We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good when you have a car.”
Review of 7Hotel&Fitness

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
7Hotel&Fitness
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good when you have a car.”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in a business and industry area of Illkirch. It is hard to reach without a car, though there may be a bus going.
The surrounding industry creates no discernible noise or smells so that's okay. But keep in mind that apart from the hotel, there is virtually nothing nearby except for a McDonald's. Illkirch has a few restaurants but they close early. So unless you want to eat at the hotel you will have to travel into Strasbourg which is about 20 mins away by car. There, however, you'll find everything.

My hotel room was very clean and what I liked almost as much, very quiet. The walls, floors and doors of both rooms and corridors are thickly carpeted or padded, respectively. Even though there is a nightclub within the hotel, which worried me at first, and my room faced a parking lot I heard virtually nothing from outside. Commendable.
The night before I had spent in a very rowdy establishment on the German side of the border and had practically fled here. I good a great night's sleep thanks to the low noise level.

The furniture was shoddily repaired in some places, so for example a cupboard door would not properly close and stand slightly ajar all the time.

Also it is one of those hotels where fashion sense overruled physics and the shower partition therefore consists of a short, immovable glass wall. End result: after every shower the bathroom is a little pond. Hotels all over the world keep doing it fo reasons unfathomable for me (and I've been in the hotel business).

Staff was capable and very friendly. I would come again.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    98
    88
    39
    10
See reviews for
51
76
13
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the hotel.

First impression was not very good - empty reception, and had to wait a few minutes for someone to check us in. From there, it got much better - stayed in a suite, which was huge. Nice shower and bath, and pretty clean. Only main drawback here was the (very) uncomfortable bed!

Breakfast is overpriced and pretty limited - the price would have been justified has the hotel added some more chocies to breakfast.

To sum it up, it's a good hotel, pretty close to the tram and central Strasbourg (15-20 minutes walk to the tram, or you can take your car and leave next to the tram stop - from there it's a 20 minute ride to city center).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primitivepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Besides for the difficulties getting to the hotel that is located within a business complex of some kind with restrictions on the road making access dificult, I was quite disaponted to find that the hotel has become quite run-down and shabby. The entrance lobby has been renovated and looks quite bright and modern but the check-in desk has been relocated inconveniently downstairs. They now have a bar and a weekend night club or disco or whatever but the rooms have been neglected and look really shabby. The room I stayed in had a grey un-washed looking net curtain with quite a large rib in the material. The wardrobe doors are fitted with full hight mirros and the mirror on one door was missing showing the ply-wood behind it!
I checked in at arround 11 pm. The restaurant was closed and I was put through to room service called 24/7. They hardly spoke English. I asked for some fruit and received 4 items. I have never been offered such tired looking and unappertising fruit in a hotel before! The apple was shriveled and the 2 bananas were actually rotten inside!
Next morning breakfast was meagre and non very appealing at all. The fruit on offer were exactly the same as the fruit I received in my room. I left without breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mevakor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at 7Hotel&Fitness, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Mevakor,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Illkirch-Graffenstaden hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

All access roads to the hotel are fitted with special car locks that take a very seasoned driver to negotiate, especially in the dark (it took me 30 minutes going through a concrete lane with 1 cm space on either side). Don't book this hotel if you're planning to arrive late at night or during inclement weather (unless you don't really care about your car).
Room is tidy but strong smell of cigarettes.
I definitively put this hotel on my blacklist.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BD999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at 7Hotel&Fitness, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear BD999,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and sincerely regret that your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I did not not read tripadvisor before booking a room at this hotel. The biggest drawback to this hotel is its location, if you want to go into the city. Its at least a 30 Euro taxi ride, and the hotel is not convenient for public transport. If you need to be in near the local indutrial area then the hotel is fine.
I personally did not like the decor in the public areas or the bedrooms.
On the night of our stay the hotel was full and the staff were challenged by large groups of tourists and a wedding reception.
On the positive side the staff were very good. We thought the food good. A couple of glasses of wine on the house helped to compensate for the delay in being served. The staff were empowered to deal with a couple of issues that we had.
All in all not too bad. But please get a new interior decorator in!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave1NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at 7Hotel&Fitness, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear dave1NL,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. It is great to know your concerns were addressed by our staff and that you were satisfied with the service provided. We apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with our location and facilities. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

freezing room, not very clean, dark.

only thing that saves the day is the personnell. They try to get the extra mile. They switched me to another room (a little less cold) fairly quickly, but the room quality is still below what I would expect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluePlanetNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at 7Hotel&Fitness, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear BluePlanetNomad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and we are glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the room condition. Though this matter has been resolved in a timely manner, I regret this has negatively impacted your stay with us. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed one night on a stopover to Switzerland. Suite was large and well appointed, with comfortable beds. Pity they supply a running fridge with nothing in it though! Things went downhill when we visited the bar & restaurant. Service exceptionally and unreasonably slow considering the few people there and the high prices. Had to make a separate trip to the bar to get a drink. Used the pool which was located in a gym next door - had to take towels from hotel which wasn't too great. Breakfast OK, nothing special. Sadly, overall well below the standard i usually expect from Holiday Inn. And i'll reserve comment on the artwork in the bar/restaurant!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pylesaint, Manager at 7Hotel&Fitness, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Andrew F,
Thank you very much for your comment on your last stay with us. An for taking the time to share those comments with us. Be assured that I already took all measures to make sure that the inconvenience you experienced will not happen anymore.
I truly hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future and restore your faith in our hotel in particular.
KIndest regards
Pierre-Yves LE SAINT
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illkirch-Graffenstaden
4.9 mi away
Athena Hotel & Spa
Athena Hotel & Spa
#5 of 127 in Strasbourg
489 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant d'Alsace
Hotel Restaurant d'Alsace
#1 of 5 in Illkirch-Graffenstaden
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mercure Strasbourg Airport
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Centre
1.1 mi away
Adagio Access Strasbourg Illkirch
Adagio Access Strasbourg Illkirc...
#3 of 5 in Illkirch-Graffenstaden
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7Hotel&Fitness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7Hotel&Fitness

Property: 7Hotel&Fitness
Address: 550 Boulevard Sebastien Brant, 67400 Illkirch-Graffenstaden, Strasbourg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Illkirch-Graffenstaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Illkirch-Graffenstaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 7Hotel&Fitness 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy excellent facilities at the stylish 7Hotel&Fitness, close to the airport and city centre.Set in a quiet, leafy area, 7Hotel&Fitness is just 15 minutes from Strasbourg Airport. A few minutes' walk from the hotel, direct tramway trains speed you to Strasbourg's charming city centre in 15 minutes. Plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet throughout the hotel and take your pick from our choice of 2 restaurants.Do business with pharmaceutical clients in the Parc d'Innovation and host events for up to 600 delegates in our 7 high-tech meeting rooms. 7Hotel&Fitness is 10km from Congress Centre Strasbourg and 12km from the European Parliament. It's also just 10km to Strasbourg train station, with a TGV link to Paris and connections to London.Boat tours cruise along canals in historic Strasbourg's picturesque Petite France area. Get a gargoyle's view over the city from the Gothic cathedral's tower, 6km from the hotel, and hit the Alsace Wine Road for wine-tasting at local vineyards.Sample market-fresh brasserie fare in 7Hotel&Fitness Septième Art restaurant. Complimentary access to the Fit'n Well Fitness centre next door allows you to join fitness classes and relax in Turkish baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your 7Hotel&Fitness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Strasbourg Airport Hotel Illkirch-Graffenstaden
Holiday Inn Illkirch
Illkirch Holiday Inn
7Hotel&Fitness Strasbourg, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing