We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY GOOD STOP ON MY WAY TO AUSTRIA!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Walldorf
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We only stayed one night at this wonderful hotel on our way to Austria and i can recommend it to everyone, it´s a huge hotel very close to the highway and easy to find!Checking in went very smootly. The room is also big, we stayed in a junior suite on the mainfloor #103, it was clean and spacious with a kingsize bed and a desk to work on with good lightning,Because of the good weather we could dine outside on the terrasse and the food offered was excellent, no you can´t go wrong by choosing this hotel and after a good night sleep and a fantastic breakfastbuffet with everything on it you can dream of we could travel satisfied further to our destination in Austria named the Achensee in Pertisau,5thumbs up for this Holiday Inn!!!

Room Tip: A Junior suite cost a little more but you will be very satisfied with 2 drinks and a snack out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suntara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Well when we first pulled up to it, I thought what did we get ourselves into. The outside was dated. But when we got inside was much nicer. The rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable. On our first night, we had a screaming child in the room next to us that kept pounding on the connecting door. We asked to be moved but the hotel was fully booked.

The bathroom shower was very high off the floor so when you got in and out of the tub you had to hold on so you wouldn't fall. I don't know if that was a European thing because 3 out of the 4 hotels had these very high tubs.

We had breakfast which was included. Was very nice, different cereals, fruits, eggs, cold cuts, etc. All you could need. Even had a fresh OJ juicer, so the kids had a blast squeezing their own OJ>

The indoor pool left little to be desired. They had different tiles in the roof, def looked run down. I heard later that they had an out door pool which looks nice by the pictures but I never saw it.

We also had dinner a couple of nights which was good. Children stay and eat free so that was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roro3300eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear roro3300eh,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. It is nice to know that you found the beds comfortable and the room clean. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Internet horrible expensive. The rooms not very clean. See pictures. People working there are so friendly very kind and always trying to assist. Breakfest very good. But the price is not justified for this hotel in my opinion. Its to much. Would not book again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear D M,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you found our staff to be friendly.

It is unfortunate that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. I sincerely apologize for the inconveninece our internet service has caused you

Your feedback will be discussed with the management team and the necessary steps will be taken to ensure that similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Travelling on business in Heidelberg, this hotel was not my top choice but I do not regret for a minute my stay there and next time they will most certainly be my top choice.
Walldorf is located about 15 minutes drive from central Heidelberg. The hotel is not a typical HI but would fit better to describe it as closer to a typical German hotel.
The recurring word that springs to mind about this hotel is 'space'. Spacious parking, spacious reception, specious guestrooms, spacious breakfast room, spacious poolside restaurant.
The second word is rather stereotypical for Germans: professional and efficient. We arrived late in the evening and the check-in was the fastest and most effective check-in I ever had. The receptionist was extremely polite but also considerate when he heard that we were driving for the most part of the day. In seconds we had our keycards, directions to the room and information about the poolside bar and the breakfast room for the next day.
Rooms were 'big'! The work desk was presidential-style, internet connection fast, TV programmes available for all tastes, bathroom featuring a bath tub and of course equipped at the HI standard with amenities.
The breakfast buffet which was included in the room rate was rich with a wide selection of breads, salamis and cheeses as well as smoked salmon. Service very efficient and the coffee fantastic.
The last day in the haste of departure for another long drive to France, I forgot one wallet-type folder with a few credit cards and some cash. When I realised this, I was already in Reims, France. I called the hotel reception where people were kind enough to inform me that they found the wallet and that they were sending it to my home address in UK. Best news of the day for me but also evidence of the real professionalism and customer-orientation of this hotel!
In conclusion, whether for business or leisure in Heidelberg, do not think twice: this is the hotel you should choose - you will not regret your choice!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in the corridor on the left of the reception are very spacious and recently refur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexPOxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel was outstanding - the staff, the room, the cleanliness, the food - they have an excellent steak menu worth staying in for and all at a really reasonable price!

We were attending the Highland Games in Angelbachtal but would make a detour to stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dbell679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for 5 days while my husband was working. The hotel is outside of the town of Walldorf, but it's only a 15-minute walk to most restaurants in town (and although it's not clear on Google Maps, there are walking paths that will get you there safely and easily). It's also less than 15 minutes to walk to SAP...again on walking/biking paths. This is a very clean hotel. It has a bit of a retro vibe, but it's charming. Although some aspects might be a little dated, it's all in like-new condition. The hotel has a substantial housekeeping staff and our room was very, very clean. It seemed like the bathrooms had recently been updated and although we had read that the rooms had old TVs, ours had a new flatscreen so that must be a recent update. The room was spacious, which was good because I spent a lot of time hanging out there. There were also some nice lounge chairs by the outdoor pool for reading. The morning breakfast buffet was great and was included with the room package we booked. (I especially loved the coffee and the smoked salmon.) We ate at the poolside restaurant a few times. While the steaks on the menu were pricey, everything else was reasonable and everything we sampled was quite good. A nice place to enjoy a frosty glass of Riesling at the end of a warm summer day. We appreciated the in-room air-conditioning in the heat. Just a tip for any travellers expecting the typical North American selection of toiletries: there is only a pump of shampoo/shower gel in the shower and a pump of handsoap by the sink. After two days of tangled hair, I had to pick up some conditioner at a store in town. :) Also, the package we booked said it included wifi, but it ended up being only one hour per day so we had to splurge on the 10 Euros/day wifi package, too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HomemadeHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had previously stayed at the Heidelberg Holiday Inn, but that is no longer a holiday inn. We thought this was the same one we used 2 years ago, but this is better. Externally it looks a bit jaded but the rooms and restaurant are in very good order. The dinner was good, and reasonably priced. Breakfast, as in most Holiday Inns was expensive but very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walldorf
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vorfelder
Hotel Vorfelder
#1 of 16 in Walldorf
116 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Palatin Kongress Hotel
2.7 mi away
ACHAT Premium Walldorf/Reilingen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#4 of 16 in Walldorf
40 reviews
3.9 mi away
H+ Hotel Hockenheim
H+ Hotel Hockenheim
#2 of 9 in Hockenheim
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Astralis Hotel Domizil
Astralis Hotel Domizil
#6 of 16 in Walldorf
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf

Address: Roter Strasse, 69190 Walldorf, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Heidelberg Walldorf)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Walldorf
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Walldorf
Price Range: £59 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf, near the SAP AG and Heidelberg easy to reach through the highway A5 and A6 offers you 161 comfortable rooms (all rooms are non-smoking rooms), of which 10 are maisonette suites, 9 variable conference rooms catering for up to 320 people, 'Restaurant Walldorf', 'Rhapsody Lounge & Bar', fitness centre, indoor pool with sauna, massage, outdoor pool with Sunshine Poolbar. Use also room service, 150 free parking spaces , tennis court, cycle hire, table tennis and children's playground. The guestrooms in different categories, all with bathroom, colour TV, direct dial telephone, refrigerator and free Wi-Fi internet access. Conferences / Seminars / Family parties The Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf has the required space and the professional assistants you need. The event-team helps you in each point to arrange the perfect conference or the best party. All conference rooms have daylight and are fully air-conditioned. The professionality and many years of experience of the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf will convince you. In only a few minutes you reach Heidelberg, Schwetzingen, Mannheim and Speyer with all their sights. The famous football stadiums f.E. Of the TSG 1899 Hoffenheim are also close to the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Heidelberg Walldorf Hotel Heidelberg
Holiday Inn Walldorf
Walldorf Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing