We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were situated at the front of the hotel, as it is summer our windows were open, there was a lot of street noise so would suggest a rear of the hotel room. Otherwise everything was perfect. Can't beat the position.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014
Google Translation

Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous vous sommes reconnaissants pour vos commentaires lors de votre dernier séjour. Ils nous permettent en effet d’améliorer chaque jour la qualité de nos prestations.

Notre hôtel n'est en effet pas équipé de climatisation

En espérant avoir le plaisir de vous rencontrer lors de votre prochaine visite au Touquet, je vous prie d'agréer mes sincères salutations.

Lydia Launay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Westminster, Saturday & Sunday, 26-28 July.
Room was fine, good bathroom with bath & shower. Breakfast included, plenty of choice, even bacon & egg!

The room was at the front, & there was no air con, but left the windows open so ok.

Staff very helpful, & generally would recommend the hotel.
It has a pool & hot tub, which we used.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Sir,

I would simply like to thank you for these words of praise and for your generous support through Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to learn that you had a nice saty with us from 26th to 28th July and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to the Westminster Hotel & Spa.

I will share your compliments with our entire team as they are always pleased to receive the feedback of our guests.

Warm regards.

Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I know that that the hotel management will claim that this is the year that the Westminster is being refurbished, but I don't think that this excuses them ripping-off guests by charging 4 star prices for dreadfully dated and poorly equipped rooms. Even budget hotels have air-conditioning and large beds, but in the Westminster you may well suffer one of their basic rooms, without air-conditioning (in 30 degree temperatures) and in a very old and uncomfortable standard double bed. The bathroom was dreadfully outdated, the fittings were all stained and the anti-slip surface in the bath was worn away so that the (archaic) mixer shower was quite dangerous, but at least your feet get a good wash - because the plug doesn't work. Added to this, if you're in room 102 you will have to clean the loo yourself as the flush no longer removes the paper (and other matter!) from the bowl. I paid a 50% deposit for three nights and we left after one night. I believe there's a Holiday Inn in Le Touquet and although I've never seen it I can assure you that it's better than the Westminster.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisE5320OJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are obviously very disappointed that you have not found the satisfaction that you were entitled to expect during a stay at the Westminster Hotel & Spa.

We do apologize if your experience at Westminster Hotel & Spa did not fully satisfy you; Our ongoing effort for amelioration is a key element for providing excellent customer service at any time.

Please, do not hesitate to let us know of your next visit in Le Touquet as it would be for us a great opportunity to change your mind about our property.

Yours Sincerely
Lydia Launay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A beautiful grand Building that dominates Le Touquet as you drive in past the Casino. It promises so much....but fails to deliver on many levels......
No Air Conditioning - the Management say the Building is old....tell that to the Owners of the 15th Century Chateau we stayed in last night with Air Conditioning.
No Tea or Coffee in the Rooms - the Management say they do Room Service.....read Trip Advisor and put Tea and Coffee in the Rooms as so many previous Clients have asked for.
Our Prestige Room was an average size at best. These are the next best Rooms available after the Suite. No complimentary Water in the Rooms. Most face the front of the Hotel, the hottest part and remember no Air Con.
After Dinner elsewhere we returned to the Hotel for coffee and went to sit in the back garden area of the Restaurant. It smelt strongly of sewerage so went and sat in the front Garden of the Hotel.
They are re-decorating the Hotel and so for Breakfast we were crammed into a small function room at one end of the Hotel, and for a decidedly less than average breakfast at an expensive price.
Such a pity.....it could all be so good.....and to top it all they don't listen to their customers who comment on Trip Advisor they just make excuses and speak of "amortising" the Staff.
Management - pull your socks up, listen to your customers, stop making excuses and get it sorted. You have a beautiful Hotel and you are wasting it.

Room Tip: Stay in the Winter as it's too hot in the Summer without air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DDwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Madam

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on the Westminster Hotel & Spa and your experience.

Be sure that we listen to our guests and take into account their comments in order to improve our quality of services. We are really disappointed that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us and will be grateful to welcome you soon.

Yours Sincerly

Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of our holidays in France. The hotel was in easy distance of the Euro tunnel terminal, located in the centre of Le Touquet, a lovely seaside town. Whilst this hotel ticks all the boxes the service was efficient, yet lacked a warmth one would hope for at hotel such as this. Whilst the staff provide a good service, smiles were lacking and for me there was an officiousness about their approach, which detracted from the lovely 1920s traditional surroundings. Unusually, it seemed during my stay that only the cleaning staff voluntarily greeted their guests. Not many public areas to sit in, though the terrace adjacent to the bar is lovely and a great place to people watch. We had a family room that was spacious and well presented. Please be careful in the bath when using the shower, which without a mat was lethal! Spa staff very pleasant. The restaurant was disappointing with a rather tired menu that doesn't do justice to the Art Deco surroundings. We expected Poirot to arrive at any minute...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basketweaver888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Madam,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments on the Trip Advisor web site.
We do apologize if your experience at Westminster Hotel & Spa did not fully satisfy you, and be assured that your concerns have been passed on to the staff.

Our ongoing effort for amelioration is a key element for providing excellent customer service at any time.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again

With Kind regards,

Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Built in the 1920's, this is a beautiful, elegant hotel and this year its celebrating its 90th anniversary: 1924 - 2014.

We had an executive room at the front of the hotel on the second floor with a view of the park opposite. The room was very spacious and beautifully furnished with pale blue and dove grey furnishings. There's a very large window which opens out fully giving light and ventilation to the room (no air conditioning). There's a large and very comfortable bed, a small table and two chairs, a dressing table, a seat at the bottom of the bed and a chaise longue in the window area.

Upon entering the room, you walk into a small lobby with a door into the bathroom and a door into the bedroom, ensuring that the bedroom doesn't suffer from any noise from the corridor outside.

It was a pleasure to stay here and although expensive, this is a lovely hotel for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Foxymerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review on the Trip Adivsor website!

It was a real pleasure for us to welcome you amongst us and our team is very grateful for all your compliments.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and that you were able to take advantage of our great location.
Your great words have been passed on to our staff and we all express our gratitude.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,
Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Feels like you have gone back in time a bit, nice enough but missing some of the edge and finesse of current trends , some would call it timeless, I'd say it was dated.
Staff very helpful and friendly , rooms comfortable and clean. Location good. Spa staff really helpful. Pool complex tired, expensive for what it is.
There's quite a bit to do in the town if the weather is with you, golf, sand sailing, horse riding and it's dead easy to get here from calais. All in All okay but not great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rufusmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L, Responsable réception at Hotel Barriere Le Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay via the website TripAdvisor.

Our rooms renovation program will continue with other changes in the coming months. It is true that the refurbishment program, launched two years ago, is going to last and uncover new rooms with a contemporary decor. The hotel itself is kept in a decidedly Art Deco style, as it was thought there 90 years. Do not hesitate to apply for renovated room at your next visit.

Indeed, we share your reviews of the pool, but the constraints of the building (old) do not give us many alternatives to enlarge the space around the pool.

We look forward to welcoming you soon

Kind regards

Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
769 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#11 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
750 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
#17 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Westminster

Address: Avenue du Verger, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France (Formerly Hotel Westminster & Spa)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
#1 Luxury Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range: £124 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere Le Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal Coast ideally situated between Paris, London and Brussels, where you will find Le Touquet - a dynamic and vibrant 4-season European Resort. In the heart of one of its most elegant quarters, just 500m from the beach and 150m from the Palais des Congres, the 1930's charm of the Westminster and its sober luxury continue to attract. The 115 rooms and suites, 2 restaurants and spa will welcome you for a charming stay. Car Park: 12 € per vehicle, per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westminster And Spa
Westminster Hotel Le Touquet
Hotel Westminster Le Touquet
Hotels Le Touquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing