impression - but this is what you get for your money for a sea front room in Le Touquet .) Check-in was friendly and very efficient (thank you, Expedia!) and yes, the corridor is long - but I've seen worse - and the room was considerably bigger than expected. It's unusual at this price to have, as well as the bed, a double couch to cuddle up on, sip wine and watch TV , for example. We walked into the town centre - about 10 minutes away - and had an excellent meal at Le Paris. Before going to bed we dared to open the door onto the balcony and stared with pleasure at the wild sea and the rollers crashing on the beach. During the night the storm intensified, but only once did I wake when, for a few moments, particularly strong gusts of wind banged against the windows. The next day was still windy and, emerging after the breakfast service was over we were still able to get very good cups of coffee and stare out from the restaurant at the sand being whipped along the beach and one or two brave souls struggling to walk upright. Verdict: we'll definately go again - in the summer!

  • Liked — Beach-front location and a good sized room for the price
  • Disliked — Nothing important
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobfromKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2007

This is a HORRIBLE hotel. Hallway, rooms, common area, service, food, etc. etc. are ALL bad!

The only good point is to be right at the beach and in front of the ocean.

Ibis rate is cheaper comparing to the Novotel, the sister hotel, next door. I believe they have the same management but because of the price difference, they on purposely make Ibis a less attractive place to stay.

While you are there, I suggest to check both hotels first before taking a room.

  • Liked — Beach & ocean front
  • Disliked — Everything about the hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2007

We stayed for a night before going home on the Boulogne ferry. When you first approach the hotel, it looks rather unprepossessing with its soulless architecture and extensive car park. But if you like watching sunsets and having a room with a balcony just a few feet above a beautiful endless white sand beach, then book a room here, just make sure your reserve a superior room or you won't get that view which is I think the best thing about the hotel. We were spellbound by the sunset and watched and drank wine on the balcony until it got dark. Next morning it was almost as delightful watching the sea, the sand and the wild birds.

Our only criticisms of room 118 was a large stain on the rather thin and ageing carpet and there being only one chair with the little table on the balcony.

It's a shame too that you have to pay for towels and a cap for the swimming pool.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank misslawbore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#10 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#1 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Jardins de la Cote d'Opale
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les ...
#8 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa

Property: Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Address: Avenue Louison Bobet | Front de Mer BP214, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely non smoking, the Ibis Thalassa Le Touquet hotel is on Le Touquet beach, 6 km from the railway station and 4 km from the airport. Facing the Opal Coast and with direct access to the Ibis Thalassa Le Touquet Thalassotherapy Center, the hotel has 91 rooms with ocean views, including 2 rooms for guests with limited mobility. Restaurant, bar, 24hr snack service, saltwater swimming pool, fitness room, WiFi Internet and free parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Le Touquet
Accor Le Touquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing