We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location although a few small moans..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location although a few small moans..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were here for a work incentive last week. The hotel has good parking and a nice entrance where we were greeted and checked in to our rooms promptly. The room was nice in size but had no air conditioning which I was very surprised at as I haven't stayed in a room without air con for many years. I had two windows that needed to be open for all of the time I was in the room as it was very warm.

There was a nice outside bar terrace but it was 10 euros for a pint of beer and even more for a spirit and mixer - a little excessive I would say!

Only a five minute walk into town and fifteen minutes max to the beach. They had a nice indoor pool/spa that we visited whilst there but only for a swim/sauna. Breakfast was average and was a buffet style. The French bread was fresh and really tasty

In summary, a nice hotel overall but a couple of things could have been done to improve our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnesy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    567
    218
    86
    46
See reviews for
260
877
50
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Although my wife had booked us a Superior room we were disappointed to find that for some bizarre reason, and should you feel the urge to do your weekly wash whilst staying at the hotel, they kindly provide a washing line in the bathroom but they do not on the other hand provide a shower, only a bath. When we questioned the reception staff about the lack of a shower we were told that you could either have a room with a bath or a shower but not both?

We had dinner on our first night which was included in our golf package and I would have to say the food was very good. But be warned that the hotel is overly expensive charging 5 euros for a tepid cup of coffee and 16 euros for a vodka and coke.

The breakfast also leaves a lot to be desired and we were grateful it was included in our package as we would not have been happy to pay 19 euros each for it.

We had very little sleep as our room was at the front of the hotel and as the hotel doesn’t have air conditioning we had to have the windows open all night. This then resulted in us being constantly awoken by the late night revellers in the street going home until around 5am.

With the exception of the unhelpful reception staff, the rest of the staff we came into contact with were very nice.

The room we stayed in (215) was very tired along with the rest of the hotel and needs to bring itself into the 21st century instead of living on past glories and provide the modern guest with proper amenities. So in conclusion, we certainly won’t be back or recommending the Westminster to any of our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel is perfectly located for sleeping quietly yet walking to the downtown shops and restaurants. We stayed in an upgraded room facing the front of the hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful and professional. This was our first time staying on the western coast of France and we would gladly stay at the Westminster in the future. The only small thing I would suggest is that the wireless internet access be configured to enable more than one user per room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whaley Bridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is a very old hotel and quite luxurious in parts. We stayed here for 5 nights B&B. The room on the first floor was large but no air conditioning and extremely hot to the point of being uncomfortable in temperatures of 30+.. It was very noisy at night with drunks passing by outside. The bed was overfirm and quite uncomfortable and the pillows were hollowfibre and nasty.. The Breakfast buffet was not adequately replenished when something ran out that was it. This hotel offers private gated parking facilities which was very handy as parking is very tight on the road. The town of Le Touquet could do with a good clean up, dog dirt, fag ends, and spilt ice cream all over the footpaths and on the promenade area. It was difficult to find somewhere clean to sit. Apart from that the town is very pleasant with lots of restaurants and nice shops but very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
273 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have stayed at the Westminster before with various friends and/or relatives and HAVE been a little disappointed as the rooms WERE in need of refurbishment and the Hotel felt a little "tired" generally BUT as this is, in my opinion, one of the lovliest buildings in Le Touquet I chanced an opportunity to have a romantic break there last weekend! (My partner had NOT used this Hotel before and loves gracious buildings with history!)
We were obviously luckier than previous guest reviews would indicate as we had an EXCELLENT (refurbished!) room....a Superior Double...if that makes any difference...and it WAS superior to the Superior rooms I've stayed in at the Westminster before! I wonder how they are working their refurbishment programme?!
The verandah IS small but taking a cocktail there in the late afternoon sun....watching the world go by...takes some beating!
I would give this Hotel 5* ....but I find reception rather cool....efficient.... but cool!
GREAT Concierge (we encountered at least two!) service though....with a smile!

Room Tip: We loved room 321!....refurbished to a high standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANCES39A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The service was awful - as if they couldn't care less. They tried to fob us off with a very poor room and we looked at two others before agreeing a very average room for the price.Whilst the location is good for the town there is only a very small terrace at the front of the hotel to sit. Think twice before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Requested in advance a refurbed room, but was told they were all full already? I presume they are being saved for a chosen few. Stayed in room 8 on ground floor. Had view of wall and sky light covered in bird poo. Was knocked up by mini bar staff even though had do not disturb on door. Was asked on check out if everything was ok. I expressed my dismay about oppressive view from both bedroom and bathroom including bird poo. Reply- that's the view for that room! What was the point of asking me? I did not need to be told that, I'd paid through the nose for that awful view for three days! If I wanted poor service and a depressing view I could have saved a fortune and stayed at a two star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BedfontBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#1 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#10 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
#14 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#3 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Westminster

Property: Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Address: Avenue du Verger, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France (Formerly Hotel Westminster & Spa)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
#2 Luxury Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere Le Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal Coast ideally situated between Paris, London and Brussels, where you will find Le Touquet - a dynamic and vibrant 4-season European Resort. In the heart of one of its most elegant quarters, just 500m from the beach and 150m from the Palais des Congres, the 1930's charm of the Westminster and its sober luxury continue to attract. The 115 rooms and suites, 2 restaurants and spa will welcome you for a charming stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westminster And Spa
Westminster Hotel Le Touquet
Hotel Westminster Le Touquet
Hotels Le Touquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing