We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it...”
Review of Il Cortiletto

Il Cortiletto
Ranked #4 of 162 Restaurants in Fasano
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it...”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Fantastic place. Doesn't look like much from the outside but a lovely garden with grill at the back. Wonderful antipasti, delicious homemade pasta and a fantastic steak. We couldn't eat it all, and I thought great value too...

We were staying at the Borgo Egnazia whose concierge sent us down there. The food is WAY better and WAY cheaper than at the aforementioned hotel.

Go and you won't be disappointed...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billyandfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    238
    66
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Grazie! Ciao Santiago!! Kisses”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Fantastic food run by a couple and they have a gorgeous little baby boy named Santiago. We ate and ate and ate and ate, and they even made little pasta with ricotta cheese for our little baby girl Aemilia. It's a gem. I will return when I go back to Puglia again. - Josephine, Michael & Aemilia

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wallstseniorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Step inside and be amazed”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Firstly, do not be put off either by the outside appearance or the first impressions of the inside. Despite it looking quite dead and dreary from our initial perspective, once we were shown to the "outside" sheltered dining area, we were amazed at the atmosphere and ambience of a busy restaurant with a good mix of locals and tourists. We discovered as we were leaving that there was a menu chalked up near the entrance that we didn't see on the way in, but the waitress explained the limited choices that were on offer and we were more than happy with these. Wine was only available by the bottle, with no price list so we were delighted with the waitress's recommendation of a 2010 Primitivo that came in at only €12. Overall, a really great leisurely meal. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank row-vers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We chose this restaurant because of other great reviews and were not disappointed. Firstly, once you realise the restaurant in not in Fasano town but in a village called Speziale about 10 -15 minutes drive from the centre is makes it much easier to find - it is in the centre of this small village. As others have said, there is no menu and three choices for the primi and secondi courses. The dishes are explained to you - mostly in italian. We shared a plate of antipasti to start - about 10 different items, some of which we could not identify but all were delicious. To follow I had chicken and potatoes cooked in the oven - doesn't sound very exciting but it was very tasty, and my husband enjoyed lamb cutlets and mushrooms. These came with a plate of vegetables to share. We finished with ice cream as we could manage no more. We visited here on a Saturday evening and it was full of locals by the time we had left - always a good recommendation!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ProfSnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“So Good We Went There Twice!”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is a tough place to find; the sign says merely, Trattoria. The front room is pretty unpreposessing. Very little english is spoken. And the menu is limited. But the food is delicious! And especally so when served in the wonderful garden the back! We were offered 'pork', which in fact turned out to be a pork loin in a fig reduction that was terrific!

This is simple, unpretentious Puglia dining at its very best!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AspenWicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Cortiletto also viewed

Fasano, Province of Brindisi
 
Fasano, Province of Brindisi
Fasano, Province of Brindisi
 
Pezze di Greco, Fasano
Fasano, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to Il Cortiletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing