We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel”
Review of Hotel Red Fox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Red Fox
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I have just stayed at Hotel Red Fox for the weekend and had a lovely stay the location is perfect near the shops & restaurants and also only a few minutes walk to the beach. We arrived just before 1pm on Friday afternoon and couldn't park anywhere near the hotel so we had to park about 5 minutes walk away then walked back to the hotel to check in and find out where the car park was situated which we had pre-booked. This wasn't too far at all about 2 streets away but we didn't find it to be a problem.

On check in the receptionist was very welcoming and gave us our room keys we didn't have to wait until check in time at 2pm, at all other times the staff was very polite and helpful.

Our room 501 was on the ground floor in the Annex over looking the court yard which we found to be relaxing and very clean, I'm disabled and found the room to be a good size to get in with my mobility scooter, the only small problem for me was a large step to get into the shower but with the help of my husband this was fine. My husband is just over 6ft and he also found the room and especially the bed to be very comfortable, we have stayed in many 4 & 5 star hotels around the world and this hotel was perfect for our requirements. We couldn't hear any noise from outside nor did we hear anyone coming back late at night.

The hardworking staff worked relentlessly to wipe the tables and refresh the breakfast buffet which was more comprehensive than some larger chain hotels we have stayed in. Having read previous reviews before we went the breakfast room seemed to be a problem for some, yes there is a trolley to put your breakfast tray on the way out no one actually tells you you have to do this but it shouldn't be a problem for anyone to put a tray on a trolley this now happens in a lot of hotels like the Novotol Suite, Ibis, Holiday Inn etc. We will definitely be returning to this hotel and also recommending it to family & friends.

Room Tip: When booking book a comfort room these are the annexe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    287
    137
    19
    7
See reviews for
106
270
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

All good here, friendly staff, very close to shops, great breakfast, clean comfortable accommodation, definitely return. You can leave your bike outside as well. No chasing you for an early checkout either.

Room Tip: We had a front room on the second floor, bit noisy early morning, but we had to keep window open as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

First : the staff. Friendly staff but thats all : couldn't even help to find a pair of scissors.
Second : the room. Too small for 3 persons, no remote for the TV, half of the electric connections didn't work (we had to disconnect the tv to charge the cellphone). I'm 6 foot 3 tall, my feets hangs out of the bed : broken back in the morning) Wifi not working in the room. There is a common door with a room next ( locked: ok) but your hear everything from it.
third : the bathroom. Very small, don't even think to go with 2 persons in. The toilet is smaller than in an airplane.
fourth : the location. Great if you want to go out and drink until you are near dead and come in , in the morning, otherwise : forget trying to sleep : every 15 minutes some drunk peoples will let you know that you are in the most noisy part of the town and in the morning the cleaning team is using a "cleaning tank" , noisy as an AIRBUS on takeoff.
The breakfast place : looks like a cantine in a car factory but the food is good and large choice. The coffee is horrible and the term selfservice is used in his highest level : you have to clean by yourself.
conclusion : I recommend this hotel for professional drinkers, who will come in for sleep in the morning after a long night at all bars and don' care about the breakfast and will probably sleep next to the bed due balance issues and uses the bathroom only for bucal exhaust.
Not recommend for a lovely couple who wants to celebrate in style their first year together.

Room Tip: don't accept room 107 , but if you choose another hotel, all problems will be solved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yves V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is a very clean and smart two start hotel that has in interior decor of a four star hotel. Our room was very spacious and smart, but with a very small bathroom.

Breakfast was a bit basic, but you get what you pay for.

Overall a great spot if you staying in the town for a night out.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockape63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have stayed here on several occasions. Rooms are clean and relatively recently updated. The bathrooms however are small. The hotel is located on the main thoroughfare in the town and has many bars & restaurants nearby. Some of the rooms can be noisy due to the proximity to these bars during the busy season.

Breakfast is served buffet style, there is plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up and at the back will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneMcc1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I have been to Le Touquet many times and most times I have stayed at the Red Fox. The location in the centre of town is perfect, but beware the noise at nights. The hotel is split across two buildings. The original 2 star building and a newer building opposite which is 3 star and know as the Annexe. The 2 star is to be avoided at all cost if you want a good room and a decent night's sleep. Most rooms overlook the main high street and you are sure to be woken at various hours from 1am to 6am, especially on a Saturday night by people on their way home from the late night bars and clubs. The 3 star opposite has much nicer and larger rooms and all are nicely decorated and modern, with decent bathrooms. The best rooms are 502, 503 and 504 which are to the rear of the building in the inner courtyard, and don't suffer noise from the street. 501 is ok, but is entered direct for the main reception area, so you could be woken but late night returners if they are drunk and noisy. This year I stayed in room 511 which is on the first floor facing out onto the side street and we were woken at 3am, 4am and 6am on the Saturday night - this was a shame as we have always stayed in the aforementioned rooms and have never had a problem. The breakfast is pretty average here, but the rooms are cheap and decent (in the 3 star) and you could not be more central.

If you can be sure of the good rooms then would definitely recommend here. If you are more interested in a good nights sleep and don't mind the 20 minute walk then I would recommend the Mercure Grand, which has nice rooms, a really nice swimming pool and a great buffett breakfast. Parking is also mush easier than at Red Fox (definitely reserve a parking space at their underground car park if you drive). Alternatively, if your budget can reach it then opt for the Westminster Hotel, which is only a short walk from town, but far enough away to avoid the noise.

Room Tip: 502, 503 and 504 in the inner courtyard are the best rooms to avoid the late night street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURREY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

visited the red fox again as on tour playing golf, would like to say the annexe across the road is worth booking. Hotel in great location if you want to be right in the mix of the town.If you want peace and quiet dont stay here choose one of the hotels on the outskirts of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmssurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#3 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#9 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
#14 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Red Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Red Fox

Property: Hotel Red Fox
Address: Angle rue Saint - Jean et rue de Metz, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Red Fox 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Red Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Fox Hotel
Red Fox Le Touquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing