We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in an expensive town”
Review of Be Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Be Cottage
Watford UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value in an expensive town”
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I booked the night before and got a rate of 65euros for a double room with shower, the published rate was an optimistic 160euros.
Hotel is located behind the market ( held 3 times a week) and is only a 10 minute stroll to the promenade & beach and the main restaurant/bar area.
Room was small but adequate as we were only there for 1 night and suited our needs. There is a bar in the hotel and a breakfast room, neither of which we visited.
There is an interesting looking brasserie immediately next door and for breakfast we found a bar with garden facing the market and enjoyed breakfast in the sunshine.
Not too sure about parking in high season as the hotel car park is unsupervised and works on a first come basis.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arbroath55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    121
    83
    56
    40
See reviews for
39
241
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The Hotel had no hidden nasties as some of the reviews had indicated here, (I booked before I read them, then read them and thought OMG! But read some to the contrary and wondered... *scratched head*.)

I looked very hard to find fault, being British and female I pride myself on being able to find fault at every opportunity. Yes some of the rooms are small but they are clean and tastefully decorated. I was nosy and went around when they were cleaning after check out time and had a good nose around nearly all the rooms, the staff just smiled and giggled under their breath putting my behavior down to *eccentric English*, it's not the first time I have proudly warn that label.

The staff could not be more helpful but are as one has already stated, not in your face. The breakfast was superb and unbelievable value for money.

The location was great as it was far enough away from the center to not suffer the hustle and bustle yet not so far that it one could not stroll along the sea front, or meander along the side streets taking in the local architecture. Being so close to the market for the cultural w*****s like myself was delightful.


For a 2 star it is one of the best I have stayed in, good value for money in Le Touquet which is not somewhere one should ever expect to find 'value for money' as Le Touquet is not, nor does it pretend to be in the lower or even middle price range for accommodation, shopping and so on, it is a little luxury gem on the North Coast which would not be out of place on the Riviera. The free parking was a real bonus. We will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinkspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

The Blue Cottage hotel is a very quaint, smart, clean and ideally located hotel. That's the good side out of the way. The rooms are very small, the bed was two singles pushed together, made of concrete and the pillows should have been replaced years ago. We stayed in room 8, next to room 7 obviously, and because of the very thin walls meant we had to listen the occupant snore, wheeze, cough, burp, fart and masturbate his way through the sleeping hours.
The room above us was worse. Through the ceiling we could hear the occupants copulating. I just hope that when my good lady and myself perform the act of 'love making' that we don't sound like two pigs rutting in a farm yard. Thankfully the swine's sexual endeavours only lasted 10 minutes, but it still managed to paint such a graphic audio picture that we will both be off sex until we come out of rehab. Her cries of 'yes yes yes' and his grunting like a hog will haunt us forever. Oh, nearly forgot. The TV only had 4 channels and the remote didn't work.
The prices at the hotel are ridicules and over the top. Breakfast was 13€, for a cup of coffee, small glass of juice and a croissant.
I had a late night coffee and cognac. Big mistake at 14€.
Prices in the centre are just as outrageous. Average for a lager was 7€ and an average 3 course meal was 40€. One of the restaurants that we ate in was 'Le Taverne Royal'
The restauirant looked very smart and main course of veal sounded very good, on the menu, but it consisted of a tough veal chop, badly grilled and served with just chips. Really poor.
I have been visiting France for over 25 years and love their cuisine but the food in Le Touquet is nothing special. There are many good looking restaurants but again average and over priced food.
The American themed 'Le Jean' charges 19€ for burger and chips, again much to much.
Little by little the French are pricing themselves to high and will lose visitors. An example is 2.50€ for a can of coke. Even the hypermarkets are now more expensive than the English supermarkets. Wine which once was cheap is the same price, or dearer than home, as is tobacco.
It may be that prices went up when they changed to the Euro but I, for one, wont be visiting France any time soon. And you the wifi don't work either

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honda124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
worcestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

we paid for a superior room and did not feel that we got what we paid for as the room was so small, good job we didn't take a cat! our room was opposite the building site!!! a new hotel being built, noise started very early!!! The room was clean enough and had a moden feel, the tv needed updating and the glass was cracked on the framed picture on the wall , the bathroom was big enough and pleasent. The location was fantastic -. overall a nice hotel but very disappointed that we chose to pay extra and did not really feel the quality matched the price.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw20
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Location was good - only plus point for this so called hotel. Sound proofing in hotel non-existant!!! Room was small dark, dingy and noisy. Made a formal verbal complaint at the front desk after trying to nap in afternoon. Asked to look at another room which was supposed to be a 'superior' at 40 euros extra (which wasn't much better). Other patrons also complained of excessive noise coming from above,below,next door etc... AVOID,AVOID,AVOID!!!!!!! Staff unhelpful and brusque, very dismissive of complaints. Do not recommend and would NEVER stay again.

Have used tripadvisor on numerous occassions have found the advice to be inaccurate and misleading - please be aware.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank youngtribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

My husband and I spent 1 night at the Blue Cottage last weekend. The location is fantastic. It is minutes away from everything and despite being near the market square, it was very quiet and we didn't hear any cars/motorbikes or people during the night. The rooms have recently been renovated and are nicely decorated and very clean. The breakfast seemed expensive at €9/person, so we opted for breakfast in the town instead which worked out to be cheaper and very pleasant! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLR&SLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2008

After booking and then reading a few of the reviews we were a little dubious and not expecting the Ritz. We booked a superior room. We were shown to one of the downstairs studios at the back of the car park by a very friendly young man who even carried my (huge) bags (didn't get that at the Westminster!!). Fabulous room with couch area, spacious, very clean. Lovely hot shower. Very nice people. Breakfast was good. Would definitely stay here again (and preferred it to the others we have stayed at). My only criticism is the small towels provided, but they are clean and adequate.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#1 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#3 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#10 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
#14 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Cottage

Property: Be Cottage
Address: 41 rue Jean Monnet, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France (Formerly Le Blue Cottage Hotel)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Be Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situé sur la côte nord, cet hôtel se trouve à 200 mètres de la plage du Touquet-Paris-Plage. Il propose des chambres élégantes dotées d'une télévision à écran plat.Toutes les chambres disposent d'une salle de bains moderne avec sèche-cheveux et articles de toilette. Certaines chambres sont équipées d'un minibar et d'un plateau/bouilloire.Un petit-déjeuner buffet ou continental est servi chaque matin à l'hôtel Be Cottage. Une connexion Wi-Fi est mise à votre disposition gratuitement sur place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Be Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Cottage Hotel Le Touquet
Le Blue Cottage Touquet
Hotel Le Blue Cottage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing