We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights recently and really enjoyed our stay.

On arrival, the receptionist was extremely welcoming and spoke great English (we unfortunately speak very limited French!) and check in was extremely quick. There is a good sized car park to the rear of the hotel which is has a secure gate and although it was busy, we did not have a problem finding parking.

The lifts in the hotel are brilliant and we enjoyed using them each time (we were on the 4th floor) - very in keeping with the hotel. Our room was one of the refurbished rooms and we were delighted with it, clean and fresh bedroom and lovely shower room with large shower cubicle and large fain fall shower which my husband loved.

The swimming pool seems slightly on the small side for the size of the hotel but it wasn't too busy so this wasn't an issue for us.

The location of this hotel was perfect for us as I am 7 months pregnant and so didn't want to walk to far to the shops and beach. It only took about 7 minutes to reach the beach and about 1 minute to reach the shops - perfect!

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Le Touquet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    584
    229
    90
    47
See reviews for
272
901
53
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed here as when we were last in Le Touquet we saw it, from the outside amazing the lobby just as impressive, so we booked two nights at €245 per night. What a shock when we got to the room, it was like something from the 1950s bathroom dated, cracked sink, black toliet seat (like the school ones) the bedroom furniture no better all falling apart, no air conditioning. Would never go back, even some of the last guests items in the room. Plug adapter hanging from the back of the tv (unsafe).
If you want a nostalgic trip back to the 40s/50s with floral ceramics, olive green tiles and jumble sale furniture then stay, otherwise I would suggest elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isismcbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

What a wonderful resting place whilst visiting that vibrant, interesting, sports, entertainment and gourmet facility rich resort of Le Touquet. Standing regally at the crossroads between the elegant (and now very expensive) Foret Residential area, opposite the Casino, and beginning of the shopping/restaurant streets leading down to the glorious beaches, The Westminster Hotel is the epitome of gracious living and excellent service.

Our room was one of the larger front facing doubles and was beautifully furnished with very good quality fittings throughout, although the toilet flushing action might have shown greater determination to succeed first time round.....or even second.

Breakfasts were very good and we really enjoyed evening 'banquets' at both The Pavilion (Michelin Star), and The Climaises (an unbelievably sumptuous buffet affair for starters and desserts).

We looked forward each evening to sitting on the front terrace bar watching the world go by whilst supping kir and nibbling generous helping of olives and cashew nuts.

Le Touquet is a fantastic resort which we never tire of, having visited many times over the last 20 years, and this hotel is the ideal lodging in which to rest ones weary bones, recharge the batteries and sally forth for the next days pleasures.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOUGHTON1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stated two nights and although myself and wife were playing golf we paid full rack rate for an upgraded executive room rather than take a golf package as we wanted to ensure a nice room. My god was I wrong. A worse room I have rarely stayed in. No aircon on a steamy August weekend is one thing but an executive room without a shower if unforgivable. How on earth this hotel attracts golfers who play at nearby courses I will never know. The first thing you want to do after a round of golf other than have a beer is take a shower. According to the extremely unhelpful front desk chap “the majority of their rooms have no showers” only hand showers attached to the side of the bath. As the majority of guests were French I can only assume showering is not a high priority for the French otherwise they would stop going to this place and thereby send a clear message to the management to modernise or die. Had the tasting menu in the main restaurant which at around €250 for the two of us was nice but not outstanding compared with other Michelin star restaurants we have visited. Sure this hotel is charming old French. Is that enough, I think not. Quite frankly this is yet another hotel where the management simply don’t care for the guest’s opinions or they would have responded to the many poor reviews they have received rather than just ignore them.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellers051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

After three years, I returned to the "West". This time I was assigned a renovated room on the 4th floor (415). I can safely say that it was the one of the best,most spacious rooms I have ever had at a 4* city hotel. The bathroom was wonderful and the walk-in shower with Hans Grohe fixtures (the original Raindance). I guess they are gradually renovating and upgrading all rooms, and that all the negative reviews were written by people who still stayed in an "old" room. So beware with the reviews. This hotel is underrated at Tripadvisor,by people who are offended that there is no tea-maker in the room!

The bar and lobby still have that roaring 20s, early art-deco feel, which I love. The restaurant was very good. Only draw-back: the city of Le Touquet itself, which is old and shabby. The golf courses are great,but do not go to Le Touquet to expect a mondaine sea-resort. If that is what you expect,you should go to Knokke-Zoute in Belgium.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mathias19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Staff were friendly enough, location is good but We think they're trading on past glories. We had rooms on the first floor, they were clean and comfortable but the bathroom is from the 60's, we didn't have breakfast at the hotel €19 per person so can't comment on that. My biggest gripe is NO TEA MAKING FACILITY IN THE ROOM. We had to order on room service. Tea for 3 people €19 a time. And for the benefit of the French generally, british tea is made with a warm pot, boiling water so the tea can infuse and a small quantity of cold milk, it's not rocket science. All we got was tepid water we had to add a bag to which never brewed.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fu55yeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
271 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Like some others we stayed on fourth floor. Ok unless you have a wife who cannot go in open sided lifts. Room superb. Dinner choices and quality perfect. Breakfast really good too so don't understand previous complaints . One minor complaint was charge made for mini bar. I did the honest thing and filled in the form requested for anything taken from mini bar and after leaving and without checking detail was disappointed to find I was double charged. Obviously because the maid spotted the item I had taken and disclosed resulting in double charge. I did email the address on the bill because I was irritated and asked them to credit a charity or staff gratuity. No reply. So, yes go and yes to 4th floor but check billed detail before leaving

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bugsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#9 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
575 reviews
1.5 mi away
Manoir Hotel
Manoir Hotel
#13 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
#15 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Westminster

Property: Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Address: Avenue du Verger, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France (Formerly Hotel Westminster & Spa)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
#2 Luxury Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere Le Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal Coast ideally situated between Paris, London and Brussels, where you will find Le Touquet - a dynamic and vibrant 4-season European Resort. In the heart of one of its most elegant quarters, just 500m from the beach and 150m from the Palais des Congres, the 1930's charm of the Westminster and its sober luxury continue to attract. The 115 rooms and suites, 2 restaurants and spa will welcome you for a charming stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westminster And Spa
Westminster Hotel Le Touquet
Hotel Westminster Le Touquet
Hotels Le Touquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing