We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang on brand Holiday Inn but with a real 1970s retro feel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Walldorf
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bang on brand Holiday Inn but with a real 1970s retro feel.”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

The great thing about holiday inn is that you know what you're getting before you arrive - there are elements that are the same the world over and can be a bit dull after a while, but this place is a bit of a gem, it has a real genuine 1970s retro feel to it with a lot of the original decor and the built in radio alarm clocks are a great touch.

Excellent breakfast (albeit on the pricey side) as always and professional attentive staff. They could be a little more honest about the location - it's Walldorf not Heidelberg. If you want to visit Heidelberg you need to drive or get a taxi there as its around 15-20 minutes away.

My big bug bear with the place is the wifi. Even the most basic of budget hotels, b&bs and family guest houses offer free wifi, so why are holiday inn still pushing dodgy Swisscom connections at €9.50 for 12 hours on their guests? It just seems a bit cheap of them to be honest and leaves a bad taste with what is otherwise a great brand.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    141
    91
    38
    16
See reviews for
48
59
22
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
211 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Hello 1970's! And on the picture gallery you can see who stayed there from 1971. Lots of german 'Schlager' stars from the time and a few Formula 1 drivers! Astonishing!
Rooms are a bit dated but adequate.
The pool side restaurant was open and we had asparagus which was nice enough but for 2 we paid 100 Eur (4 beers, 2 mains, 2 side salads and one coffee). That's madness!
Also, the steaks are extremely expensive. USDA, why? 69 EUR? What?????
Breakfast buffet had a nice spread in the morning.
Overall OK! Why 4 stars and not 3? I like that I can now say I shared a hotel with Howard Carpendale, albeit 40 years apart!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjspjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The service is good and the rooms large and comfortable, in 1980 you would have been impressed by the fantastic TV and state of art analog telephone system. it's all just a bit old fashioned in 2013 and in real need of a style and technology refresh.

The food in the bar looked really good!

Just off the motorway, a short distance from picturesque Heidelberg and only a 15 minute walk through the asparagus fields from the SAP's offices in Walldorf.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilKirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear PhilKirkham,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the amenities in the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Actually not so bad after all. A functional (if small) gym, ample parking, good breakfast, nice steaks and clean and spacious rooms - I expected less. Obviously the only reason to go there is for SAP AG visits, but that's a good reason for many people. With good weather you can walk to the office in 15 minutes, how often can you say that? Or you can get a free rental bike.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZH
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Overall positive.
Room is spacious, bathroom is big. Have an indoor swimming pool which our kids love (especially now with the winter temperature outside). You can have massage if you book in advance (price is reasonable). Staff is very friendly. Plenty of FOC parking space.
The downside would be really the costly internet charges, EUR14 per day. Oh and yes, suitable for traveller who has own vehicle.

Room Tip: Avoid room close to reception - you will hear people walking / running at the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubugala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Typical Holiday Inn style & service welcomes you at this hotel. I have stayed here several times over the past few years and having spoken with many people staying there it serves a good purpose for 3 things: 1) Very handy when visiting SAP AG Headquarters. Its literally a 2 min drive from the hotel to the office. 2) Motorway stopover. Its just off the main highway so very convenient if you need to rest for the night on a long journey. 3) If you want to avoid hotel costs in Heidelberg town then you can stay here & drive into town which takes about 15 minutes.

If you want nice scenery or views when staying here then forget it. Its located in a big flat field in the middle of nowhere more reminiscent of Amsterdam than Germany but there is nothing to see or do there.

Upside is that its good value. Even with a late booking the most i usually paid was around 100 Euros for a business room with breakfast included. There is plenty of free parking (remember the big field comment..!) but you have to pay for WiFi which has varying signal strengths in different part of the hotel ranging from medium to non existent.

Their core clientele is business travellers & the hotel is perfectly suited for this purpose.

Room Tip: Doesnt really matter which room you get apart from the distance you have to walk from reception to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunk747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

They have a very nice pool. We were please with our short stay. Quiet place and comfortable beds. Easy to find off the main highway, perfect for road warriors like we were! We were 4 in the room and were not too tight.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bretonsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walldorf
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vorfelder
Hotel Vorfelder
#1 of 16 in Walldorf
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ambiente
Hotel Ambiente
#3 of 16 in Walldorf
69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Astralis Hotel Domizil
Astralis Hotel Domizil
#4 of 16 in Walldorf
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Palatin Kongress Hotel
3.5 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#7 of 16 in Walldorf
35 reviews
6.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg
#25 of 76 in Heidelberg
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf

Property: Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf
Address: Roter Strasse, 69190 Walldorf, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Heidelberg Walldorf)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Walldorf
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Walldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf, near the SAP AG and Heidelberg easy to reach through the highway A5 and A6 offers you 161 comfortable rooms (all rooms are non-smoking rooms), of which 10 are maisonette suites, 9 variable conference rooms catering for up to 320 people, 'Restaurant Walldorf', 'Rhapsody Lounge & Bar', fitness centre, indoor pool with sauna, massage, outdoor pool with Sunshine Poolbar. Use also room service, 150 free parking spaces , tennis court, cycle hire, table tennis and children's playground. The guestrooms in different categories, all with bathroom, colour TV, direct dial telephone, refrigerator and free Wi-Fi internet access. Conferences / Seminars / Family parties The Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf has the required space and the professional assistants you need. The event-team helps you in each point to arrange the perfect conference or the best party. All conference rooms have daylight and are fully air-conditioned. The professionality and many years of experience of the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf will convince you. In only a few minutes you reach Heidelberg, Schwetzingen, Mannheim and Speyer with all their sights. The famous football stadiums f.E. Of the TSG 1899 Hoffenheim are also close to the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Heidelberg Walldorf Hotel Heidelberg
Holiday Inn Walldorf
Walldorf Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing