We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe slghtly faded but still wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barriere Le Westminster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Maybe slghtly faded but still wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

After a slow journey through London on a Friday night then a quick hop on the Eurotunnel we arrived at The Westminster at around 10pm on a Friday evening, very very tired. On seeing our room our spirits were immediately revived. We had booked a Privelge room for Euro 190 a night - and it was enormous. The bed was probably 6ft wide, and although it did have sheets was so comfortable - the shutters on the window ensure the room is pitch black. Our room overlooked the parkland at the front of the hotel on the 1st floor. Everything was very good - the bathroom although old fashioned in style was well maintained and very good.

The spa area was a lovely place to relax in the afternoon - though the pool isn't very long if you are a lap swimmer. There is also a nice sauna and a jacuzzi.

I was so inspired by the hotel I wrote a piece on my blog "apd interiors" all about the wonderful restoration.

http://apdinteriors-blog.com/2011/02/09/rip-it-out-or-be-brave-and-restore-it/ is the link.

Ignore the negative reports - we were visiting Le Touquet after a break of 20 years but will be returning to The Westminster very soon

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londonN7boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    554
    215
    85
    44
See reviews for
250
867
50
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

First and foremost you must ensure you have a refurbished room at front of hotel. We had a superior double which was large and comfortable. The bathroom was fully equipped along with large walk in shower. Lots of goodies along with Robes. Food OK. Would suggest you opt for Buffet in The Grill which is good value. Breakfast disappointing for price 19e was too much and room characterless and clinical. We arrived at 5.00pm after arduous journey and they were unable to provide any form of snack. Room service does not commence until 7.30pm so be aware.There is no Tea making facility and if you opt for room service the Tea will be cold! This is a very expensive hotel in fabulous location and glad we visited. Would we return? I doubt it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonhertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

We've been visiting Le Touquet annually for the past eight years and this was our first stay in the Westminster. Having read the somewhat mixed reviews we were ready to be underwhelmed - especially as we had booked the 'cosy doubles' in the attic - but we were more than pleasantly surprised. The hotel seems to have had a recent makeover and the room which was classically styled with a modern bathroom, was much more spacious thatn we were expecting. The faciltities (swimming pool/jacuzzi/sauna) were a welcome addition and the hotel boasts a great location. Overall we thought that 170 Euros for a double room including breakfast was good value - we won't be going back to the Holiday Inn!...My only complaint? The naff hoover style hairdryer!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marmitesoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We spent one night here in August. When driving into town, it's impossible to miss this rather grand and impressive hotel with sweeping entrance.

Reception staff were friendly, although they knew we were British, spoke entirely in French to us - it is their language after all. Fortunately, they also spoke clearly.

The room was large, with a large bathroom although it was 3-star quality furnishings. The bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast is way overpriced and rather average. We did eat in the hotel restaurant as it was pouring with rain that night (not the Michelin one). The buffet starters were excellent but the mains and sweets didn't really impress. If I were to do it again, I'd choose the starter option only and keep going back! The service was very good and the waiting staff friendly.

I would probably stay here again if in Le Touquet but wouldn't make the journey just to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnehGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

My partner and I visited Le Touquet for a long weekend in July with another couple. It seemed the best of an average bunch of hotels in the town. The exterior is very grand and impressive, and a great location in the town, however the rooms themselves are in need of some modernisation and were quite average. Also the price at over 250 euros for a double room, was very high. The service was relatively efficient in the bar but dis-interested and unfriendly. Overall it's fine but nothing special, and I didn't see anywhere else in town that seemed better. I would recommend the hotel for this fact only really.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobilelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanmore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

For a 4 star room charging about the more than 5 star hotels tThe Westminster is over-rated and over-priced. It's best point is it's proximity to centre ville. No lounge area other than the bar. TV didn't work and toilet flush poor. No shower. Rooms VERY tired and dated. Could be updated in modern traditional style but furniture is from the 60's. Clearly a social place to be seen but not much more!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Le Touquet has a lot to offer and is no longer a "resort" in the modern sense of the word.

The Westminster is its only 4 star hotel. An impressive building, with a history and spectacular public areas , it can be faulted in two areas .

1. The high price in season at €200 -€400 per room.

2. The hotel has implemented a complex "rating"/pricing of its rooms . Basically a standard double room has not been refurbished - so while a good size you will have to accept a 60s bathroom.

If you are assigned a "bad" room eg ground floor then simply ask to change - it works

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcfParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Touquet – Paris-Plage hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#1 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#10 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#3 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#4 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
Ibis Le Touquet Thalassa
#14 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Westminster

Property: Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Address: Avenue du Verger, 62520 Le Touquet – Paris-Plage, France (Formerly Hotel Westminster & Spa)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
#2 Luxury Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere Le Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal Coast ideally situated between Paris, London and Brussels, where you will find Le Touquet - a dynamic and vibrant 4-season European Resort. In the heart of one of its most elegant quarters, just 500m from the beach and 150m from the Palais des Congres, the 1930's charm of the Westminster and its sober luxury continue to attract. The 115 rooms and suites, 2 restaurants and spa will welcome you for a charming stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westminster And Spa
Westminster Hotel Le Touquet
Hotel Westminster Le Touquet
Hotels Le Touquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing