We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3-star rooms in a 4-star hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Golfo Aranci
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“3-star rooms in a 4-star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I spent 2 days in this hotel for a relaxing short break.
The position is absolutely excellent, the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings, right on the sea. The staff at the reception, restaurant, bar and the cleaning ladies are extremely nice, friendly and helpful. The swimming pool area is spotless, and it is very rare to find a big swimming pool with a depth that goes from 1.5 to 3.5 metres, I really enjoyed it.
However we were rather disappointed with the room. I booked a classic double room, and at the reception they told us that we had been exceptionally upgraded. Nice. But to be very honest, I still have no idea what the room we got had more than the classic room. The room was spacious, but seriously lacking decor and personality. On one big white wall there was a nail, suggesting that maybe earlier there was at least a picture of some sort. The shower was a bit bizarre, with an unusual shape, I think it was supposed to be a sort of vertical Jacuzzi but we didn't quite get it. It's a pity because the hotel, restaurant and service are really at 4 star level but the room is far from that. I wouldn't spend more than 2 night there.
Overall we enjoyed our time in Golfo Aranci especially thanks to the staff of the hotel that we sincelry thank.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Federica_C_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    93
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
99
174
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel on two occasions in the past fortnight and could not recommend it highly enough. The situation is wonderful...right on the waters edge...the staff were super helpful and just couldn't do enough for us. The cleanliness of the whole place was impeccable and the rooms were very comfortable and cared for with clean sheets every day and fresh towels twice if you wanted them. And breakfast....I can not say highly enough....there was an extremely wide choice of whatever your fancy... I cant say any more....go see for yourself!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms over the private beach are really goodvalue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabbianoA, Customer Care at Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Goodmorning Mr. Brian,
thank you for your excellent review. We are extremely pleased that all your wishes came true whilst staying with us.
Looking forward to meeting you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel last week with our toddler. The hotel is very clean and presentable and reception staff were very helpful. We had asked for a cot in our room and, as such were given an upgrade to a superior (from a standard). The extra room was very helpful. The room had good facilities (nice bathroom and very clean - the maids did an excellent job). we had specifically booked a double rather than having twin beds pushed together (which is what we ended up with) but as we had been upgraded i couldnt complain! There was a balcony but it was shaded and facing the road.

The restaurant was lovely but quite upmarket and not ideal for children (staff were happy to provide highchairs and were fine with our toddler but we did feel a little out of place as it was very quiet and the other diners Probably didnt appreciate our noisy, boisterous son). There were a few pizza/snack restaurants nearby that did the job though.

Golfo Aranci is very quiet but a good base for exploring. I would definitely recommend car hire to explore the islands gorgeous beaches as we couldn't have spent a whole week in golfo Aranci. There is little to do with children when the weather is bad (in sardinia generally rather than just here) but geovillage (near olbia) was a good day and had a great indoor childrens pool.

The main issue that I had (which I didn't think was resolved very well) was that a glass lampshade fell from the ceiling whilst we were all in our room (thankfully my son was in the bath) and smashed covering the whole floor in shards of glass. When I told reception they simply said that they would send in housekeeping to clear it up with very little apology. I mentioned this issue again on checkout and again this was brushed over with no apology/ offer to resolve. I don't think that this is very satisfactory as someone could very easily have been hurt.

On the whole we had a great holiday once we realised how to get the best out of sardinia I.e. get out and explore the island. Those travelling with children should be aware that sardinia isn't a commercial place (or at least it wasn't in low season may) and there aren't waterparks/adventure parks etc but therein lies its beauty. It is a beautiful place.

Gabbianno azzurro were very accommodating with our child (providing warm milk for bottles, getting rid of dirty nappies etc) however we didn't always feel welcome by other guests (not the hotels fault just something for other travellers to be aware of). This may be different in higher season when there are more children around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabbianoA, Customer Care at Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Jemma,
we would like to thank you for the feedback given.
It is important to have some constructive comments that allow us to improve our service. We deeply apologize for the inconvenient occurred during your journey at our hotel. From the very beginning we’ve investigated the problem you had with the glass lampshade. We are so sorry that we weren’t able to express in full our regret for what happened, but we can guarantee it is very rare and not part of our commitment to our guest. We always try to give our best, avoiding misunderstandings and solving any kind of problem, in order to be more and more customer-oriented.
Further to the above information, we trust that our efforts to understand your experience are indicative of the importance we have placed on your feedback. Once again, we would like to thank you for bringing your experience to our attention and wherever possible, enabling us to investigate and rectify the issues raised.
It would be with much pleasure that we welcome you back to the Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro and we are certain, given the opportunity, we will be able to restore your confidence in our Hotel, trying to provide the best service possible. Gabbiano Azzurro is a family run hotel, and our mission is to make you feel part of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great hotel, staff were absolutely brilliant, very flexible and nothing was ever a problem. The breakfast was immense and the food in general top class. I would recommend the evening set menu....the title doesn't give it justice as there is plenty to choose from and everything is fresh. 5 min walk to centre. Will definitely go back - grazie mille and thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LP L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabbianoA, Customer Care at Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Goodmorning,
thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. We are happy that we made your stay a peaceful and relaxing one and will pass on your compliments to the chef – management - staff. Looking forward to seeing you again when you feel like getting away from it all.
We have to thank you thousand times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We went back to this hotel for a 3rd time last week and found it as good as ever. Same friendly staff, great location with private beach and pool and exceptional cleanliness. Still perfect for a restful break.

Room Tip: Sea view room essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trainback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabbianoA, Customer Care at Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Goodmorning,
Thank you for your most positive review and we are glad everything was, once again, to your satisfaction.
Guests who return are our most precious pride and let we work with passion everyday.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great location, extremely friendly and helpful staff who helped plan excursions
Restaurant had good food and great staff. Lobby and pool area both extremely picturesque.
Room was clean and of average size with a balcony
Unless you are looking for a luxury 5 star hotel, you could not do better than this hotel

Room Tip: try for room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabbianoA, Customer Care at Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review, and we are very pleased we all made your stay an enjoyable one. As you so rightly pointed out, views of the sea and beach bedrooms are stunning! Moreover our village-view rooms can offer a very peaceful and cool atmosphere due to the position they’ve been built.
It was lovely to meet you and hope that you are able to stay with us again, giving you more opportunities to explore our beautiful coastline surrounding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Authentic place , very clean and it holds a secret gem - Blu Restaurant - a gourmet , stylish cuisine , made with generosity
That restaurant and the proper rooms , enchanted by a white theme made it perfect for a long stay .Sea food there has a healthy level
Avoid swimming in the pool , to much clorhine and if you want glamours evenings with music and view , take a short trip to Porto Cervo

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hautemelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabbianoA, Customer Care at Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Good morning,
thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review from your stay with us at Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro. We greatly value all guest feedback, both positive and constructive, and we sincerely appreciate your time in bringing your experience to our attention.
We would like to express our sincere apologies that you feel disappointed by swimming in the pool.
We usually add chlorine in the pool, as for hygienic regulations, during the night, but thanks to your advice we will provide to inform our Guests properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golfo Aranci
0.6 mi away
Hotel Resort & SPA Baia Caddinas
5.0 mi away
Hotel Stefania Boutique Hotel by the Beach
11.2 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
143.9 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Abi d'Oru
Hotel Abi d'Oru
#1 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Pelican Beach Resort & Spa - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro

Property: Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
Address: Via dei Gabbiani, 07020, Golfo Aranci, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Golfo Aranci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#2 Romantic Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Golfo Aranci
#3 Luxury Hotel in Golfo Aranci
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated modern high quality 4 Stars Hotel with private beach, pools, restaurants, dock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel
Gabbiano Azzurro Golfo Aranci
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro Sardinia/Golfo Aranci

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing