We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Descent hotel as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Walldorf
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Descent hotel as expected”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just in front of the headquarters of SAP. Nice location, possibility to walk around in the nearby forest and fields and to Walldorf center. Hotel has with swimming pools. One inside and the other outside. Restaurant present. Breakfast is good. Large parking.

Room is OK, but bathroom to small. Weird layout. Toilet to close to bad and curtain is hanging in the way. Shower and bath is not the right combination. But clean. Like the rest of the room. Airco present and flat screen. Have had a good rest at night. reception nice and everything meets the German standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcblenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    141
    91
    38
    16
See reviews for
48
59
22
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

In a good spot fot the meeting I needed to attend (Not SAP!). Stayed for two nights in June. It was very warm at the time and the aircon didnt work. Bathroom had an unpleasant aroma - but was clean. There was no ironing facilities in the room either.

Minibar stocked with two beers and four botles of water.

Two beds in room - almost double sized. Quilt was a single so didnt fit on the bed - very quirky.

Bar area was good - great service and ok price.

Food specifically the steaks are out of this world. I had one cooked to perfection and tasted amazing.

Breakfast was superb - great choice of food - hot and cold.

Not the most modern of hotels, but I wouldn't have an issue staying here again!

If the aircon worked, there was ironing facilities and the bathroom had a better smell I would rate this hotel as very good. As it didnt I have had to go for Average...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steadmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for just one night. The breakfast was good although a little expensive (20 euros) considering this is a business hotel you don't always want tons of breakfast but there was no other smaller/cheaper option.

The window in the room closed with much difficulty although ground floor and for this reason I had the feeling it had not been aired often and the room smelt of smelly feet.

Used the outdoor pool which is big enough to swim properly in but there were no changing area or towels at the pool and the general pool area did not appear well looked after.

They charge for internet which considering the location directly next to SAP is unbelievable....nowadays this type of thing is just expected and should not be used as a money making scheme.

All in all OK but not the standard I expected for the location and price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

To start with, the hotel is actually ok, and I will come back later to this. What I really did not like, was the following: I needed to stay close to SAP, and had asked my travel agency to make a reservation at the Holiday Inn next SAP, which I did know from former stays. For some reasons, the travel agency got it wrong, and made 2 reservations, one at the Leonardo Heidelberg, and one at this one, the Leonardo Heidelberg-Walldorf. And: I had the pre-pay the Leonardo Heidelberg. I did stay at the Leonardo Heidelberg-Walldorf, and was surprised to need to pay again. Now, I actually understand I needed to, and the wrong reservation was clearly the fault from my travel agency. Nevertheless, I had expected some customer orientation here and a clearance of those 2 invoices against each other. After all, there was confusion after the change of the Holiday Inn to Leonado, and then 2 Leonardos with almost same name, and last not least me as a frequent customer related to SAP. So, this is my hopefully helpful advice: Do not confuse the 2 Leonardos in Heidelberg/Walldorf.

Coming to the hotel: I felt no change with respect to the former Holiday Inn, both on positive and negative aspects: Positive: Proximity to SAP, both Walldorf and St Leon Rot, quite rooms, great breakfast, nice outdoors bar. Negative: A bit worn out, slow and expensive Internet. All in all, I would have given 3-4, but with the ocurence mentioned above, it is only 2.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Walldorf hotels

Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Whatever the name of the hotel it has an influx of persons staying due to business with SAP. It is in a prime location and charges a price to cover this. It has ample parking spaces. The bar with the pool was a good place to spend to wind down. The service knew how to deal with business guests. The quality and appearance of the room should´be improved because it lacked freshness and a modern touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tototronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMC, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed here because it is close and convenient to SAP. The cost per night (€69 a night) was decent enough and as it is out of town or any built up area they had plenty of parking and was easy to get in to and out of.

The room was clean and well maintained. The overall condition of the hotel was the same, although it did look a bit dated. There was a flat screen TV in the room, but it was a bit small for my taste. There was a mini fridge in the room. I like my drinks cold and the best the fridge could do is slightly cool. The bed was typical for a hotel, meaning too hard for my back.

Internet access is not free. Access for two days is €19. Entirely too much. I have a data plan on my phone and use it as a mobile hotspot for my laptop, but not everyone has this and then would be subject to overpriced internet.

If internet access is overpriced, then breakfast is a felony. €20 for a European breakfast is robbery. Enough said.

My biggest complaint was the staff not having an understanding of VAT forms for NATO personnel. For an area that had just recently hosted thousands of American troops (for decades) who are exempt from VAT, this is inexcusable. When I checked in, the girl at the desk wasn't sure about the use of my VAT form. When I checked out, I was told that I needed to turn in the form a day prior to checkout for processing. Really?

I don't need internet and McDonald's is close enough for a €5 breakfast, so I can overlook those aspects. When it comes to staff incompetence that costs me money, that I can't overlook and for that simple reason, I can't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Fairly priced, nice clean sauna and pool. Corridor and room decoration a bit over used and needing refurbishments. the breakfast was very good and lot of choice and very affordable. did not like enough to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_French_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walldorf
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vorfelder
Hotel Vorfelder
#2 of 16 in Walldorf
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ambiente
Hotel Ambiente
#3 of 16 in Walldorf
69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Astralis Hotel Domizil
Astralis Hotel Domizil
#4 of 16 in Walldorf
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Palatin Kongress Hotel
3.5 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#7 of 16 in Walldorf
35 reviews
6.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg
#27 of 76 in Heidelberg
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf

Property: Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf
Address: Roter Strasse, 69190 Walldorf, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Heidelberg Walldorf)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Walldorf
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Walldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf, near the SAP AG and Heidelberg easy to reach through the highway A5 and A6 offers you 161 comfortable rooms (all rooms are non-smoking rooms), of which 10 are maisonette suites, 9 variable conference rooms catering for up to 320 people, 'Restaurant Walldorf', 'Rhapsody Lounge & Bar', fitness centre, indoor pool with sauna, massage, outdoor pool with Sunshine Poolbar. Use also room service, 150 free parking spaces , tennis court, cycle hire, table tennis and children's playground. The guestrooms in different categories, all with bathroom, colour TV, direct dial telephone, refrigerator and free Wi-Fi internet access. Conferences / Seminars / Family parties The Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf has the required space and the professional assistants you need. The event-team helps you in each point to arrange the perfect conference or the best party. All conference rooms have daylight and are fully air-conditioned. The professionality and many years of experience of the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf will convince you. In only a few minutes you reach Heidelberg, Schwetzingen, Mannheim and Speyer with all their sights. The famous football stadiums f.E. Of the TSG 1899 Hoffenheim are also close to the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Heidelberg Walldorf Hotel Heidelberg
Holiday Inn Walldorf
Walldorf Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing