We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional German Fair-we ate here twice”

Weingut Gasthaus Zum Hirsch
Ranked #10 of 44 Restaurants in Heppenheim
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Traditional German Fair-we ate here twice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

First night we visited the waitress was really friendly and helped us out with the traditional german menu-we had some lovely traditional german food and felt really welcome. It was reasonably priced coming in at about 60 euros for two including drinks and starters and main course. Would recommend anyone to visit here-the wine was lovely!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Giulietta34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Where the locals come for the wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent meal, well cooked but don't expect vegetables.

Try the local Spatsburgunder red wine, it's brilliant. Main bar occupied by locals enjoying the wine but restaurant has good service. They do not take credit/debit cards so be prepared to pay cash.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, Missouri
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable meal and experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We enjoyed the food and the atmosphere at this restaurant very much. It was right across the street from our hotel so we gave it a try and were glad we did. I see from some of the reviews that there was no draft beer available but things must have changed because we did have draft beer when we were there. The food was excellent and the service was very friendly. Only problem was that none of the restaurant staff spoke any English and one of the "regulars", whose English was limited, had to interpret for us. We had a good time and a good meal anyway and left satisfied and smiling. I recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BillCapeGirardeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forres
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“only one drawback”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent food from a limited menu, but one is expected to drink wine with the meal, and no draught beer is available.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank davidForres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great German Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A fine place to eat - typical German dishes at a reasonable price. Only surprise was the lack of draft beer, but the bottled stuff was OK. Decent choice for vegetarians too, which isn't always the case in Germany

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Weingut Gasthaus Zum Hirsch also viewed

Heppenheim, Hesse
Heppenheim, Hesse
 

Been to Weingut Gasthaus Zum Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing