We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance and grandeur” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barriere Le Westminster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elegance and grandeur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Westminster's peak was probably in the 1920s & 1930s but it retains the elegance of that age while accommodating modern needs with the spa and fitness centre and wifi. The lift is a wonderful piece of engineering and architecture that deserves a mention all of its own. Our room was somewhat sparsely decorated for its size but was extremely comfortable, buffet breakfast was incredible and overall a first class stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil572013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about our Hotel via the website TripAdvisor. We are pleased to learn that your stay with us was a success.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Again thank you,

Lydia LAUNAY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    554
    215
    85
    44
See reviews for
250
867
50
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Westminster is like a grand old lady. One feels she has seen better days in some respects but it is a lovely hiotel if a little faded in parts. Our room was lovely although the curtains were a little over the top. The bathroom was great with nice Nuxe products The brasserie was good value and we had nice food. It's obvious that Le touquet was once a very special resort, film stars, kings such as king Farouk the Aga Khan etc have all stayed here. Very nice staff. The pool and sauna was in the basement and felt a little claustrophobic but everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves down there so maybe that was me being a bit picky. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Le Touquet....it's near all the shops, it's well appointed and its very good value

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens. The hotel seems to be very quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LADY VICTORIA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

What can I say but a very sincere thank you for your detailed review with very interesting comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon,
With my best regards,

Lydia Launay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Room 14 is a refurbished room which I would describe as "quirky". It has a frosted glass door to the en-suite directly opposite the loo. Sitting on the bed watching telly, whilst seeing a pretty clear view of one's partner using the toilet can be disturbing. However, this is not why I am penning this review, but is more to do with the intolerable noise in the room.
It overlooks the fitness center and during the day there is the constant drone of the plant that services it. Not a big problem if you are out sight-seeing. At night, we were kept awake until 1:30 am by noisy occupants in the next room (I complained to the desk who did, in all fairness, manage to get them to quieten down)......... BUT, at 3am on the dot, a horrendous mechanical hum kicked off that woke us with one hell of a start. It sounded like a jet was on final approach to the local airport, except that jets don't use the airport, and certainly not at 03:00. Again I phoned the front desk who advised me that it was the on-site bakery that started work at 3, & would go on until 6! Looking out of the window were plumes of steam coming from, what must be, the extractor fan....& this constant, droning, mechanical hum..Despite closing the blinds, the double glazed windows, & the heavy curtains, it went on, & on, & on...I asked for an alternate room but was told that there was only a single available. So began a long, sleepless night!
Unless you have impaired hearing, avoid! For €260 you can do a lot better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel.
Be assured Sir, that customer satisfaction is central to our daily concerns. We apologize sincerely for not having met your expectations.
Remember that 2013-2014 are years of work important to us. Our renovation program will continue with other changes in the coming months.
Thank you to contact me directly for a future booking
We look forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel.

Very sincerely

Lydia Launay
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Booked this for a birthday treat for my mum. Two rooms for 2 couples. Absolutely lovely! We were given rooms 325 and 327 with interconnecting door. Just lovely and refurbished. Room 325 was a corner room which had windows and views on 2 sides. Room 327 is on the side but with a beautiful superking bed. The whole hotel has an understated glamour to it. We sat in the bar and had coffee and hot chocolate before going out for lunch, then later we had pre dinner drinks and then a nightcap upon returning. When we got back to our rooms that night, the beds had been turned down and the hotel had also left a little box of macaroons with a card for my mother. All staff who we came across were lovely, Vincent on reception gets a mention as being very efficient, from helping me upgrade our rooms to the executive ones before we arrived and then upon our arrival he was very charming and although he shouldnt have had to, he explained things in perfect English. We had breakfast included and went downstairs where you have a buffet which has lots of bread, cakes, cereals,fruit and juice. My boyfriend got himself scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages and toasted some bread, he said it was lovely. I had a croissant and scrambled egg and toast. The scrambled egg was very runny, but it set me up for the day ahead. Will absolutely stay again, we are already taking about going for longer next time in the summer. Negatives- just one- scrambled eggs runny. How many hotels can you stay at and have only one minor negative! We shall be back - THANKS

Room Tip: ask for an upgraded room When having drinks in the bar before going out
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millymoomoo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely thank you on behalf of the entire team of Westminster Hotel & Spa, full of praise for this comment.
We are delighted that the Westminster Hotel & Spa gives you such a great time and it is with great pleasure that we continue to do so.
Your satisfaction is our greatest achievement.

See you soon,
Lydia LAUNAY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I spent one night here in October this year...I can only say that it was like stepping back in time to a world of pure luxury..Loved the elevator, seen one so many times in films...Staff were polite and professional...The spa and indoor pool were a bonus when the weather is cold and raining outside..

Room Tip: any room on the front ,silence ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisybSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Quite simply, thank you!!!
Your words are so very generous and will be immediately shared with all our staff members.
Hoping to have the honor of welcoming you again very soon,

Sincerely,
Lydia Launay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel is in a great location, far enough from town to be quiet, but close enough to easily get to the beach, shops and restaurants etc.
The décor in the hotel is wonderfully reminisce of times gone by, with a beautiful art deco feel throughout and a working iron lift, yet the feel of a modern 4 star hotel.
The room itself was refreshed, not refurbished, but very comfortable. It was at the rear of the building so was even quieter and although the view was of the car park there was also a functioning lighthouse to draw you eye upwards.
The bathroom was a surprise, also 1930s design and pleasant, however, there was only a bath with a hand held shower. A simple shower screen or curtain would have made this a little less disappointing and a little more functional.
The biggest surprise was that there were no coffee or tea facilities in the room. We decided to order 2 teas one morning to be delivered to the room as we were heading to Paris early, when we received our final bill these teas were on as 2 breakfasts and as previously mentioned by other reviews 42 euros is somewhat pricey. The receptionist immediately removed this from our bill without any question and added the correct price for 2 teas, 18 euros! Must have been a Michelin Star hot water and a teabag.
We did relent and have breakfast on the last day, it was definitely not worth the price, limited to lukewarm scrambled eggs and room temperature bacon.
Overall it was a pleasant stay, but let down by the shower and in room facilities, both of which are easily rectified and mentioned repeatedly in other reviews so its not as if it is a surprise to the hotel management.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and one with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on the Westminster Hotel & Spa and your experience.

Please be assured, that customer satisfaction is at the heart of our daily concerns. We are always listening to you because feedback will help improve services and our product. Remember that 2013 and 2014 are years of work important to us. Our room’s renovation program will continue with other changes in the coming months.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Westminster Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Very sincerely.
Lydia Launay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel is a beautiful building in a good spot of a pretty town. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The bedrooms were clean and spacious but very tired. My kids found their room old and creepy.Of particular note were the bathrooms which felt like they were from another era. The bath tub and shower were tiny. It was a real shame to find out on departure that certain bedrooms have been modernised - I would gladly have paid more for a more up to date bedroom. I would also recommend the breakfast which was of a very high quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanAdler1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel.
Be assured Sir, that customer satisfaction is central to our daily concerns. We apologize sincerely for not having met your expectations.
We are sorry that this style of room is not convenient for you. We regret that you did not make the remark at your arrival; we would have been able to find another solution. Remember that 2013 and 2014 are years of work important to us. Our rooms renovation program will continue with other changes in the coming months.
We look forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel.

Very sincerely.
Lydia Launay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#1 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#10 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#3 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#4 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
#14 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Westminster

Property: Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Address: Avenue du Verger, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France (Formerly Hotel Westminster & Spa)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
#2 Luxury Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere Le Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal Coast ideally situated between Paris, London and Brussels, where you will find Le Touquet - a dynamic and vibrant 4-season European Resort. In the heart of one of its most elegant quarters, just 500m from the beach and 150m from the Palais des Congres, the 1930's charm of the Westminster and its sober luxury continue to attract. The 115 rooms and suites, 2 restaurants and spa will welcome you for a charming stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westminster And Spa
Westminster Hotel Le Touquet
Hotel Westminster Le Touquet
Hotels Le Touquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing