We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Castel Victoria(Le Touquet – Paris-Plage)(Great Value!)
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Le Touquet(Le Touquet – Paris-Plage)
US$266
US$234
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manoir Hotel(Le Touquet – Paris-Plage)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Red Fox(Le Touquet – Paris-Plage)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Pol Hotel(Le Touquet – Paris-Plage)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Les Jardins D'Ulysse(Le Touquet – Paris-Plage)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bristol(Le Touquet – Paris-Plage)
US$181
US$172
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Nouveau Caddy Hotel(Le Touquet – Paris-Plage)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Itsara Suites & Spa(Le Touquet – Paris-Plage)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Hotel les Embruns(Le Touquet – Paris-Plage)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,810)
Filter reviews
1,810 results
Traveller rating
739
664
255
99
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
664
255
99
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsles cimaisesbeautiful hotelart deco hotelmichelin starfourth floorold stylejacuzzi and saunathere is no air conditioningbuffet stylevisited le touquetsecure parkingweekend breakwithin easy walking distancehotel restaurantmain restauranton the small sidelong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 1,810 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

You know when you recommend a hotel or restaurant to friends, then when you go there you are embarrassed by your experience, well that was how we felt when we stayed at the Westminster.

We've been going since 1995, and have always loved the unique place, its history, rooms and service. We've even had a couple of great New Year's Eve's there. But sadly it's all gone. Not the hotel, it's ironically clearly undergone a renovation as the rooms are now quite tidy.

What is missing is the character, the service and the quality. Our friends arrived after us and were greeted by a surly doorman, who didn't remove the bag from the boot of the car. Our room had clearly had been used by a smoker,who had opened double doors overlooking the main entrance but had filled the room with smoke.

The service in the main bar was slow and poor, the concierge could not be less interested in helping us book a restaurant, and the breakfast was as poor as I've had in any hotel for quite some time. He was literally slumped over the desk, with his chin on his hands. It would have been laughable had it not been the price you were paying for such an appalling experience.

In summary book at the Westminster if you want to stay in a large iconic hotel with lots of history. Avoid it like the plague if you want (remember you'll be paying from €300 per night), decent service throughout, helpful staff, value for money, and quality food. I am very very sorry to say that the Westminster is clearly getting away with it, as there is little competition of this scale and grandeur in Le Touquet. If it had competition it would not survive without change.

Sadly the old lady has lost her soul, that is so so sad

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank foxyfoxholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.
We do apologize if your experience at Westminster Hotel & Spa did not fully satisfy you, and be assured that your concerns have been passed on to the staff.
Our ongoing effort for amelioration is a key element for providing excellent customer service at any time.
Please, do not hesitate to let us know of your next visit in Le Touquet as it would be for us a great opportunity to change your mind about our property.

With Kind regards,
Lydia Launay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Well located, near the entrance to the main town, with a good-size car park. Elegant and imposing, and recently refreshed. Spacious rooms. Staff pleasant, but no more.
Very quiet, even for breakfast in the main dining room, people all speaking in hushed tones. (Maybe something we weren't supposed to know about?!) The bar is atmospheric, period style with a jazz-theme.
Gentle old-world comfort and peace.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about our school via the website TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to learn that your stay with us was a success.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Again thank you,
See you soon,

Lydia Launay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. Nice clean comfortable rooms. Free parking. All excellent. However, if you go to the bar make sure you're not thirsty as there will be a wait until a waiter deigns to deal with you, and they will charge you heavily too. Beware of Cruella Deville at checkout. A miserable woman who exudes darkness

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on the Westminster Hotel & Spa and your experience.
We are delighted that your stay went smoothly.

We apologize sincerely for not having met your expectations at the Bar. Our Bar team is appreciated for their availability and kindness. However, we will share this point with them.
Our efforts are ongoing to maintain the level of quality offered to all our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Westminster Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Very sincerely.
Lydia Launay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A very nice hotel to spend a weekend with friends on a 3 day golftrip.
Large bedrooms and excellent facilities. An enormous breakfast and very nice dinnerfacilities.
The bar is a little too expensive. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revdb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about our school via the website TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to learn that your stay with us was a success.

Westminster Hotel & Spa is part of Open Golf Club. Benefit from exclusive deals and advantages as a member of one of the 32 Open Golf Club golf clubs!
Open Golf Club offer access to a wide range of « tourism and golf » destinations, in France, Belgium, Spain or Morrocco.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Again thank you,

Lydia Launay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Unfortunately this was not the best experience we have had recently. It is a glorious place where we had a large, spacious bedroom and excellent en-suite facilities. The room was clean and well presented, and the turned down in the afternoon / evening. The bar is a bit expensive but then the hotel is not cheap, so the two go together. The photo's of the celebrities create a glimpse into the past, and attract some attention for most of the guests. The disappointments were as you arrived! The valet watched as I struggled with the cases and manipulated through the revolving door. When I asked for valet parking I was given the impression he was doing me a favour rather than offering a service. The receptionist was poor, he gave the impression everything was either a problem, or at least a real effort. This was just not the greeting we wanted after a relatively short drive, we were still ready to relax. The restaurant service was better. At breakfast I got the butter and the hot chocolate after asking and then prompting. I even got a cold bowl for my cereal, once I had approached a different waitress, as those bowls available on the service area were very hot and just out of the dishwasher. The wi-fi is obtained by getting the information from reception and using a password that is valid for 24hours, a hassle that is totally unnecessary in this day and age, there are easier ways of managing this technology that leave the visitor in charge. I think it is the little things that count and make the stay enjoyable, and in this case need more attention. The service didn't impress but the alternative hotels locally don't offer the heritage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel.
Be assured Sir, that customer satisfaction is central to our daily concerns.
We apologize sincerely for not having met your expectations.

Our Concierge and Reception team are appreciated for their availability and kindness. However, I will share this point with them. Our efforts are ongoing to maintain the level of quality offered to all our guests.
Regarding the wifi, the connection is available to all our customers during the entire stay. The identifiers need to be filled for each connection so that appliances left without activities do not interfere with the quality of the flow of new active connections

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Westminster Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Very sincerely.
Lydia Launay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews