We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nope”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Astralis Hotel Domizil
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Walldorf
Reviewed 16 July 2014

No AC. Wifi did work consistently - kept logging me off literally every 1-2 minutes. Maddening. Notified front desk twice on this on toe separate days and it was never fixed. We were asked to come back in at 11 pm from their outdoor seating area in the back - closed up. Bartender is the receptionist. They only serve pizza. Breakfast was not good at all - eggs looked like they were cooked hours before. Shower is bad. Just a curtain semicircle around the standing area. Floor ends up getting soaked and the shower curtain ends up touching you while in there which is gross as I assume they aren't changed w every guest. Shower also changed temperature while in there - hot to cold randomly. I requested a wakeup call and it was never done. Receptionist said sorry I forgot.

I rarely give one star. This was a terrible experience overall though. I'd never ever stay here again. Not good. Sorry Astralis.

Room Tip: A different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank saratogamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

A calm and human-sized hotel in the town. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean. Wifi is free, as well regular shuttles to SAP offices. There is a bar and an outdoor terrace for late drinks. I did not try the sauna. Last but not least, you have breakfast - absolutely nice by the way - in a very peaceful atmosphere, which I appreciate very much before a full speed business day !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LFG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly people. Supported quickly with wi fi when I needed help. Good room. Great shower Quiet location though busy road during peak times. Ideal if you are a business person. Good breakfast. I checked in very late - although no receptionist at that time of the it was extremely easy!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank mvb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The Domizil is a really nice and quite hotel, located in the residential part of Walldorf. They offer personal service, have a really nice sauna, and serve good food in the Restaurant. The rooms have a TV, DVD player (you can borrow DVDs from the reception) and a safe.

It is about 25 minutes walking distance from the SAP offices, which is nice exercise after a long day inside. There are also several nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsetsaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Been a while since I had been back to the Domizil and I must say things have changed for the better.

Always a good choice in Walldorf for those working at or visiting Walldorf, this hotel is getting a serious uplift to their public areas.. The previously walled up lobby/dinning area has been remodeled to a new open bar/dining area with a very modern touch. The dinner menu has been significantly modified with new items (try the fish and chips), while keeping the classics. Also the Sauna is now brand new and very nice.

Breakfast is always good and the rooms are as some have indicated on the normal small side. Other improvements are underway but the great service and friendly atmosphere are still forefront.

Room Tip: 701 is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank execplatscum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I stayed at the Astralis Domizil for a workshop at SAP, as mentioned before they have free shuttles to SAP and free wireless internet which I found a big plus point. They have good breakfast and great coffee at 16 EUR. The service personnel were very efficient and friendly.

On the downside, as spring came quite soon during my stay my room was very hot, and the air-conditioning did not work properly – only the fan was blowing (I did report it but was not attended too). Also, I only had a feather down duvet on my bed so I had difficulties sleeping as it was way too warm. Lastly, the shower only had a curtain and not a door – I am not very fond of a shower curtain and did not expect a 4 star hotel not to have shower doors.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This hotel is very nice, comfortable, and convenient. The hotel and its rooms feel like a large B & B and the staff is very friendly and willing to help out.

Parking is free and there is a free hotel shuttle that runs to/from SAP at specific times of the day. On Monday, the shuttle starts at 9 instead of 8. It is a 30 minute walk to SAP. Cab fare from SAP back to the hotel ranged from 5 euros to 8.50 euros. We are not sure why there was such a big difference in fare.

The hotel is close to city centre and restaurants. We walked to many restaurants, even after 10 pm. If you are driving to Heidelberg (about a 20 minute drive), watch out for the red light camera on your way in/out of town. The officials can change the direction that is being monitored.

If you are there for an extended period of time and want to do a load of laundry, the closest public wash center (laundromat) is in Heidelberg. The hotel does provide laundry service on a per piece basis Monday through Friday.

I am a short person so the fact that I was on the top floor which had a sloping ceiling didn't bother me. However, I could see how people who are taller could bump their head.

The free internet access, the breakfast, the friendly staff, made for a wonderful time and I didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: If you are a tall person, tell them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walldorf
0.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vorfelder
Hotel Vorfelder
#1 of 16 in Walldorf
113 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Residenz Royal
Hotel Residenz Royal
#1 of 2 in Sandhausen
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#4 of 16 in Walldorf
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ambiente
Hotel Ambiente
#3 of 16 in Walldorf
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zum weissen Roessel
Hotel Zum weissen Roessel
#10 of 16 in Walldorf
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astralis Hotel Domizil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astralis Hotel Domizil

Address: Schwetzinger Str. 50, 69190 Walldorf, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Walldorf
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Walldorf
Price Range: £71 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astralis Hotel Domizil 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astralis Hotel Domizil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing